We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good and no surprises”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Quality Inn Olde Town
Ranked #3 of 5 Hotels in Portsmouth
Reviewed May 19, 2013

Stayed here at the last minute after leaving another motel down the block that was horrible. The front desk attendant, Cindy, after hearing of my trauma, upgraded me to an efficiency, so for $89, I had anice room with a little kitchenette. It was clean, comfortable, quiet, and everything worked. The hot breakfast was included and was good enough. I really appreciated the help I received from Cindy and her understanding after I accidentally booked a room at a motel that appeared to be running drugs and prostitutes out of it!

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank asset1202
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (64)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

36 - 42 of 64 reviews

Reviewed May 6, 2013

If your in Portsmouth for a night, this place is adequate for a nights rest, clean, quite but could use some furniture updating. Honestly they should not offer the free breakfast, good for coffee but skip the rest. If your going to offer a free hot breakfast do it right or not at all is my theory. To make a long story short good if your spending a night but don't choose this place for any length of time.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Hipster_Tripsters
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 12, 2013

Nice Hotel , would stay again. Quiet rooms, clean. Older TV's but work well. Nice Location. Portsmouth is a great stop on a vacation, port city with many things to do. Excellent Seafood Restaurants. Recommend either Roger Browns (sports bar and rest.) or Lobscouser (Great Seafood).

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Chris W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 1, 2013 via mobile

I have stayed here on several occasions. At best I would say the staff do a great job given what they have to work with.
Comfortable beds, utilitarian digs. If you are on a budget and want few surprises, this property will suffice. No premium features.
Safe

  • Stayed: February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Philblack
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 12, 2013

The staff were wonderful and friendly always. Great room; spacious, clean, and didn't smell like a smoking room even though it was. The amenities were a bit average for how much it cost...breakfast was the same thing everyday, and I stayed for almost a week. If you were trying to eat at around 6-7 AM, forget about it, there were alot of construction workers that basically cleaned it out before you got your juice. Two kinds of hot and cold cereal, white bagel or white toast, waffel maker, small egg omletes and sauage links, apples and hard boiled eggs were a plus. The computer is hard to use because it is in a location of horrible glare from the sun and couldn't connect to the Wifi at all. They offer AAA and Miltiary discounts.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LeteciaE
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 19, 2012

If you read my reviews you will see that I am critical when required. This apples here.
Arrived around 1am, tired with a few hours before the need to get up.

Quiet room request, well no external noise but.... The fridge was playing a tune, so I disconnected it, few sockets, the air conditioning was the noisiest I have known in 35years of travel.

Poor furnishings in the room.

Simply unable to access Internet at all !!!!!!!

Seemed to be home to construction workers who had filled the breakfast area and also devoured its contents.

If we had arrived earlier I would have complained and looked elsewhere.

Simply not a place for anyone visiting to stay

Room Tip: Go to another hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Scotforever
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 30, 2012

This is a great hotel to stay at if its for one night or weeks!! We stayed here 2 yrs ago and came back from Rock Hill SC for the arrival of our first grandchild. Our plan was to stay a few nights but ended on staying almost 2 weeks. We were given great rates. ALL the employees are very nice and give exceptional customer service. We came to know Brenton and Parag very well and they always asked about our gradaughter and asked once she was born to bring pictures by so they could see her-which we did do. They treat you like family and always asked if we needed anything. The rooms were clean and the breakfast was great!!! I even went out and bought a waffle maker after the trip because we got hooked on their waffles. So now everytime we eat them we think about our trip! We look foward to coming back and will only stay at this Comfort Inn. Thanks to all the staff ! B& L. Branham and W. Morris

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bengie B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Portsmouth
0.6 mi away
Renaissance Portsmouth-Norfolk Waterfront Hotel
1.6 mi away
Wyndham Garden Norfolk Downtown
1.2 mi away
Courtyard Norfolk Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.7 mi away
La Quinta Inn & Suites Norfolk Airport
5.5 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Norfolk International Airport
0.2 mi away
Super Value Inn Ports Mouth/Olde Town Area
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Quality Inn Olde Town? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Quality Inn Olde Town

Address: 347 Effingham St, Portsmouth, VA 23704-2337 (Formerly Quality Inn & Suites Olde Towne)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Virginia > Portsmouth
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 5 Hotels in Portsmouth
Price Range: $90 - $121 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Quality Inn Olde Town 2.5*
Number of rooms: 62
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotwire, Orbitz, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Quality Inn Olde Town reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Comfort Inn Olde Town Hotel Portsmouth
Comfort Inn Portsmouth
Portsmouth Comfort Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing