We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Beautiful view!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Renaissance Portsmouth-Norfolk Waterfront Hotel
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in Portsmouth
Certificate of Excellence
Staten Island, New York
Level Contributor
37 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Beautiful view!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 20, 2012

The hotel is beautiful, clean and full of history. No matter what room you stay, you will have a water view. Take a walk on boardwalk around the port or eat by the water. The hotel is not by a river or lake or the ocean, it’s on a port but you still have a very nice view of the city and water. The hotel is clean and the staff is very friendly. There is a lot to do around the hotel, many bars, movie and restaurant, so you won’t have to go far to grab a bite to eat or a drink. You are also a short drive to downtown Portsmouth, where you can find many things to such as shopping. No matter what’s the reason of your trip, you will find many things to do around town. Like every other hotel, you will have to pay for parking which is a $10 p/day and unfortunately they don’t have a microwave in the room, which for us was a bit of inconvenience because I travel with a two year old that needs warm milk. Other than that hotel was perfect and the people was very nice and friendly. I am so glad I pick that hotel.

Room Tip: Bars, restaurants and movie theater are a short walk from the hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Linette1982
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Andrea T, Manager at Renaissance Portsmouth-Norfolk Waterfront Hotel, responded to this review, September 25, 2012
Dear Linette1982,

Thank you so much for posting your review of your recent stay at the Renaissance Portsmouth hotel on TripAdvisor. I am delighted to read that you enjoyed the view from your room and the hotel’s location. I am so humbled by your comments regarding our service team as well. We will look forward to our next opportunity to serve you and your travel companion when your travels next bring you to Portsmouth.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

610 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    259
    196
    81
    38
    36
See reviews for
126
149
26
222
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (188)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Vienna, Virginia
Level Contributor
120 reviews
61 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 83 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 18, 2012

We had the pleasure to stay at the Renaissance while attending a conference held at the hotel. The conference facilities were quite good as was the service. We have stayed at this hotel many times in the past and were very pleased by the new, improved attitude of the staff. Everyone we came into contact with from the front desk to the young man doing the painting was extremely friendly. Even the facilities manager took time to talk to us. The gym is well equiped and clean. Our room was also clean and attractive. We did not eat at the hotel but found many choices in the town. Unfortunately the town of Portsmouth is experiencing difficult times and the Renaissance is a pleasant oasis.

Room Tip: Ask for a river view room on an upper floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JAR59
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
51 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 24, 2012

We go to Portsmouth/Norfolk every couple of years for a weekend of history and relaxation. Although the waterfront is a "port" and not a scenic river/lake, the Renaissance is the best place to stay and receive excellent quality customer service and lodging. It is so convenient with the ferry boats to Norfolk and rooms have space to stretch and relax.

The front desk staff has excellent customer service and the weekend was great!!

I was surprised that the bedding is not up to the Marriott standard. Very soft and not comfortable.

Room Tip: The best rooms, beside the top, are the ones in the center angled of the building.They have 2 window...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sabella14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
358 reviews
134 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 147 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 20, 2012 via mobile

Needing my Marriott points to remain Platinum I drove a bit out of my way to stay at this location...counted on the nice reviews! I did not quite get the town...Military, quaint but also city like, nice river, some areas of the town congested with traffic, parking a pain, a bit confusing driving around, not sure if the town is safe as I have never been here...anyway...overall the hotel was nice. Lots of positives...
Friendly staff
Amazing fitness center with nice modern and new equipment all facing the river.
Clean and nicely decorated room.
Executive lounge was nice...very friendly and nice woman working the room.
Quiet air conditioner!
Enjoyed having the river view and watching all the boats go by!
The not so good...
Musty stinky smell in the room. May have come from the air conditioner. I got use to it after quite a few hours but it also kicked on my allergies.
Windows do not open which would have been nice to get that river breeze.
No stores in walking distance.
Anyway...since I did not know this town I was afraid to stroll around which could have been nice along the river.
I would stay here again if I were in the area but not sure if I would go out of my way again.

  • Stayed August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Shersei
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Andrea T, Manager at Renaissance Portsmouth-Norfolk Waterfront Hotel, responded to this review, August 25, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to provide feedback. Great customer service is certainly an aspect of our hotel that we pride ourselves on and strive to perfect, daily. Thank you again for acknowledging the high level of service that you received while staying with us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Suffolk, Virginia
Level Contributor
126 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 20, 2012

We stay at this hotel often and love the place! The staff always greets us with a smile and makes us feel special. The location is great, on the water and within walking distance to many restaurants and attractions.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jay W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Andrea T, Manager at Renaissance Portsmouth-Norfolk Waterfront Hotel, responded to this review, August 21, 2012
Thank you very much for taking the time to share your experience with us and for your kind words about our team which we are extremely proud of. We so look forward to the pleasure of your stay very soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Haddon Heights, New Jersey, United States
Level Contributor
33 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 17, 2012

We spent 2 nights here for an anniversary trip. It was wonderful. The hotel was on the waterfront and our room had a great view. The room was very clean. The exercise room was fantastic and also offered great views of the river. We were able to pick up the ferry nearby and go to Norfolk which was so convenient and meant we did not have to use our car during our stay. We'd definitely go back.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Paula G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fayetteville, North Carolina
Level Contributor
221 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 11, 2012

I travel a lot for business and regularly stay in nice hotels. This hotel is the best I have stayed in - bar none! Great views and many nice restaurants within walking distance. The hotel restaurant is nice as well.

Room Tip: Go with the odd numbered rooms on the higher floors, they have a great view of the river and Norfolk...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bill W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Portsmouth
0.6 mi away
Norfolk Waterside Marriott
0.8 mi away
Courtyard Norfolk Downtown
1.2 mi away
Residence Inn Norfolk Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Sheraton Norfolk Waterside Hotel
0.6 mi away
Comfort Inn Olde Town
Comfort Inn Olde Town
#3 of 5 in Portsmouth
3.5 of 5 bubbles 59 reviews
1.4 mi away
Wyndham Garden Norfolk Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Renaissance Portsmouth-Norfolk Waterfront Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Renaissance Portsmouth-Norfolk Waterfront Hotel

Property: Renaissance Portsmouth-Norfolk Waterfront Hotel
Address: 425 Water St, Portsmouth, VA 23704-3801
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Virginia > Portsmouth
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in Portsmouth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Renaissance Portsmouth-Norfolk Waterfront Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 249
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Blending traditional elegance and modern style, our waterside Norfolk, VA area hotel in the historic downtown district of Olde Towne Portsmouth provides calming comfort and soothing relaxation. The Renaissance Portsmouth hotel boasts a hip location overlooking the vibrant, revitalized waterfront and offers stunning views of the Elizabeth River. Set above the harbor, the Portsmouth Ballroom's unique outdoor terrace, part of the 24,000 square feet of Norfolk area hotel meeting space, provides a stunning reception area sure to draw rave reviews from your guests. This updated luxurious Norfolk, Virginia area hotel also features 23 meeting rooms including a 70-seat Amphitheater. Savor the atmosphere of this waterside hotel in Portsmouth at Foggy Point Bar & Grill, presenting a selection of fresh seafood. Visitors to the area can enjoy the unique experience of taking the nearby water taxi across to many of the Norfolk business and visitor destinations including the Norfolk Naval facilities. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Marriott, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Priceline and HotelQuickly so you can book your Renaissance Portsmouth-Norfolk Waterfront Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Renaissance Portsmouth Hotel & Waterfront Portsmouth
Renaissance Portsmouth Hotel And Waterfront Conference Center

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing