We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A Great Retreat”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The Inn at Tabbs Creek Waterfront B&B
Ranked #1 of 1 Port Haywood B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Washington DC, District of Columbia
1 review
“A Great Retreat”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 8, 2012

We traveled with five other friends. We had a great time at the Inn at Tabbs Creek. The hospitality provided by Lori and Greg was wonderful. The breakfast was superb. We also enjoyed the company of the other guess that were spending the weekend. There was plenty to do if you wanted to do something; swimming, fishing off the dock, canoeing, kayaking, biking, etc. You could also quietly relax in the screened-in porch or lay in the sun by the pool. The accommodations were very clean. We are looking forward to our next stay at the Inn.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank william h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

382 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    368
    12
    2
    0
    0
See reviews for
24
305
7
9
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (146)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Gloucester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
40 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 30, 2012

We had a few very relaxing days at the wonderful Inn at Tabbs Creek. We were on holiday from the UK and heard about the Inn from some friends. The room was wonderful (Chesapeake Suite) and the breakfasts are to die for! All of this along with a warm welcome from the owners contributed to a great stay. We read our books at the end of the jetty and enjoyed the peace and quiet as well as exploring the local area.

Would definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Bryan G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hampton, Virginia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 27, 2012

My husband and the couple we traveled with were just blown away! The hospitality was great and the atmosphere, just right. We couldn't have had a better time. This was our 1st experience with a b & b and we are glad we picked this gem! We are looking forward to returning soon!! Thank you, Lori and Greg, for a wonderful retreat! La Tanya

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Latanya B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orlando
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 25, 2012

My wife and I are enjoying just a two night stay at the Inn, at the end of a two week trip visiting family in Canada and near Pittsburgh, and before flying back to the U.K. from Washington tomorrow. The location, rooms, facilities, surroundings, food etc. are excellent, and Lori, Greg and David are wonderful hosts. We travel a lot and rate the Inn extremely highly. There are a wealth of activities and excursions locally and further afield in the Chesapeake Bay area to be sampled. We hope to return for a longer stay in the not too far distant future and will be recommending the Inn to all our friends, colleagues and family.

Room Tip: They are all excellent .
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ighthamboy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cary, North Carolina, United States
Level Contributor
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 24, 2012

My wife & I had a great vacation visiting friends and family, but enjoyed a fantastic, peaceful couple of days at The Inn at Tabbs Creek. Greg & Lori were great - very friendly, helpful and down-to-earth folks that were really focused on all of the things that we cared about. If you're looking for a peaceful getaway, this is a great location for that. We were looking for a place on the water with a pool and ended up enjoying our Jacuzzi, canoeing and just hanging out in the sun, enjoying some reading on the dock. The fire pit is great on a cool evening and we found a couple of really nice restaurants to enjoy, including Eckhard's in Topping - great schnitzel all the time, but their specials were outstanding and we'll definitely be going there again next time. Thanks again for having us, Greg & Lori!!!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Robert N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richmond, Virginia
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 23, 2012

This was our third stay at the Inn and it keeps getting better. Lori and Greg and David could not be nicer - they make you feel at home right away. Their breakfasts are incredible - everything is delicious and always fresh. Enjoyed the evening wine and cheese gathering for the first time - so relaxed and again the food was great. We always look forward to going back. We bring our kayaks but they have ones waiting to rent and the bikes are ready to go. Love the option of the pool when it's warm and we enjoy watching the sunset from the dock or the screened porch. Restaurants in town shut down early but there is always take-out and now there is the option of picnic baskets if you don't feel like going anywhere. They have thought of everything!!

Room Tip: All of the rooms are nicely decorated and equiped. We prefer the separate building (no stairs) but...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Barbara92112
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. Denis, Maryland
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 17, 2012

This was our third time at Tabbs Creek. We love the ambiance, the restful and peaceful environment the inn and it's surroundings provide. Lori and Greg are perfect hosts making sure all of their guests needs are met. Lori's brother David is delightful, and went out of his way to provide us with a paper we requested, driving into town to pick it up. Their attention to detail is wonderful. The ample delicious breakfasts are sure to please even the most critical palette. We truly enjoy lodging at The Inn at Tabbs Creek and hope to return soon. We were lucky enough on this stay to partake in two happy hours, one with a scrumptious crab dip, with crabs fresh from the river behind the Inn and another with oysters caught from the river too. We highly recommend a trip to Mathews county and The Inn at Tabbs Creek.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Doreen D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Port Haywood
11.0 mi away
Hampton Inn Gloucester
Hampton Inn Gloucester
#1 of 2 in Gloucester
4.5 of 5 bubbles 336 reviews
10.9 mi away
Quality Inn Gloucester
Quality Inn Gloucester
#2 of 2 in Gloucester
4.0 of 5 bubbles 98 reviews
22.9 mi away
Shore Stay Suites
Shore Stay Suites
#2 of 7 in Cape Charles
4.5 of 5 bubbles 160 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
18.9 mi away
Bay Haven Inn of Cape Charles
Bay Haven Inn of Cape Charles
#1 of 8 in Cape Charles
5.0 of 5 bubbles 248 reviews
19.8 mi away
Hope and Glory Inn
Hope and Glory Inn
#1 of 1 in Irvington
5.0 of 5 bubbles 203 reviews
21.8 mi away
Kingsmill Resort
Kingsmill Resort
#8 of 74 in Williamsburg
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,527 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Inn at Tabbs Creek Waterfront B&B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Inn at Tabbs Creek Waterfront B&B

Property: The Inn at Tabbs Creek Waterfront B&B
Address: 384 Turpin Lane, Port Haywood, VA 23138
Location: United States > Virginia > Port Haywood
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Port Haywood
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our waterfront retreat is located on a secluded creek of the Chesapeake Bay in charming Mathews County, Va. With over 800 ft. of waterfront and 8 acres of wooded and open space, this Virginia Bed and Breakfast is the perfect place to get away from it all and totally relax. The main Inn is an 1880's newly renovated farmhouse with a separate cottage housing the luxury suites just across the garden and pool. An eco-friendly and certified Virginia Green lodging establishment, The Inn at Tabbs Creek is just the place if you appreciate the natural splendor of the outdoors and want the luxury and comfort of a casual B&B. Embark on a kayak or stand up paddleboard adventure, spend the day cycling the endless level Mathews country roads, or charter a sunset cruise with fresh oysters or fishing charter that leaves straight from our private dock. You can also just relax and recharge your romance with a picnic on a nearby beach, stargazing around the firepit, and watching the sunset in our chlorine free pool with a glass of Virginia Wine. *Winner of 2012 "Green Facility of the Year" from Virginia Tourism Corporation and TripAdvisor's "Certificate of Excellence" and "Green Leader" award, we were also voted "Most Welcoming Bed and Breakfast" in Eastern Virginia by Virginia Living Magazine this year. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotwire and Agoda so you can book your The Inn at Tabbs Creek Waterfront B&B reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Inn At Tabbs Creek Hotel Port Haywood

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing