We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very Nice B&B”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The Inn at Tabbs Creek Waterfront B&B
Ranked #1 of 1 Port Haywood B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Arlington, Virginia
Level Contributor
11 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Very Nice B&B”
Reviewed March 25, 2013

The Inn at Tabbs Creek was a nice little get away from our work and computers! Greg and Lori are the friendliest hosts we've ever met at a B&B! Breakfasts were delicious and it was really fun to meet and chat with not only the other guests but our hosts too. The room was very clean and beautifully decorated and the bed was really comfortable. We visited in March so it was a bit too cold for water activities which would have been fun. Instead we explored the area (Yorktown, Gloucester etc) and stopped at an antique place. The only (sort of) downside is the lack of good restaurants close by but if you're willing to travel a bit we liked Merrior for oysters and beer. We recommend this inn for a quiet, relaxing stay.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ginny W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TabbsCreek, Owner at The Inn at Tabbs Creek Waterfront B&B, responded to this review, July 7, 2013
Thanks for your kind review. Yes, our little town of Mathews is somewhat limited in dining options, but since your visit we are happy to announce that 3 new restaurants have opened in town! The White Dog Bistro offers fine dining Th-Sun along with a casual and late night menu at their outdoor patio and bar with music on week ends. Then there is Mi Casa Azteca which offers your good ol basic Mexican food and Margaritas, and best of all is open 7 days a week, and Patsy's Pub which offers your basic fare, but has a bar and big screen TV so we are excited to be able to meet up with friends to catch an NFL game or college hoops as well as our guests. We are glad you enjoyed your stay, and hope to see you again one day!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

390 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    376
    12
    2
    0
    0
See reviews for
25
311
7
9
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (152)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Portsmouth, Virginia
1 review
Reviewed March 14, 2013

Wonderful food, wonderful couple. Clean digs, nice property, very quiet.We really appreciated the effort taken to make the inn extremely eco-friendly, and the commitment to use local products/foods/beverages. Also the other local restaurants in the town were amazing also

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dangel3410
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TabbsCreek, Owner at The Inn at Tabbs Creek Waterfront B&B, responded to this review, March 25, 2013
Thank you for your review, and acknowledging our Eco-friendly efforts. We make every effort to grow as much of our own food or source locally, and feel that our breakfast are all the better for it! We are very lucky to have some fun and eclectic restaurants in town, and we just had several more open this year. Hope to see you again in the future, and thanks again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Virginia
Level Contributor
32 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed March 8, 2013

We had an amazing three days and two nights at the Inn at Tabbs Creek. The views are amazing, the room lovely, and the breakfasts are fantastic! Lori and Greg are warm and friendly. It is wonderful that they are running a "green" establishment. It is off the beaten track but so worthwhile to visit.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank msmaggie22963
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TabbsCreek, Owner at The Inn at Tabbs Creek Waterfront B&B, responded to this review, March 25, 2013
Thanks for your kind review, and so glad you enjoyed your visit with us. We are off the beaten path for sure, but found that it actually works to our advantage as our guests are able to get away from the usual hustle and bustle of everyday life....we definitely take things a bit slower around here ;) Best to you both!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richmond, Virginia
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed February 27, 2013

We had an amazing and memorable stay at The Inn at Tabbs Creek. This isn't your regular old B&B, the furnishings and decor are very modern and fresh but the atmosphere still has a traditional feel. We really appreciated the effort taken to make the inn extremely eco-friendly, and the commitment to use local products/foods/beverages.

Our room (East River Suite) was just lovely, the bed was one of the most comfortable we've ever slept in, the jacuzzi tub was great, everything was very clean, and there were many small touches that we really appreciated. The home and grounds are just beautiful, a perfect environment for relaxation. But, above all of that, our favorite part of the inn was....breakfast! Greg is an amazing chef and our breakfast both mornings was impeccable. I am rarely as impressed with a meal as I was during our time there. The first morning we had sausage, eggs, fruit, and a to-die-for German apple pancake with caramel sauce, and the second morning we had potato cakes with creamed spinach and poached eggs, fruit, bacon, and strawberry french toast casserole (I'd love to have some of the recipes!). We were stuffed both days and didn't need to eat again until dinner!

Greg was a wonderful host, a wealth of information about the estate and the area, and a pleasure to chat with. We really enjoyed getting to know him a little during our short stay. Even though Mathews County seems to thrive more during the summer due to it's proximity to the water, we found a winter getaway there to be just as charming. We visited some of the local businesses and restaurants, and spent the rest of the time watching movies in our room and enjoying the inn. The only outdoor activity we took part in this time was horseshoes, but we look forward to returning in warmer months to take full advantage of all the activities the area, and the inn have to offer.

Our stay truly couldn't have been more perfect, and at under a two hour drive from Richmond, we will definitely be recommending that all our friends visit. Can't say enough good things about this place!

Room Tip: We were lucky to be the only couple at the inn during the days we stayed, and we were able to check...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank vleighl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TabbsCreek, Owner at The Inn at Tabbs Creek Waterfront B&B, responded to this review, March 25, 2013
Thank you so much for your kind and thorough review of our property. We are so happy that you enjoyed your getaway, and were able to relax a bit. Even though there are not as many outdoor activities here in the Winter, we think it is really pretty and relaxing during this time as well. Thanks again, and hope to see you again some day!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Columbia, mo
1 review
Reviewed February 26, 2013

My husband and I stayed at the Inn at Tabbs Creek last summer. Everything about our stay was spectacular. On our first morning, we had to wake up extra early for a guided fishing trip in the area. Lori was so kind to prepare us a delicious breakfast to take with us. The next day we had salmon omelettes, and later in the day steamed oysters fresh from the bay! The entire stay was the prefect combination of feeling like a guest and feeling at home. This has become our new favorite B&B. If we're in the area again, we'll certainly be back!

Room Tip: We stayed in the Captain's Room which had a lovely view of the water.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Erin H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TabbsCreek, Owner at The Inn at Tabbs Creek Waterfront B&B, responded to this review, March 25, 2013
Thank You so much for taking the time to review our Inn. It was great to meet you, and glad that you enjoyed your time with us as well as going out with Captain Chris for fishing...our guests love him, and he seems to have an uncanny ability to know where the fish are ;) Would love to see you again if you make it back our way, but in the meantime wish you the best. Cheers!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chagrin Falls, Ohio
Level Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed February 20, 2013

My husband and I just returned from a three night stay over Valentine's Day weekend. The Inn far exceeded our expectations with incredible food, clean and welcoming rooms and gracious hosts. Greg and Lori are personable, unpretentious and happy to share information on all kinds of subjects including restaurants, sight-seeing and other activities around Mathews. I can’t say enough about Greg’s cooking - the breakfasts changed every day and were simply outstanding! The Inn itself has just the right mix of old world charm and new world convenience. It has been lovingly restored by Greg and Lori and the personal touches in every room helped to make us feel right at home. We plan on returning to the area in the near future and can’t wait to visit our new friends again!

Room Tip: We stayed in the Chesapeake Room which was actually in a separate building from the main house. I l...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JenDaus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TabbsCreek, Owner at The Inn at Tabbs Creek Waterfront B&B, responded to this review, March 25, 2013
Thank you for your kind review, and it was wonderful to meet you both. So glad you enjoyed the area, and will return in the summer to our wonderful little community of Mathews. Do let us know if we can help you with any arrangements or activities as we will be happy to do so. Thanks again, and see you in summer!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richmond, Virginia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed February 18, 2013

Stayed here for Presidents weekend and was not disappointed. Everything was open to the guest to use. The owner recommended the Sandpiper Reef for dinner great choice. The rooms have Kuerig coffee makers which I thought was very nice touch. Breakfast was amazing the pancakes were very good. I had poached eggs for the first time and they were delicious.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Elliott G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TabbsCreek, Owner at The Inn at Tabbs Creek Waterfront B&B, responded to this review, March 24, 2013
So glad you enjoyed your visit with us, and we were able to turn you on to poached eggs :) Glad you liked the Keurig machines...we just added them several months ago to the common area at Inn and the Bay cottage rooms so that guests can get a freshly brewed cup at any time. Take care, and best to you both!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Port Haywood
11.0 mi away
Hampton Inn Gloucester
Hampton Inn Gloucester
#1 of 2 in Gloucester
353 reviews
10.9 mi away
Quality Inn Gloucester
Quality Inn Gloucester
#2 of 2 in Gloucester
100 reviews
22.9 mi away
Shore Stay Suites
Shore Stay Suites
#2 of 7 in Cape Charles
165 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
19.8 mi away
Hope and Glory Inn
Hope and Glory Inn
#1 of 1 in Irvington
205 reviews
20.1 mi away
The Tides Inn
The Tides Inn
#1 of 1 in Irvington
549 reviews
18.9 mi away
Bay Haven Inn of Cape Charles
Bay Haven Inn of Cape Charles
#1 of 9 in Cape Charles
263 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Inn at Tabbs Creek Waterfront B&B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Inn at Tabbs Creek Waterfront B&B

Property: The Inn at Tabbs Creek Waterfront B&B
Address: 384 Turpin Lane, Port Haywood, VA 23138
Location: United States > Virginia > Port Haywood
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Port Haywood
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our waterfront retreat is located on a secluded creek of the Chesapeake Bay in charming Mathews County, Va. With over 800 ft. of waterfront and 8 acres of wooded and open space, this Virginia Bed and Breakfast is the perfect place to get away from it all and totally relax. The main Inn is an 1880's newly renovated farmhouse with a separate cottage housing the luxury suites just across the garden and pool. An eco-friendly and certified Virginia Green lodging establishment, The Inn at Tabbs Creek is just the place if you appreciate the natural splendor of the outdoors and want the luxury and comfort of a casual B&B. Embark on a kayak or stand up paddleboard adventure, spend the day cycling the endless level Mathews country roads, or charter a sunset cruise with fresh oysters or fishing charter that leaves straight from our private dock. You can also just relax and recharge your romance with a picnic on a nearby beach, stargazing around the firepit, and watching the sunset in our chlorine free pool with a glass of Virginia Wine. *Winner of 2012 "Green Facility of the Year" from Virginia Tourism Corporation and TripAdvisor's "Certificate of Excellence" and "Green Leader" award, we were also voted "Most Welcoming Bed and Breakfast" in Eastern Virginia by Virginia Living Magazine this year. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotwire so you can book your The Inn at Tabbs Creek Waterfront B&B reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Inn At Tabbs Creek Hotel Port Haywood

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing