We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (428)
Filter reviews
428 results
Traveler rating
414
12
2
0
0
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
414
12
2
0
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsfire pitother guestswhite dogthe main housescreened in porchmathews countychesapeake bayfishing geargracious hostswonderful weekendgourmet breakfastrelaxing getawayeach morningeast riverbeautiful roomjacuzzi tubmiddle peninsula
Filter
Updating list...
293 - 298 of 428 reviews
Reviewed October 15, 2012

This place transports you. We came here for three nights to celebrate an anniversary. We also came for nostalgia, as my grandparents had retired nearby, and the visit rekindled many happy memories of visiting them. I hadn't been back in 32 years until this past weekend.

Mathews is at once out-of-the-way yet reasonably accessible from North Carolina, DC, Richmond, and points further. I'm not sure of any other place like it.

The room -- spotless and comfortable (Chesapeake Suite). The breakfasts -- gourmet and plentiful. Surrounded by water on three sides, the setting calms. We spent more time than we expected to watching the birds and jumping fish from chairs on the dock. A ride on the Inn's kayaks provided more nature views.

With plenty of space, you can choose how and when you interact with other guests. Saturday wine and cheese time is great for that, as is the fire pit. The place has an eclectic mix of guests. And Greg and Lori the innkeepers skillfully draw out their connections.

They also did a super job of helping me locate places I used to go and other bits of Mathews' past connected to them.

The dining options have expanded since my grandparents' time here, which is a good thing. Nearby Southwinds, in particular, is worth at least one meal. (We suggest one meal for pizza and another one for an entree). My wife and I have stayed in several bed and breakfasts and other similar lodging experiences, and this is the best all-around. We shall return.

Room Tip: No bad rooms. Rooms in the main house may have better water views. Some have separate sitting areas (Chesapeake and East River). We could not hear anything from the next door room when we stayed in the Chesapeake).
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank khonfarang2000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 8, 2012

We traveled with five other friends. We had a great time at the Inn at Tabbs Creek. The hospitality provided by Lori and Greg was wonderful. The breakfast was superb. We also enjoyed the company of the other guess that were spending the weekend. There was plenty to do if you wanted to do something; swimming, fishing off the dock, canoeing, kayaking, biking, etc. You could also quietly relax in the screened-in porch or lay in the sun by the pool. The accommodations were very clean. We are looking forward to our next stay at the Inn.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank william h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 30, 2012

We had a few very relaxing days at the wonderful Inn at Tabbs Creek. We were on holiday from the UK and heard about the Inn from some friends. The room was wonderful (Chesapeake Suite) and the breakfasts are to die for! All of this along with a warm welcome from the owners contributed to a great stay. We read our books at the end of the jetty and enjoyed the peace and quiet as well as exploring the local area.

Would definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Bryan G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 27, 2012

My husband and the couple we traveled with were just blown away! The hospitality was great and the atmosphere, just right. We couldn't have had a better time. This was our 1st experience with a b & b and we are glad we picked this gem! We are looking forward to returning soon!! Thank you, Lori and Greg, for a wonderful retreat! La Tanya

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Latanya B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 25, 2012

My wife and I are enjoying just a two night stay at the Inn, at the end of a two week trip visiting family in Canada and near Pittsburgh, and before flying back to the U.K. from Washington tomorrow. The location, rooms, facilities, surroundings, food etc. are excellent, and Lori, Greg and David are wonderful hosts. We travel a lot and rate the Inn extremely highly. There are a wealth of activities and excursions locally and further afield in the Chesapeake Bay area to be sampled. We hope to return for a longer stay in the not too far distant future and will be recommending the Inn to all our friends, colleagues and family.

Room Tip: They are all excellent .
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ighthamboy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews