We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Reviews (426)
Filter reviews
426 results
Traveler rating
412
12
2
0
0
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
412
12
2
0
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsfire pitwhite dogthe main housescreened in porchmathews countychesapeake suitechesapeake bayfishing geargracious hostswonderful weekendgourmet breakfastrelaxing getawayeach morningeast riverbeautiful roomjacuzzi tubmiddle peninsula
Filter
Updating list...
399 - 404 of 426 reviews
Reviewed October 18, 2010

Greg and Lori have transformed their secluded property into a gracious but casual and welcoming inn. We arrived in a record-breaking rainstorm and were grateful for the cozy library, the lovely room and view, and the common area with easy access to tea and coffee. All the comforts of home. The breakfast was delicious – don’t miss the warm blueberry sauce on Greg’s special pancakes. Their location on the inlet is perfect for kayaking, which we plan to do next time.

  • Stayed: September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank FredfromRichmond
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 14, 2010

One really can't ask for more in a weekend - or longer- getaway. Greg and Lori are incredibly gracious hosts and very accommodating. They've created a wonderful place to relax and recharge. If you are into the gentler watersports (kayaking, canoeing, paddle-boarding, etc.) birdwatching, or just enjoying nature, this place is spectacular. We love it and can't wait 'til we can go back.

  • Stayed: October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank gtrmkr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 12, 2010

I chose The Inn At Tabbs Creek because I was looking for a beautiful serene setting where my partner and I could relax, unwind and be totally at peace as we celebrated his 49th birthday.

This was the answer! Greg and Lori were so warm and wonderful. The breakfasts were out of this world and we had an exquisite time soaking in the beautiful surroundings. The room was everything we hoped for and more. We had a romantic extended weekend that we'll always remember. We will definately visit again! Thanks Greg and Lori for creating such a beautiful retreat!

  • Stayed: September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Laura944
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 13, 2010

The Inn at Tabb's Creek was a perfect choice for my husband and me for a long weekend spent kayaking and wandering the small, sweet towns of the middle peninsula of Virginia's Northern Neck. The Inn is just south of Mathews, VA in Port Haywood, VA. This part of the Northern Neck is relatively undeveloped and still maintains small town charm. We were there the weekend of Mathews' Market Days, a street fair that offered local food and arts and crafts. We brought our kayaks for some paddling and had a great trip, launching from the landing at the Inn. There were so many places to paddle in calm water through marshes and into the East River with beautiful views south to the Chesapeake Bay.
The Inn itself is in a lovely setting, jutting out into a small creek -- Tabb's Creek -- so that there are water views everywhere you look. We stayed in the East Room which was nicely furnished and newly renovated. Only drawback was there was no dresser to put clothing, just a closet and shelves in the sitting room before the bedroom. A bonus was a 2-person Jacuzzi tub in a corner of the bedroom, of which we took advantage both nights. It was a nice treat after all that paddling. We had a pretty view outside our window of the creek.
Breakfasts were delicious, with an egg dish and other things such as grits, potatoes, fruit salad, yoghurts, etc. Mostly based on local availability of ingredients.
The wine and cheese "party" on Saturday afternoon is a great way to meet other couples at the Inn and talk about places to go, places you've been, and just relax with a congenial group of people.
There are limited options for dining in Mathews. Southwinds Cafe seems to be the local hangout. There's a small menu of pizza and salads. Draft beers on tap. A small, but fine, winelist. Erratic hours, however. The White Dog Inn (see review elsewhere) has okay food but extremely rushed service -- we were in and out in under half an hour, even after asking the waitress to delay our service. Our best meal of the trip was in White Stone, on the northern peninsula, about 30 minutes away, at Seven (see review elsewhere) a martini bar with delicious entrees and a small tapas selection.
The Innkeepers, Lori and Greg, are super friendly and helpful, willing to call around to help you get reservations at the local places and locate anything you might need. In my case, a swimsuit I'd forgotten to pack.
We had a great weekend at the Inn, with perfect weather and congenial company. The Inn was full when we were there, mostly older couples, although we really enjoyed the company of a younger couple who paddle boarded around the creek and bay with us and another kayaking couple.
All in all, a memorable weekend, enjoying the beauty of this part of Virginia -- and it is exceptionally beautiful -- in a relaxed, copacetic setting with good company.
Thanks Lori and Greg! We hope to see you again.

  • Stayed: September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank pouillyfume1952
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 17, 2010

My husband and I needed a get-away. We found it! The Inn at Tabbs Creek was like heaven for us. Pease, serenity, calm, intimate, nature, quiet, personal, beauty!!! The best I can say about our stay is that we will go back again and again. Next time we will stay longer than just 2 nights!!! Lori and Greg are more like friends than hosts - very personable, lovely people. Breakfast was delicious!!! We can't wait to go back!!!

  • Stayed: August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank seabyrd33
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews