We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Woderful Peaceful Location”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The Inn at Tabbs Creek Waterfront B&B
Ranked #1 of 1 Port Haywood B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Reviewed August 4, 2013

Spent two enjoyable nights at The Inn at Tabbs Creek. It does have a wonderful location with a beautiful view of an inlet. Sitting at the end of the dock viewing great sunsets is a treat. The well-decorated room, actually a suite, in a separate building was very spacious and comfortable. The very clean small pool was refreshing and nice to have. Breakfast in the main house was truly excellent with lots of choices. Good restaurants in nearby Matthews...a touch of old-fashioned small America. The only minor negative was that the public rooms in the main house appeared somewhat tired.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank pollydick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (408)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

212 - 218 of 408 reviews

Reviewed July 27, 2013

My husband and I stayed here last year for our anniversary getaway. We only stayed for two nights, but I wish we could have stayed longer! The inn is beautiful and location secluded and quiet - perfect for a relaxing, romantic getaway weekend! The inn keepers, Lori and Greg, are extremely nice and make delicious breakfasts.

We were lucky that a Seafood Feast weekend happened to coincide with our stay - we enjoyed wine, grilled oysters that they grow themselves, Chesapeake crab, shrimp and wonderful conversation with most of the other guests.

We spent a lot of time in the room (Tabbs Room), since it stormed most of our trip, but it worked out well - our room was a decent size for being the least expensive available. It was small, but cozy. There are portable DVD players in all rooms, and a large selection of books and DVDs in the main house for entertainment, as well as a pool, fishing dock, kayaks and paddle boards (for a fee), and fire pit.

When the weather cleared, Lori and Greg were kind enough to let us stay past check-out time to try out stand-up paddling boarding. Although neither one of us had any experience, Greg gave us a quick lesson, then let us go out on our own. We had a blast!

I would definitely recommend this B&B to others. Its location in small town Mathews is just a short drive to other cute small towns and Bethel Beach.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CLK87
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TabbsCreek, Manager at The Inn at Tabbs Creek Waterfront B&B, responded to this reviewResponded July 31, 2013

Hello, and so nice of you to write a review a year later! That is so cool, and means a lot to us that you are still thinking about your time here. Thanks also for sharing the pictures, but what is so crazy for us to see is how much we have changed in a year...the room you stayed in, (the Tabbs Creek Room), is still nice, but is now even more super cool as we have totally remodeled it with updated colors to reflect our waterside vibe, plus guest fridge, Keurig coffee maker, sitting area...the list goes on. We have also totally re-done the dock, added a floating dock. lots of extra seating, etc. If you get the chance, would love to see you both again so you can update your memories and photo album! Just let us know...we like to take care of our former guests.
Cheers and all the best!

Lori and Greg

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 22, 2013

Not much to add to the other comments. Greg and Lori have thought of everything, from games to happy hour wine and cheese to a fully stocked and clean pool. I found myself saying all the time "Wow, they really have thought of everything".

Do take the river cruise with Trey. I had never schudked an oyster before, and I really loved getting a feel for the history of the region from the water.

Room Tip: We sleep on a Tempur-Pedic bed, so we were very happy to secure the Captain's room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank stephen p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TabbsCreek, Owner at The Inn at Tabbs Creek Waterfront B&B, responded to this reviewResponded July 31, 2013

Thanks so much for your kind review. It was wonderful to meet you all, and really appreciate that you mentioned Capt. Trey's oyster cruise. He is a great guy. local waterman, sort of historian, and all around good oyster afficianado that loves what he does, and we love him for that! In a small town such as ours, we all try to work together and support each other, so we are very lucky that he took the chance to purchase an old wooden boat, restore it, and offer tours.
Best to you all, and hope our paths might cross again one day!

Lori and Greg

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 17, 2013

Checked in here for 1 night while in Mathews & Northumberland on business. Greg and Lori have it figured out. Comfortable. Quiet. Great Hospitality. Quaint, along with the important conveniences. A great run along the quiet dirt roads last evening. A good kayak workout at dawn this morning. Greg took care of all my special diet requests. I did not try the non chlorine pool, but it sure looked nice. Horseshoe & bocca ready to go. Lori conducted a very thorough tour and introduction to the facilities. The room was very comfortable. Plenty of electrical outlets. Hangers in the closet for your attire. Updated bathroom.

Road warriors, skip the Hampton Inn in Gloucester and stay here. You will never go back.

Room Tip: I stayed in the East Billups room. Spacious. Comfortable bed. 5 full size windows. No desk in ro...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank redavis2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TabbsCreek, Owner at The Inn at Tabbs Creek Waterfront B&B, responded to this reviewResponded July 31, 2013

Wow...we don't get too many business travelers through our neck of the woods, but so glad to meet you and that you found a little "oasis" within your hectic schedule. It means a lot that you had so many kind things to say as I was a business traveler for so many years, and really tried to make our property friendly and welcoming to all, but especially paying attention to the little details that I so often found lacking in the chain hotels that I frequented during my "road warrior" days.
Thanks again, and if your ventures lead you back this way, we will welcome you once again!

Lori and Greg

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 16, 2013

My wife and I just spent one of the most relaxing long weekends ever. The Inn at Tabbs Creek is beautiful and wandering around Matthews County was great fun. The trip was worth it just to enjoy the breakfasts -- absolutely wonderful. On our last morning Greg and Lori joined us for breakfast and it was a real treat. I can't say enough about our experience.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Michael A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TabbsCreek, Owner at The Inn at Tabbs Creek Waterfront B&B, responded to this reviewResponded July 31, 2013

Thanks so much for your kind review, and we really enjoyed getting to know you both! Hope to see you again someday

Lori & Greg

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 11, 2013

On a scale of 1 to 10 (10 being "brilliant!"), Greg and Lori get a 15. We've stayed at many Bed & Breakfast Inns, and the Inn at Tabbs Creek is by far the most relaxing, has the best food, and is the most accommodating we've ever experienced. The garden is not only beautiful, it has a pretty incredible story behind its creation. The main house is a lovely testament to their appreciation of local history, sense of style, and a great deal of "sweat equity". We really can't say enough great things about this wonderful Inn. Thanks, Greg and Lori, for a terrific weekend! We'll be back! -- Rob & Lori (yep, spelled the same.)

Room Tip: I looked at all six of them while I was there, and each one was beautiful, quiet, and well-appointed...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Robert G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TabbsCreek, Owner at The Inn at Tabbs Creek Waterfront B&B, responded to this reviewResponded July 31, 2013

Hello to you both, and thanks so much for the kind words! You are absolutely right in that this is totally a labor of love for us, and always means a lot of "sweat equity", but it is so very rewarding, especially when we get to connect with folks like yourselves. We appreciate all the positive input and ideas, and hope to see you again someday. Glad you got some time to relax.
Cheers!
Lori

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 8, 2013

For those who haven't been there, historic, water-surrounded, rather remote and fully authentic Mathews County is a treasure! Surrounded by the Chesapeake Bay, Mobjack Bay, the Piankatank, East, and North Rivers, and including endless inlets, it has (I believe) the most shoreline of any county in the country. Off the path of any major roads, it is truly pristine and non-commercialized. This weekend, my friend and I had the great pleasure to enjoy this rare world as guests at one of the most lovely B&Bs we've ever stayed at -- the Inn at Tabbs Creek. We can't say enough about Lori and Greg's warm hospitality, the many comforts of their lovely inn (including its wonderful location, grounds, and gardens... we had water views out of all three sides of our room), their absolutely superb cuisine (Greg is a former chef), and the stimulating conversation with an exceptionally interesting and international group of fellow guests. As a special treat, we were able to enjoy, with some of our fellow guests, a boat excursion on nearby waters with a friend of Lori and Greg's (Tray, a former teacher and present oysterman), who was extremely nice and very informative about the whole business of aquaculture of oysters. And that evening, again as a special treat, Lori and Greg put on a fabulous boiled crab and shrimp feast, which we all enjoyed on their front lawn drinking Virginia wine and watching the sun set over the water. I see that most reviewers have given rave accounts of their experiences at the Inn at Tabbs Creek... We would absolutely agree -- it is truly a gem!

Room Tip: The Captain's Room, in which we stayed, is beautifully decorated and includes water views out of...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sunray220
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TabbsCreek, Manager at The Inn at Tabbs Creek Waterfront B&B, responded to this reviewResponded July 31, 2013

Thank You so very much for your kind review as it means the world to us to have feedback...glad that it is positive, but we welcome all suggestions as well. So happy that you enjoyed our "Celaebrate Chesapeake" package since that is relatively new for us, and we were very grateful that everyone participated that week end and had such a nice time. We are very fortunate to have partnered with Capt. Trey and Mathews Deadrise Charters, so it is always nice to get a positive review on his boat tours. Personally, we can't think of anything better than enjoying the water on a classic ol' boat with a few fresh oysters! All the best, and hope to see you both again!
Lori

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to The Inn at Tabbs Creek Waterfront B&B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Inn at Tabbs Creek Waterfront B&B

Address: 384 Turpin Lane, Port Haywood, VA 23138
Location: United States > Virginia > Port Haywood
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Port Haywood
Price Range: $135 - $235 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our waterfront retreat is located on a secluded creek of the Chesapeake Bay in charming Mathews County, Va. With over 800 ft. of waterfront and 8 acres of wooded and open space, this Virginia Bed and Breakfast is the perfect place to get away from it all and totally relax. The main Inn is an 1880's newly renovated farmhouse with a separate cottage housing the luxury suites just across the garden and pool. An eco-friendly and certified Virginia Green lodging establishment, The Inn at Tabbs Creek is just the place if you appreciate the natural splendor of the outdoors and want the luxury and comfort of a casual B&B. Embark on a kayak or stand up paddleboard adventure, spend the day cycling the endless level Mathews country roads, or charter a sunset cruise with fresh oysters or fishing charter that leaves straight from our private dock. You can also just relax and recharge your romance with a picnic on a nearby beach, stargazing around the firepit, and watching the sunset in our chlorine free pool with a glass of Virginia Wine. *Winner of 2012 "Green Facility of the Year" from Virginia Tourism Corporation and TripAdvisor's "Certificate of Excellence" and "Green Leader" award, we were also voted "Most Welcoming Bed and Breakfast" in Eastern Virginia by Virginia Living Magazine this year. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotwire so you can book your The Inn at Tabbs Creek Waterfront B&B reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Inn At Tabbs Creek Hotel Port Haywood

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing