We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Romantic Valentines's getaway”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The Inn at Tabbs Creek Waterfront B&B
Ranked #1 of 1 Port Haywood B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Greenville, South Carolina
Level 4 Contributor
36 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Romantic Valentines's getaway”
Reviewed February 17, 2014

This was the third visit we've made to The Inn at Tabbs Creek and as we've come to expect, everything was just perfect. Greg & Lori are the consummate innkeepers with every detail to a great stay being accounted for. They do a great job communicating with you before the stay to make sure any special needs or wants you may have will be taken care of.

We had not been down since they had put in the outdoor fire pit and we got to enjoy that Friday night as the weather had warmed up some and we got to enjoy the sunset over the water around the fire which was fantastic.

If you want to enjoy your privacy when you come Greg & Lori can see to that but if you enjoy meeting and visiting with the other guests they also do a superb job facilitating that. One of those ways is the Saturday evening wine and cheese get together. They common areas in the main house are great for standing/sitting around and visiting with people.

There is also a cozy living room next to a gas fireplace which you can turn on and enjoy instant warmth and comfort while just sitting on the comfy couches and reading and relaxing.

The breakfasts are like everything else here in that they will exceed your expectations. Love that they focus on trying to use fresh and/or local ingredients as much as possible. The food is delicious and you won't need to eat again until dinner. They are happy to steer you to those options in Mathews or beyond as well. We recommend both the White Dog (for finer dining) and Southwinds (for casual).

If you're looking for relaxation for a weekend or even just one night, you can't go wrong heading to Port Haywood. Make the right turn on Turpin Lane...and keep going even though you'll think you've make a wrong turn and then head down the long driveway to this gorgeous gem on the water.

By the way, it was our first visit since Dave joined the team down there and we appreciated meeting him and having him see to everything as we checked in.

Great stay! We'll see you next time.

Room Tip: Both the main house rooms and outside unit rooms are great. If you're looking for something a li...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sojournerbp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

396 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    382
    12
    2
    0
    0
See reviews for
26
316
7
9
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (153)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Richmond, Virginia
Level 6 Contributor
126 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed January 27, 2014

This was our first visit and it will not be our last! Even though the temperature was below freezing during our weekend stay, we had a great time. The location is off the main road and has an impressive drive to the house which sits on a cove with a dock. Even though there was snow on the ground and most of the cove was covered with ice, it is a beautiful setting. We stayed in the Chesapeake, a 2 room suite which was warm and comfortable. The breakfasts were delicious. Lori served us fresh fruit, juice, coffee, yogurt, sausage and baked eggs with cheese the first morning. The second morning we had oatmeal pancakes, bacon and a cheese omelet. There is no need for lunch! Lori also prepared a tray with cheese and meat and crackers in the afternoon. We sat in front of the fire in the main house and relaxed with a nice glass of wine. We thoroughly enjoyed our stay and will return in warmer weather to take advantage of the outdoor activities. Lori, thanks again!

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ydnab
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richmond, Virginia
1 review
Reviewed January 20, 2014

Just came back from our 3rd stay at Tabbs Creek Inn. Always a relaxful stay, appropriate privacy, wonderful property, terrific inn keepers, comfy rooms, best breakfast. We particularly like the fact that 'green' is practiced on every level within and around this waterfront property.

Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank sharon h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Las Vegas
Level 6 Contributor
215 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
Reviewed January 6, 2014

Our hosts were great and were always there to meet our needs. The breakfasts were very good and our room exceeded our expectations. The main building was rustic and the rooms had been completely updated. We stayed in a two room suite with a large king size bed, jacuzzi and heating system which kept us very warm during our cold December nights. The area is very quiet and scenic and if you are a bird watcher you will will especially enjoy the water fowl. We really enjoyed our stay and would like to return in warm weather to enjoy the pool and other water activities.

Room Tip: The East River Suite is the end suite and think it would be the quietest and has the most privacy. H...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank brucedog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newport News, Virginia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed December 30, 2013

The Inn at Tabbs Creek was a wonderful place to stay. The breakfast was great, the room was cozy and clean, the Inn Keepers were very friendly and hospitable. The actual home and property was very unique and had a lot of character. The inn keepers left snacks, coffee, tea, bottled water, supplies for smores and bottles of wine for purchase. It was a really nice and relaxing experience. I lost one of my earrings the last night and they even came and helped me find it before we left. We will definitely be returning to Tabbs Creek again. I highly recommend staying there!!

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MKurten2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chesapeake, Virginia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed December 30, 2013

Our best visit to any B&B to date - no kidding. We stayed in the Chesapeake Suite.
Hospitality and breakfasts were outstanding, Greg is a great chef. Lori and David are superior hosts. Rooms were very nice. Perfect pier to watch sunsets over the creek. Making plans to go back next year.

Room Tip: Minor issue - there is a tricky entrance to Turpin Lane, pay attention to the driving directions you...
See more room tips
Green Features: The Inn recycles, and has bicycles and kayaks on site.
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank 757Fred
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Juno Beach, Florida
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed December 30, 2013

We enjoyed a relaxing weekend after Christmas at The Inn. Lori, Greg, and Dave are great hosts. We stayed in the Captain's Room which has great waterfront views, a very comfortable bed, and nice, roomy modern bathroom. The breakfasts were wonderful and the Saturday night happy hour featured good wine, lots of nice hors d'oeuvres, and good conversation. We enjoyed getting to know our hosts and the other guests. Lori and Greg gave us great recommendations for dinner in the little town of Mathews. We took advantage of the firepit to cook Smores which the Inn provides for guests. We also took advantage of the horseshoes and corn hull games on site. We would love to come back in warmer weather to enjoy kayaking and paddleboarding, as well as the pool and the sunset river cruises that are available then.

Room Tip: We had excellent meals at The White Dog Inn and at Southside Pizza. Both offer fresh, local fare an...
See more room tips
Green Features: I applaud the obvious attention to being environmentally friendly and leaving as small a "footprint" as possible on the surrounding area. Good use of recycling, minimizing plastics, unnecessary laundry, etc.
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank GBarlow8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Port Haywood
11.0 mi away
Hampton Inn Gloucester
Hampton Inn Gloucester
#1 of 2 in Gloucester
359 reviews
10.9 mi away
Quality Inn Gloucester
Quality Inn Gloucester
#2 of 2 in Gloucester
101 reviews
23.7 mi away
Best Western Kilmarnock Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
20.1 mi away
The Tides Inn
The Tides Inn
#1 of 1 in Irvington
564 reviews
18.9 mi away
Bay Haven Inn of Cape Charles
Bay Haven Inn of Cape Charles
#1 of 9 in Cape Charles
275 reviews
22.7 mi away
Kilmarnock Inn
Kilmarnock Inn
#2 of 2 in Kilmarnock
113 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Inn at Tabbs Creek Waterfront B&B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Inn at Tabbs Creek Waterfront B&B

Property: The Inn at Tabbs Creek Waterfront B&B
Address: 384 Turpin Lane, Port Haywood, VA 23138
Location: United States > Virginia > Port Haywood
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Port Haywood
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our waterfront retreat is located on a secluded creek of the Chesapeake Bay in charming Mathews County, Va. With over 800 ft. of waterfront and 8 acres of wooded and open space, this Virginia Bed and Breakfast is the perfect place to get away from it all and totally relax. The main Inn is an 1880's newly renovated farmhouse with a separate cottage housing the luxury suites just across the garden and pool. An eco-friendly and certified Virginia Green lodging establishment, The Inn at Tabbs Creek is just the place if you appreciate the natural splendor of the outdoors and want the luxury and comfort of a casual B&B. Embark on a kayak or stand up paddleboard adventure, spend the day cycling the endless level Mathews country roads, or charter a sunset cruise with fresh oysters or fishing charter that leaves straight from our private dock. You can also just relax and recharge your romance with a picnic on a nearby beach, stargazing around the firepit, and watching the sunset in our chlorine free pool with a glass of Virginia Wine. *Winner of 2012 "Green Facility of the Year" from Virginia Tourism Corporation and TripAdvisor's "Certificate of Excellence" and "Green Leader" award, we were also voted "Most Welcoming Bed and Breakfast" in Eastern Virginia by Virginia Living Magazine this year. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotwire so you can book your The Inn at Tabbs Creek Waterfront B&B reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Inn At Tabbs Creek Hotel Port Haywood

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing