We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (429)
Filter reviews
429 results
Traveler rating
414
13
2
0
0
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
414
13
2
0
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsfire pitother guestswhite dogthe main housescreened in porchmathews countychesapeake bayfishing geargracious hostswonderful weekendgourmet breakfastrelaxing getawayeach morningeast riverbeautiful roomjacuzzi tubmiddle peninsula
Filter
Updating list...
292 - 297 of 429 reviews
Reviewed October 22, 2012

We were looking for a place close enough to the Williamsburg area, but not your run of the mill hotel--the Inn fit our budget, and exceeded our expectations. The hospitality was above and beyond what we expected. The room was clean, cozy, and very comfortable. The grounds were a wonderful place to wander, or to just experience the outdoors--the sunsets from the dock were amazing. And breakfast--my husband and I were so impressed by our breakfasts, and we did not walk away hungry! I would recommend the Inn to anyone who wants a unique, out of the way, fantastic experience. It is close enough to the Williamsburg area to make that sort of vacation do-able, and yet, we wished we could have simply stayed at the Inn to soak in the beauty of the area. The Inn is perfect for just a break away from the hustle and bustle. The Inn is perfect for something a little romantic. And the Inn is perfect for the more active person. Bottom line: top notch service, top notch food, top notch people! We will most definitely be coming back when we can!

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Teresa T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 21, 2012

Could not have been more impressed with this B&B. From the moment you arrive you feel like you're at home. Secluded from the normal goings on of everyday life, this hidden treasure affords you the opportunity to do as much or as little you want. Charming little shops and non-franchised restaurants are definitley a must visit while staying here. We had a blast fishing off the dock and enjoying the marine life while the sun was up. The evening social of wine and cheese was a great ice breaker to mingle with the other guests. Once the sun went down the fire pit provided a relaxing way to view the night sky littered stars. The food was incredible and definitely not your run-of-the-mill food. Not only would I recommend this to anyone thinking of staying at a bed and breakfast, I can see us going back again and again.

  • Stayed: October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank py1970
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 15, 2012

This place transports you. We came here for three nights to celebrate an anniversary. We also came for nostalgia, as my grandparents had retired nearby, and the visit rekindled many happy memories of visiting them. I hadn't been back in 32 years until this past weekend.

Mathews is at once out-of-the-way yet reasonably accessible from North Carolina, DC, Richmond, and points further. I'm not sure of any other place like it.

The room -- spotless and comfortable (Chesapeake Suite). The breakfasts -- gourmet and plentiful. Surrounded by water on three sides, the setting calms. We spent more time than we expected to watching the birds and jumping fish from chairs on the dock. A ride on the Inn's kayaks provided more nature views.

With plenty of space, you can choose how and when you interact with other guests. Saturday wine and cheese time is great for that, as is the fire pit. The place has an eclectic mix of guests. And Greg and Lori the innkeepers skillfully draw out their connections.

They also did a super job of helping me locate places I used to go and other bits of Mathews' past connected to them.

The dining options have expanded since my grandparents' time here, which is a good thing. Nearby Southwinds, in particular, is worth at least one meal. (We suggest one meal for pizza and another one for an entree). My wife and I have stayed in several bed and breakfasts and other similar lodging experiences, and this is the best all-around. We shall return.

Room Tip: No bad rooms. Rooms in the main house may have better water views. Some have separate sitting areas (Chesapeake and East River). We could not hear anything from the next door room when we stayed in the Chesapeake).
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank khonfarang2000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 8, 2012

We traveled with five other friends. We had a great time at the Inn at Tabbs Creek. The hospitality provided by Lori and Greg was wonderful. The breakfast was superb. We also enjoyed the company of the other guess that were spending the weekend. There was plenty to do if you wanted to do something; swimming, fishing off the dock, canoeing, kayaking, biking, etc. You could also quietly relax in the screened-in porch or lay in the sun by the pool. The accommodations were very clean. We are looking forward to our next stay at the Inn.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank william h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 30, 2012

We had a few very relaxing days at the wonderful Inn at Tabbs Creek. We were on holiday from the UK and heard about the Inn from some friends. The room was wonderful (Chesapeake Suite) and the breakfasts are to die for! All of this along with a warm welcome from the owners contributed to a great stay. We read our books at the end of the jetty and enjoyed the peace and quiet as well as exploring the local area.

Would definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Bryan G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews