We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“First Class and Charming” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Inn at Tabbs Creek Waterfront B&B

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The Inn at Tabbs Creek Waterfront B&B
Ranked #1 of 1 Port Haywood B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Chagrin Falls, Ohio
Level Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“First Class and Charming”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 20, 2013

My husband and I just returned from a three night stay over Valentine's Day weekend. The Inn far exceeded our expectations with incredible food, clean and welcoming rooms and gracious hosts. Greg and Lori are personable, unpretentious and happy to share information on all kinds of subjects including restaurants, sight-seeing and other activities around Mathews. I can’t say enough about Greg’s cooking - the breakfasts changed every day and were simply outstanding! The Inn itself has just the right mix of old world charm and new world convenience. It has been lovingly restored by Greg and Lori and the personal touches in every room helped to make us feel right at home. We plan on returning to the area in the near future and can’t wait to visit our new friends again!

Room Tip: We stayed in the Chesapeake Room which was actually in a separate building from the main house. I l...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JenDaus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TabbsCreek, Owner at The Inn at Tabbs Creek Waterfront B&B, responded to this review, March 25, 2013
Thank you for your kind review, and it was wonderful to meet you both. So glad you enjoyed the area, and will return in the summer to our wonderful little community of Mathews. Do let us know if we can help you with any arrangements or activities as we will be happy to do so. Thanks again, and see you in summer!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

382 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    367
    12
    2
    0
    1
See reviews for
24
305
7
9
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (147)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Richmond, Virginia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 18, 2013

Stayed here for Presidents weekend and was not disappointed. Everything was open to the guest to use. The owner recommended the Sandpiper Reef for dinner great choice. The rooms have Kuerig coffee makers which I thought was very nice touch. Breakfast was amazing the pancakes were very good. I had poached eggs for the first time and they were delicious.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Elliott G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TabbsCreek, Owner at The Inn at Tabbs Creek Waterfront B&B, responded to this review, March 24, 2013
So glad you enjoyed your visit with us, and we were able to turn you on to poached eggs :) Glad you liked the Keurig machines...we just added them several months ago to the common area at Inn and the Bay cottage rooms so that guests can get a freshly brewed cup at any time. Take care, and best to you both!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auburn, Alabama
Level Contributor
14 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 31, 2013

We enjoyed a lovely overnight stay at the Inn at Tabbs Creek in November. Greg and Lori were gracious, the accomodations and setting were beautiful, and we thoroughly enjoyed our time there. Look forward to going again!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank JudyH410
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TabbsCreek, Owner at The Inn at Tabbs Creek Waterfront B&B, responded to this review, March 24, 2013
We really appreciate your review, and hope to see you again some day. Cheers!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wasington, DC
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 28, 2013

Absolutely no complaints from us! Greg and Lori were super accommodating in everything we asked, they even sent over a private cheese platter for us because we wanted alone time together instead of doing the group wine tasting. We can't wait to go back when the weather is warmer so that we can enjoy all the outdoor activities they have available. The food was delicious, the room was clean and cozy, and the scenery and quietness of the property was perfect for our romantic weekend celebrating our anniversary.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Sabres4569
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TabbsCreek, Owner at The Inn at Tabbs Creek Waterfront B&B, responded to this review, March 24, 2013
Thanks so much for your review! So glad you enjoyed your time with us as well as your anniversary week end. Hope that you might be able to visit in the warmer months to take advantage of the many opportunities to get out on the water. Best to you both!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southern States
Level Contributor
29 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 20, 2013

This was our umtenth time back here. Can't say enough about the location, the peace, the charm, the comfort, and the hospitality provided by Greg and Lori. Already looking forward to our next trip. Keep up the outstanding work and many thanks for all you do.

Room Tip: There is a lot of charm in the rooms in the Captains house, but the Garden cottage has awsome rooms...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank SkipperandSusie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TabbsCreek, Owner at The Inn at Tabbs Creek Waterfront B&B, responded to this review, January 28, 2013
Thanks to you both for such a nice review...but most of all, for continuing to be such loyal customers! We so enjoy visiting with you each time you are here, and are also grateful for your ongoing suggestions and helpful advice. We only learn and grow from listening to our guests, so it means the world to us that you have taken the time to not only write a review, but to sit and brainstorm with us as well. We look forward to your next visit, but in the meantime, safe travels and best of luck in your boating adventures!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Potomac, Maryland, United States
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 18, 2013

Despite the terrible weather, we still had a wonderful time here! The Captains room had an amazing view and we really were able to relax and forget about our typical 9-5 lifestyle back home. It was a good getaway to forget about reality for a bit. The staff service was amazing, it w Breakfast was amazing! The rooms were comfy and relaxing. We highly recommend this for a getaway!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Mojie_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TabbsCreek, Owner at The Inn at Tabbs Creek Waterfront B&B, responded to this review, January 19, 2013
Thank You so much for your kind review. It was so nice to meet you both, and glad you were able to get away for a few days of relaxation! Yeah, wish we could control the weather, but oh well. However, we often find that dark skies and rain just promote a feeling of rest and taking it easy, so it's all good :) Best to you both, and hope to see you again someday!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richmond, Virginia
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 1, 2013

We were looking for a comfortable B&B that fits who we are, and Tabbs Creek was perfect: just an hour from Richmond, great food that accommodated our dietary limitations and leaned on local/seasonal offerings, relaxed innkeepers who were fun to talk to and shared their great movie library, and a truly comfortable room (no doilies!) with space for yoga, watching movies, eating, and reading where we could relax for a few days. We're looking forward to going back when the weather is better to explore the surroundings.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank SusanBrian2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TabbsCreek, Owner at The Inn at Tabbs Creek Waterfront B&B, responded to this review, January 16, 2013
Thanks so much for your kind review! We are glad you appreciated our small but eclectic DVD library, and the fact that we buried all of our doilies at sea when we purchased and remodeled the Inn in 2008 :) We enjoyed visiting with you as well and hope to see you both again one day.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Port Haywood
11.0 mi away
Hampton Inn Gloucester
Hampton Inn Gloucester
#1 of 2 in Gloucester
4.5 of 5 bubbles 331 reviews
11.0 mi away
Quality Inn Gloucester
Quality Inn Gloucester
#2 of 2 in Gloucester
4.0 of 5 bubbles 98 reviews
18.9 mi away
Bay Haven Inn of Cape Charles
Bay Haven Inn of Cape Charles
#1 of 8 in Cape Charles
5.0 of 5 bubbles 242 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
19.8 mi away
Hope and Glory Inn
Hope and Glory Inn
#1 of 1 in Irvington
5.0 of 5 bubbles 203 reviews
14.6 mi away
Marl Inn Bed and Breakfast
22.1 mi away
Kingsmill Resort
Kingsmill Resort
#8 of 75 in Williamsburg
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,509 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Inn at Tabbs Creek Waterfront B&B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Inn at Tabbs Creek Waterfront B&B

Property: The Inn at Tabbs Creek Waterfront B&B
Address: 384 Turpin Lane, Port Haywood, VA 23138
Location: United States > Virginia > Port Haywood
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Port Haywood
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our waterfront retreat is located on a secluded creek of the Chesapeake Bay in charming Mathews County, Va. With over 800 ft. of waterfront and 8 acres of wooded and open space, this Virginia Bed and Breakfast is the perfect place to get away from it all and totally relax. The main Inn is an 1880's newly renovated farmhouse with a separate cottage housing the luxury suites just across the garden and pool. An eco-friendly and certified Virginia Green lodging establishment, The Inn at Tabbs Creek is just the place if you appreciate the natural splendor of the outdoors and want the luxury and comfort of a casual B&B. Embark on a kayak or stand up paddleboard adventure, spend the day cycling the endless level Mathews country roads, or charter a sunset cruise with fresh oysters or fishing charter that leaves straight from our private dock. You can also just relax and recharge your romance with a picnic on a nearby beach, stargazing around the firepit, and watching the sunset in our chlorine free pool with a glass of Virginia Wine. *Winner of 2012 "Green Facility of the Year" from Virginia Tourism Corporation and TripAdvisor's "Certificate of Excellence" and "Green Leader" award, we were also voted "Most Welcoming Bed and Breakfast" in Eastern Virginia by Virginia Living Magazine this year. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda so you can book your The Inn at Tabbs Creek Waterfront B&B reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Inn At Tabbs Creek Hotel Port Haywood

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing