We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Reviews (429)
Filter reviews
429 results
Traveler rating
414
13
2
0
0
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
414
13
2
0
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsfire pitother guestswhite dogthe main housescreened in porchmathews countychesapeake bayfishing geargracious hostswonderful weekendgourmet breakfastrelaxing getawayeach morningeast riverbeautiful roomjacuzzi tubmiddle peninsula
Filter
Updating list...
285 - 290 of 429 reviews
Reviewed November 21, 2012

We stayed for 8 nights at this delightful B&B and greatly enjoyed a relaxing break. Greg and Lori made us feel welcome and were very helpful and cordial, it was like staying with distant relatives: relaxed and cosy, but not cloying.

The Inn is well appointed and nicely outfitted (and all done by Greg and Lori with help from assorted relatives) and has exactly what one needs for a relaxing holiday - no phones, radio or TV in the rooms! (for the terminally TV addicted there is a TV and DVD player in the library, along with DVDs to watch there or on the personal DVD player in the rooms. They also have WiFi). There is a microwave and small fridge for use by the guests, which means although the Inn does not do dinner, guests can bring in food for lunch and dinner and eat in the dining room. One evening we made a communal dinner with Greg and Lori, Dave and ourselves cooking (a great experience).

Unfortunately, although the weather was mostly bright and sunny, it was too cold to enjoy the outdoors and the kajaks and canoes the Inn also offers. Mathews is a short drive away and the "big city" (Gloucester or Williamsburg or Hampton Roads) within reasonable driving distance.

Breakfasts were rich and filling, the home-made savoury scones ("biscuits") and creamed spinach being a particular favourite. Breakfasts were served at 8:30 and, as we were joined by other guests and by Greg and Lori (and Greg's parents), with interesting tabletop discussions they frequently pleasantly stretched out to 9:30 or 10am - making it more a brunch than a breakfast.

As the Inn is an old building, it is relatively acoustically transparent: although staying at the end of the season meant that we pretty much had the place to ourselves, so it was very, very quiet and peaceful. However, with a "full house" it might get a bit loud for some.

In all, an excellent place for an end of season "flake-out" stay. Recommended.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Seat64K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TabbsCreek, Owner at The Inn at Tabbs Creek Waterfront B&B, responded to this reviewResponded January 16, 2013

Thank you so much for your kind and thorough review of our property. We enjoyed getting to know you both, and particularly appreciated our communal dinner the evening you and David cooked for the rest of us....You make a mean shrimp bisque! We so love meeting guests from all over the world, and only adds to the otherwise already interesting morning conversations. Glad you had a nice visit to the States, and wish you both all the best!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 13, 2012

I have stayed at many B&B's and The Inn at Tabbs Creek is at the top. From the spectacular setting, wonderful room, fire pit, pier out to the quiet cove, availability of kayaks and canoes, great breakfast, and certainly the sincerely friendly feeling that innkeepers Lori, Greg, and Dave are there to make your stay comfortable and enjoyable-and it certainly will be!

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 1SunTraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TabbsCreek, Owner at The Inn at Tabbs Creek Waterfront B&B, responded to this reviewResponded January 16, 2013

We greatly appreciate your kind review. We enjoyed meeting you, and thanks for leading the fire pit party that evening...everyone had a really fun time! Hope to see you again one day if you make it back to our area. Cheers!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 12, 2012

Greg and Lori participated in the B & B for Veteran's program and graciously offered the entire Inn at Tabb's Creek to veteran's from throughout the area. We were fortunate to be included as the Inn is a delightful place to relax and enjoy breezes from the water, views across the creek, nights around the fire pit and delicious breakfasts. The Inn makes bicycles, kayaks, canoes, fishing gear, and a horseshoe pit available for guest use, as well as a pool to enjoy during lazy, summer days.

In addition to a wine, cheese and oyster reception, the Dusenberry's made arrangements with a local restaurant for a complimentary and delicious dinner........thank you Sandpiper Reef! Greg's culinary skills are unsurpassed. Thank you for your patriotism and generosity. We look forward to returning. God bless America. Ron and Linda

Room Tip: We only saw our room which met all our needs. The bed was very comfortable, the room clean, and all amenities were available for us.
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Linda H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TabbsCreek, Owner at The Inn at Tabbs Creek Waterfront B&B, responded to this reviewResponded January 16, 2013

Thanks so much for your kind review, and we were proud and honored to participate in Better Way to Stay's B&B's for Vets annual campaign. It was really a special week end, and such a lovely group of people. Thanks again for your service to our Country!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 6, 2012

We checked out tripadvisor to find somewhere to stay one night in Mathews County and read the great reviews attached to The Inn at Tabbs Creek. Fortunately, we were able to book a room (Captains Room) as the place was otherwise booked up. When we arrived at the Inn, Lori and Dave greeted us as long lost family. We love the way Lori, Greg and Dave have fixed up the place. Dave told us the front of the house dates back to 1830. The Captain's Room is done out in blues and yellows, with an en suite and a small hallway to it. There are fantastic views of the Tabbs Creek/East river. We felt at home straight away. Dave told us about the area and gave us ideas of where to eat - we went to the Sandpiper Reef - we recommend it! We overslept and thought we'd missed breakfast, but Lori had put some aside for us with hot coffee. We really appreciated this gesture. This trip we could only stay one night, but next time we'll definitely book for longer, and hopefully get to meet Greg. Thanks Lori and Dave!

Room Tip: Only saw the Captain's Room, but would definitely stay there again. Liked the look of the whole place, so sure that all rooms are as good.
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Susan C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 4, 2012

I returned for my fourth visit to Tabbs Creek and as always, Lori, Greg & David were warm and welcoming. Each time I visit, there are new improved touches and additions to impress their visitors. Breakfast is always a fun time and no other chef can improve on Greg's talents. Can't wait until my next visit!

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Barbara L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews