We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Less than average for comfort inn”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Comfort Inn Olde Town
Ranked #3 of 5 Hotels in Portsmouth
Roanoke, Virginia
Level Contributor
34 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Less than average for comfort inn”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 24, 2013 via mobile

room was decent but definitely dated was below average for a Comfort Inn but still clean w good breakfast and staff were very friendly, good pillows, firm bed, bathroom wasn't gross, would stay again because the price was good

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank fleming245
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

59 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    15
    14
    13
    5
    12
See reviews for
15
13
3
12
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Richmond, Virginia
Level Contributor
17 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 23, 2013

My fiance and I checked into this hotel after a long day in Norfolk. The hotel is in a poorer section of Portsmouth, with a lot of activity going on at 11pm on a Sunday. Parking was ample, luggage cart ancient, and check in quick. The front desk attendant was friendly, and the lobby was standard, not bad just not memorable. We had doubles with a slight smokey scent. You get an 20yr old tv, and basic dresser. The room wasn't very clean, and linens looked questionable. The beds were comfortable, bathroom small and cramped but fine for one night. Upon check out we did not take advantage of the offered breakfast which looked basic. There are a couple of nice breakfast spots within a 10min drive to downtown Norfolk. All in all I would say this hotel should be advertised as a two star, to better give potential guests an idea of what to expect.

Room Tip: Try not to check in late.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank FinAndFiona
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Elkhorn City, Kentucky
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 30, 2013

Its in an historic district of Portsmouth with lots of old churches and buildings close by. Hotel was clean and staff was friendly. Double beds were small but comfortable enough. Pillows left a little to be desired. Small 25" "box" style tv in room. Pool was clean and fitness room was adequate. 2 gas stations, Pizza Hut, Mcdonalds, Churchs Fried Chicken and a Starbucks were all on same block w/in walking distance. Will have to drive to nicer eating establishments.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tatecrag
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yorktown, Virginia
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 30, 2013

Friendly staff, especially the manager. He took good care of us....Nice and quient place...Close to shopping and downtown...Breakfast experience was not bad at all...We enjoyed our stay overall.............

Room Tip: Talk to the staff and they will guide you per your needs..
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Globe T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rockville, Maryland
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 27, 2013

This place is okay, but if you're used to a typical Courtyard or Hampton Inn, this is a step down. The breakfast is basically donuts, orange juice, and the waffle machine. No yogurt, skim milk, oatmeal, or fruit. They start vacuuming the hallway at 7:30 am (while banging the vacuum into your room door). The vent in the bathroom was so caked with dust that it looked as it had not been cleaned in years. The front desk assigns Hotwire reservations to smoking rooms and then claims that is what you requested (it's not even possible to make that request in Hotwire). However, they're willing to work with you when they have an open room. The staff is friendly, but if your expectations are low, you won't be too disappointed.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank David806
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Churchville
Level Contributor
61 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 19, 2013

Stayed here at the last minute after leaving another motel down the block that was horrible. The front desk attendant, Cindy, after hearing of my trauma, upgraded me to an efficiency, so for $89, I had anice room with a little kitchenette. It was clean, comfortable, quiet, and everything worked. The hot breakfast was included and was good enough. I really appreciated the help I received from Cindy and her understanding after I accidentally booked a room at a motel that appeared to be running drugs and prostitutes out of it!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank asset1202
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lehigh Valley, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
110 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 6, 2013

If your in Portsmouth for a night, this place is adequate for a nights rest, clean, quite but could use some furniture updating. Honestly they should not offer the free breakfast, good for coffee but skip the rest. If your going to offer a free hot breakfast do it right or not at all is my theory. To make a long story short good if your spending a night but don't choose this place for any length of time.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Hipster_Tripsters
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Portsmouth
0.6 mi away
Renaissance Portsmouth-Norfolk Waterfront Hotel
1.0 mi away
Norfolk Waterside Marriott
0.1 mi away
Riverwalk Inn & Suites Portsmouth
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Super Value Inn Ports Mouth/Olde Town Area
1.3 mi away
Residence Inn Norfolk Downtown
1.2 mi away
Courtyard Norfolk Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Comfort Inn Olde Town? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Comfort Inn Olde Town

Property: Comfort Inn Olde Town
Address: 347 Effingham St, Portsmouth, VA 23704
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Virginia > Portsmouth
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 5 Hotels in Portsmouth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Comfort Inn Olde Town 2.5*
Number of rooms: 62
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Choice Hotels, Priceline, Cancelon, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Comfort Inn Olde Town reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Comfort Inn Olde Town Hotel Portsmouth
Comfort Inn Portsmouth
Portsmouth Comfort Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing