We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A little slice of heaven!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The Inn at Tabbs Creek Waterfront B&B
Ranked #1 of 1 Port Haywood B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Northern Virginia
Level Contributor
148 reviews
50 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
“A little slice of heaven!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 28, 2010

We recently spent a long weekend at the Inn. What a great experience. From check in until check out. Very accomodating and helpful. Lori and Greg are wonderful innkeepers. And, if you do kayak, a great launching site right off their back yard. They have a boat ramp that takes you into Tabbs Creek which is a short paddle to the East River.

We stayed in the West Billups room. I cannot describe our excitement with the bathroom, yes the bathroom. The Inn is an old house, so often the bathrooms are very small converted closets but not in this room. The bathroom was large, two sinks, and a huge walk in shower. You had room to really hold a small meeting! It was great.

The room itself was very inviting. The bed comfy and there are two chairs in a small seating area. Just right for two.

The breakfasts were outstanding, and Greg uses what he has on hand from his garden -- all organic. First morning was buffet style, and they served the second morning.

They do have a pool -- so if you enjoy a quick dip at any time, it is available. They also provide pool towels!

All in all a wonderful stay. I would recommend this inn, and we will be going back next year. More to kayak and explore!

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ontheroad19
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

382 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    368
    12
    2
    0
    0
See reviews for
24
305
7
9
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (146)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Mason Neck, VA
Level Contributor
19 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 8, 2010

The only thing that I would suggest to make our stay better would be a small in-room fridge, and a room tv. Also would have liked bed made and room straightened but no big deal. Otherwise this place is about as idyllic as you can get; Very pleasant and relaxing.........thanks much!

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jlmurphyandpups
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington, D.C.
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 5, 2010

My boyfriend and I celebrated his 40th birthday at the Inn at Tabbs Creek. We were hoping for an active weekend of biking and paddleboarding in comfortable, but not stuffy, accommodations, with some excellent food, and that is exactly what Greg and Lori had waiting for us at the Inn at Tabbs Creek. Our quiet and clean room, the very aptly named Captain's room, had water views on three sides, and the decor was refreshingly contemporary. Greg, together with Lori's brother, prepared scrumptious breakfasts each morning, with fresh produce from his garden. The berry scones were particularly memorable.

We borrowed the serviceable guest bikes for an hour-long ride down peaceful country roads the first morning and spent the afternoon and next day learning stand-up paddleboarding! Steve and Macky from Chesapeake Watersports were excellent instructors--patient and mature--as well as great guys and local guides. It takes me slightly longer than my boyfriend to warm up to new sports, and with this in mind, I must say that I felt encouraged, but never pressured, every step of the way. After some practice getting comfortable on the boards in the very quiet waters near the inn, Steve and Macky led us into Mobjack Bay for an hour-long downwinder-- what a thrill! The real highlight, though, was paddling the grass-lined channels of a local marsh the next day, as tiny silver fish hopped and flopped across our boards while our guides told us about the local ecology and history. They led us through the marsh to the back of a huge sand dune and over to a wide, powdery white-sand beach on the Chesapeake Bay that rivals any stretch of beach along the Outer Banks. Best of all, we were the only ones there! We parked our boards and jumped into the perfect water of the Bay. Rounding out our weekend was some lovely quiet downtime dangling our feet over the edge of the Inn's dock and watching the fish and birds as the sun went down. Such a beautiful spot. And finally, we loved the fact that all these activities were readily available on site, so we didn't have to spend our weekend in the car shuttling to and fro.

I wouldn't say we were wildly impressed by the local dining options, but our standards are admittedly high in this regard, and this place is a bit off the beaten foodie track. That said, we enjoyed a very nicely prepared (and grass-fed) flank steak with seasoned new potatoes at the White Dog Inn. And Greg's breakfast feasts more than made up for a local dining scene that (other than the White Dog) is still finding its way.

We'd go back to the Inn at Tabbs Creek, and paddleboarding with the guys at Chesapeake Boardsports, in a heartbeat!

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank YarrowL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richmond, Virginia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 29, 2010

Had the pleasure of an overnight visit to the Inn @ Tabbs Creek. Lori and Greg were able to accommodate our request with very little notice, and were warm and gracious from the first email exchange through to our goodbyes. Enjoyed a spectacular sunset dinner on the large screened in porch, and an inspired breakfast the following day. Will certainly return to the Inn - this time for a longer stay!

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TwoIggies
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norfolk, Virginia
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 28, 2010

Greg and Lori are exceptional hosts who have created a most impressive Inn. From the exceptional breakfast, the wine and cheese that created a camaraderie felt throughout the weekend, the lovely and comfortable rooms, the various activities and excellent nearby restaurants - and the garden fresh fruits and veggies - what a stay! We will be back.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank cihavlin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newport News, Virginia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 26, 2010

If you are into getting away from the city then this is the place for you. it was so nice. there was a great view and a lot of out door activities. the Town of Mathews is very small but that is the charm of it. great local people and neat local restaurants. The people who run the B'n'B are great, nice, welcoming people. the Breakfast was delicious and accommodating. there were good choices for breakfast and don't worry about being served the same thing twice. don't

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SAClements
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
charlottesville
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 20, 2010

My wife and I wanted to get some time away in preparation for our second baby due next month. She found the Inn online and Lori and Greg were both very helpful and kind with all her questions. We stayed 3 nights in the East River suite and loved it. It rained most of the time, but we sat on the dock when the weather broke, dined in town, and thoroughly enjoyed the suite. The breakfasts were wonderful and our experience made us already talk about our return. If you're looking for quiet, relaxing and a classy B&B that is not pretensious, then Inn at Tabbs Creek is the perfect fit.

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank cvillefour
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Port Haywood
11.0 mi away
Hampton Inn Gloucester
Hampton Inn Gloucester
#1 of 2 in Gloucester
4.5 of 5 bubbles 336 reviews
10.9 mi away
Quality Inn Gloucester
Quality Inn Gloucester
#2 of 2 in Gloucester
4.0 of 5 bubbles 98 reviews
22.9 mi away
Shore Stay Suites
Shore Stay Suites
#2 of 7 in Cape Charles
4.5 of 5 bubbles 160 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
18.9 mi away
Bay Haven Inn of Cape Charles
Bay Haven Inn of Cape Charles
#1 of 8 in Cape Charles
5.0 of 5 bubbles 248 reviews
19.8 mi away
Hope and Glory Inn
Hope and Glory Inn
#1 of 1 in Irvington
5.0 of 5 bubbles 203 reviews
21.8 mi away
Kingsmill Resort
Kingsmill Resort
#8 of 74 in Williamsburg
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,529 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Inn at Tabbs Creek Waterfront B&B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Inn at Tabbs Creek Waterfront B&B

Property: The Inn at Tabbs Creek Waterfront B&B
Address: 384 Turpin Lane, Port Haywood, VA 23138
Location: United States > Virginia > Port Haywood
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Port Haywood
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our waterfront retreat is located on a secluded creek of the Chesapeake Bay in charming Mathews County, Va. With over 800 ft. of waterfront and 8 acres of wooded and open space, this Virginia Bed and Breakfast is the perfect place to get away from it all and totally relax. The main Inn is an 1880's newly renovated farmhouse with a separate cottage housing the luxury suites just across the garden and pool. An eco-friendly and certified Virginia Green lodging establishment, The Inn at Tabbs Creek is just the place if you appreciate the natural splendor of the outdoors and want the luxury and comfort of a casual B&B. Embark on a kayak or stand up paddleboard adventure, spend the day cycling the endless level Mathews country roads, or charter a sunset cruise with fresh oysters or fishing charter that leaves straight from our private dock. You can also just relax and recharge your romance with a picnic on a nearby beach, stargazing around the firepit, and watching the sunset in our chlorine free pool with a glass of Virginia Wine. *Winner of 2012 "Green Facility of the Year" from Virginia Tourism Corporation and TripAdvisor's "Certificate of Excellence" and "Green Leader" award, we were also voted "Most Welcoming Bed and Breakfast" in Eastern Virginia by Virginia Living Magazine this year. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotwire and Agoda so you can book your The Inn at Tabbs Creek Waterfront B&B reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Inn At Tabbs Creek Hotel Port Haywood

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing