We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Stove was a huge disappointment”
Review of Stove

Stove
Ranked #10 of 189 Restaurants in Portsmouth
Cuisines: American
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
Virginia Beach, Virginia
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Stove was a huge disappointment”
Reviewed October 13, 2012

We visited Stove with much excitement and anticipation. We had read reviews and browsed the menu online and couldn't wait to experience it for ourselves. What a disappointment. We found the food mediocre and the service even worse. Clearly we were not a high priority to the wait staff because the key word for the evening was WAIT. We used a Groupon, but even at half price this wasn't worth the money. We'll go elsewhere next time.

  • Visited November 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank sleeplessatthebeach
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

142 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    83
    35
    11
    5
    8
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Summerville, South Carolina
Level 4 Contributor
23 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Impressed & Surprised & Can't wait to go back!”
Reviewed September 30, 2012

I can not believe how good the food is here.
Stove is in the Mayberry Section of Portsmouth. So when you get there do not be surprised that go pass it several times. Anyways .. I made reservations a week in advance an was placed in the bar. Typically I would be pissed out of my mind but the bartender was truly amazing. He was our server and his suggestions where outstanding. He recommend a cheese plate for an appetizer and it was the best kinda cheese this mouth has tasted. My husband had a beef dish and I had the grouper. My husband loved the beef loin and I devoured my grouper. This is my favorite spot in Portsmouth..I had a groupon for this culinary adventure and I can not wait till they post another one because without it we wouldn't be able to experience Stove.. . Oh be warned the decor is a bit unusually but its the perfect conversation starter.

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank CulinaryQueen87
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Eclectic dinner experience”
Reviewed September 30, 2012

We are local and have attempted many times to get a reservation, but they are always booked. One random try and we got in. It was worth the wait. We are "foodies" and like well a good over-all dining experience, and this was exceptional. Service, atmosphere, wine, etc. A+. Unique. Cheese platter was expansive, salads superb, each plate a symphony. I had the fresh fish, my husband had tenderloin: perfection. Dessert- WOAH. Well prepared food is not cheap, this isn't an exception. People who are willing to pay a bit more for exceptional food, wine, and service will enjoy this restaurant.

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank RABevilacqua
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Virginia Beach, Virginia
Level 5 Contributor
73 reviews
51 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Stove continues to impress”
Reviewed September 26, 2012

Stove is in an out of the way area of Portsmouth, VA. However is is well worth the effort to get there. Whenever we want to impress someone with fresh ingredients with a focus on local sourcing - we take them there. One of the best restaurants in the area.

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Tfaulk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 107 helpful votes
“Enjoyable”
Reviewed September 25, 2012

We live in Norfolk and wanted to do something different one evening, so we headed over to Portsmouth to check out Sove. I am glad we did! The bread was fsu and unique and paired well with the cheese plate we ordered. My husband and I both love small plates because we love to taste lots of different food. The scallops and pork 4 ways were our favorites. We didn't save room for dessert, but will definitely go back and save room next time. A great find!!

Helpful?
Thank Gray G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Stove also viewed

 
Portsmouth, VA
 

Been to Stove? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing