We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“GO HERE!”
Review of New York Deli

New York Deli
Ranked #51 of 194 Restaurants in Portsmouth
Price range: $5 - $10
Cuisines: Delicatessen, Soups
Dining options: Lunch
Restaurant details
Dining options: Lunch
Reviewed August 17, 2013

There is nothing not to like. This is a family run operation and most of the family works there. Service is a little laid back but not bad at all. Go early for lunch or you will be waiting for a place to sit!

I lived and worked in Portsmouth for 20 years and this is a local's favorite.

The Reuben is the BEST EVER with a glass of sweet tea and fries.

Thank Scott30809
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liz M, Manager at New York Deli, responded to this reviewResponded October 16, 2013

Thank you for the GREAT review. We are glad you enjoyed your lunch and hope you return soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (25)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

13 - 17 of 25 reviews

Reviewed August 1, 2013 via mobile

Delish food. Portion size was perfect.... Not too big or too small. Went to lunch one day with my hubby and then brought 3 other friends the next day. They all raved about it, too!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Quiltingqueen3602
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liz M, Manager at New York Deli, responded to this reviewResponded August 4, 2013

What a great review! We are so glad you enjoyed yourself! Thanks for supporting local businesses by returning with friends!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 29, 2013

This deli has been an excellent place to grab a quick lunch for as long as I can remember. Just as good as always. Great service and good prices.

Thank Cavaliers2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liz M, Manager at New York Deli, responded to this reviewResponded August 1, 2013

Thanks for the great review! We really appreciate it! Visit us again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 9, 2013

My co-workers have know gone to lunch at the deli 4 times and each time has been great. The group has eaten the Ruben's, ham & cheese, bologna and liver worst. Great food and staff...looking forward to next week.

Thank Steve A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 4, 2013

This deli is located pretty close to the Portsmouth Children's Museum. It had a cute children's menu with a 24-pack of crayons. The sandwiches were huge! The staff was very friendly with kids. My only complaints were that I couldn't order just one hot dog and when I asked for potato salad I received chips.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank foxegurl266
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed New York Deli also viewed

 

Been to New York Deli? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing