We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“One night getaway”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The Inn at Tabbs Creek Waterfront B&B
Ranked #1 of 1 Port Haywood B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
McLean, Virginia
1 review
“One night getaway”
Reviewed November 24, 2012

Greg, Lori and Dave were excellent hosts. I was amazed at the generous assortment of snacks and beverages. The room was well-appointed and large. We enjoyed the beautiful grounds and the lovely creek. Greg and Dave assured that we had good directions to the location of a wedding anniversary that we were attending in a nearby town. And the breakfast was exquisite. Greg's poached eggs over creamed spinach was a phenomenal dish; accompanied with fabulous biscuits, bacon, yogurt, and fruit. we would have loved to spend some time cycling or rowing; or an evening with smores at the fire pit, but we needed to return home for family events. We were also pleased to hear that they participated in an event for veterans. Thanks, and yes the Inn at Tabbs Creek is a destination worth visiting!

Room Tip: No need for a fitness center-plenty of outdoor activities--boating, swimming, and cycling. We staye...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Joyce T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TabbsCreek, Owner at The Inn at Tabbs Creek Waterfront B&B, responded to this review, January 16, 2013
Thanks for your kind review, and really glad that you enjoyed your breakfast as that was a relatively new dish for Greg in trying to figure out what to do with the explosion of Spinach coming out of our garden! We hope that you will be able to visit again and stay longer next time. Cheers!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

385 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    371
    12
    2
    0
    0
See reviews for
24
308
7
9
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (148)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Basel, Switzerland
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed November 21, 2012

We stayed for 8 nights at this delightful B&B and greatly enjoyed a relaxing break. Greg and Lori made us feel welcome and were very helpful and cordial, it was like staying with distant relatives: relaxed and cosy, but not cloying.

The Inn is well appointed and nicely outfitted (and all done by Greg and Lori with help from assorted relatives) and has exactly what one needs for a relaxing holiday - no phones, radio or TV in the rooms! (for the terminally TV addicted there is a TV and DVD player in the library, along with DVDs to watch there or on the personal DVD player in the rooms. They also have WiFi). There is a microwave and small fridge for use by the guests, which means although the Inn does not do dinner, guests can bring in food for lunch and dinner and eat in the dining room. One evening we made a communal dinner with Greg and Lori, Dave and ourselves cooking (a great experience).

Unfortunately, although the weather was mostly bright and sunny, it was too cold to enjoy the outdoors and the kajaks and canoes the Inn also offers. Mathews is a short drive away and the "big city" (Gloucester or Williamsburg or Hampton Roads) within reasonable driving distance.

Breakfasts were rich and filling, the home-made savoury scones ("biscuits") and creamed spinach being a particular favourite. Breakfasts were served at 8:30 and, as we were joined by other guests and by Greg and Lori (and Greg's parents), with interesting tabletop discussions they frequently pleasantly stretched out to 9:30 or 10am - making it more a brunch than a breakfast.

As the Inn is an old building, it is relatively acoustically transparent: although staying at the end of the season meant that we pretty much had the place to ourselves, so it was very, very quiet and peaceful. However, with a "full house" it might get a bit loud for some.

In all, an excellent place for an end of season "flake-out" stay. Recommended.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Seat64K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TabbsCreek, Owner at The Inn at Tabbs Creek Waterfront B&B, responded to this review, January 16, 2013
Thank you so much for your kind and thorough review of our property. We enjoyed getting to know you both, and particularly appreciated our communal dinner the evening you and David cooked for the rest of us....You make a mean shrimp bisque! We so love meeting guests from all over the world, and only adds to the otherwise already interesting morning conversations. Glad you had a nice visit to the States, and wish you both all the best!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rochester, New York
Level Contributor
23 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed November 13, 2012

I have stayed at many B&B's and The Inn at Tabbs Creek is at the top. From the spectacular setting, wonderful room, fire pit, pier out to the quiet cove, availability of kayaks and canoes, great breakfast, and certainly the sincerely friendly feeling that innkeepers Lori, Greg, and Dave are there to make your stay comfortable and enjoyable-and it certainly will be!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 1SunTraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TabbsCreek, Owner at The Inn at Tabbs Creek Waterfront B&B, responded to this review, January 16, 2013
We greatly appreciate your kind review. We enjoyed meeting you, and thanks for leading the fire pit party that evening...everyone had a really fun time! Hope to see you again one day if you make it back to our area. Cheers!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gloucester
1 review
Reviewed November 12, 2012

Greg and Lori participated in the B & B for Veteran's program and graciously offered the entire Inn at Tabb's Creek to veteran's from throughout the area. We were fortunate to be included as the Inn is a delightful place to relax and enjoy breezes from the water, views across the creek, nights around the fire pit and delicious breakfasts. The Inn makes bicycles, kayaks, canoes, fishing gear, and a horseshoe pit available for guest use, as well as a pool to enjoy during lazy, summer days.

In addition to a wine, cheese and oyster reception, the Dusenberry's made arrangements with a local restaurant for a complimentary and delicious dinner........thank you Sandpiper Reef! Greg's culinary skills are unsurpassed. Thank you for your patriotism and generosity. We look forward to returning. God bless America. Ron and Linda

Room Tip: We only saw our room which met all our needs. The bed was very comfortable, the room clean, and al...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Linda H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TabbsCreek, Owner at The Inn at Tabbs Creek Waterfront B&B, responded to this review, January 16, 2013
Thanks so much for your kind review, and we were proud and honored to participate in Better Way to Stay's B&B's for Vets annual campaign. It was really a special week end, and such a lovely group of people. Thanks again for your service to our Country!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
2 reviews
Reviewed November 6, 2012

We checked out tripadvisor to find somewhere to stay one night in Mathews County and read the great reviews attached to The Inn at Tabbs Creek. Fortunately, we were able to book a room (Captains Room) as the place was otherwise booked up. When we arrived at the Inn, Lori and Dave greeted us as long lost family. We love the way Lori, Greg and Dave have fixed up the place. Dave told us the front of the house dates back to 1830. The Captain's Room is done out in blues and yellows, with an en suite and a small hallway to it. There are fantastic views of the Tabbs Creek/East river. We felt at home straight away. Dave told us about the area and gave us ideas of where to eat - we went to the Sandpiper Reef - we recommend it! We overslept and thought we'd missed breakfast, but Lori had put some aside for us with hot coffee. We really appreciated this gesture. This trip we could only stay one night, but next time we'll definitely book for longer, and hopefully get to meet Greg. Thanks Lori and Dave!

Room Tip: Only saw the Captain's Room, but would definitely stay there again. Liked the look of the whole...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Susan C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlottesville, Virginia, United States
1 review
Reviewed November 4, 2012

I returned for my fourth visit to Tabbs Creek and as always, Lori, Greg & David were warm and welcoming. Each time I visit, there are new improved touches and additions to impress their visitors. Breakfast is always a fun time and no other chef can improve on Greg's talents. Can't wait until my next visit!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Barbara L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rocky Mount, North Carolina
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed November 4, 2012

We were very impressed with this wonderfull bed and breakfast. The location is secluded enough, with water access and spectacular views. The grounds are impressive - gardens, fire pit, horseshoe pit, seating to enjoy the view or read. Our room was comfortable and cozy with every detail attended to. Lori, Greg and Dave were the perfect hosts, making you feel welcomed and at home immediately. And the breakfasts - they were just awesome!! We are looking forward to a return trip in the spring, so that we can enjoy the kayaking and bike riding available at this wonderful place. How do I give "The Inn at Tabbs Creek" a six star rating? Eric and Diane

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank icurly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Port Haywood
11.0 mi away
Hampton Inn Gloucester
Hampton Inn Gloucester
#1 of 2 in Gloucester
4.5 of 5 bubbles 344 reviews
10.9 mi away
Quality Inn Gloucester
Quality Inn Gloucester
#2 of 2 in Gloucester
4.0 of 5 bubbles 99 reviews
22.9 mi away
Shore Stay Suites
Shore Stay Suites
#2 of 7 in Cape Charles
4.5 of 5 bubbles 162 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
18.9 mi away
Bay Haven Inn of Cape Charles
Bay Haven Inn of Cape Charles
#1 of 9 in Cape Charles
5.0 of 5 bubbles 251 reviews
19.8 mi away
Hope and Glory Inn
Hope and Glory Inn
#1 of 1 in Irvington
5.0 of 5 bubbles 204 reviews
21.8 mi away
Kingsmill Resort
Kingsmill Resort
#7 of 75 in Williamsburg
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,552 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Inn at Tabbs Creek Waterfront B&B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Inn at Tabbs Creek Waterfront B&B

Property: The Inn at Tabbs Creek Waterfront B&B
Address: 384 Turpin Lane, Port Haywood, VA 23138
Location: United States > Virginia > Port Haywood
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Port Haywood
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our waterfront retreat is located on a secluded creek of the Chesapeake Bay in charming Mathews County, Va. With over 800 ft. of waterfront and 8 acres of wooded and open space, this Virginia Bed and Breakfast is the perfect place to get away from it all and totally relax. The main Inn is an 1880's newly renovated farmhouse with a separate cottage housing the luxury suites just across the garden and pool. An eco-friendly and certified Virginia Green lodging establishment, The Inn at Tabbs Creek is just the place if you appreciate the natural splendor of the outdoors and want the luxury and comfort of a casual B&B. Embark on a kayak or stand up paddleboard adventure, spend the day cycling the endless level Mathews country roads, or charter a sunset cruise with fresh oysters or fishing charter that leaves straight from our private dock. You can also just relax and recharge your romance with a picnic on a nearby beach, stargazing around the firepit, and watching the sunset in our chlorine free pool with a glass of Virginia Wine. *Winner of 2012 "Green Facility of the Year" from Virginia Tourism Corporation and TripAdvisor's "Certificate of Excellence" and "Green Leader" award, we were also voted "Most Welcoming Bed and Breakfast" in Eastern Virginia by Virginia Living Magazine this year. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotwire and Agoda so you can book your The Inn at Tabbs Creek Waterfront B&B reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Inn At Tabbs Creek Hotel Port Haywood

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing