We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“What a find!!!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The Inn at Tabbs Creek Waterfront B&B
Ranked #1 of 1 Port Haywood B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Reviewed September 25, 2012

My wife and I are enjoying just a two night stay at the Inn, at the end of a two week trip visiting family in Canada and near Pittsburgh, and before flying back to the U.K. from Washington tomorrow. The location, rooms, facilities, surroundings, food etc. are excellent, and Lori, Greg and David are wonderful hosts. We travel a lot and rate the Inn extremely highly. There are a wealth of activities and excursions locally and further afield in the Chesapeake Bay area to be sampled. We hope to return for a longer stay in the not too far distant future and will be recommending the Inn to all our friends, colleagues and family.

Room Tip: They are all excellent .
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ighthamboy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (408)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

278 - 284 of 408 reviews

Reviewed September 24, 2012

My wife & I had a great vacation visiting friends and family, but enjoyed a fantastic, peaceful couple of days at The Inn at Tabbs Creek. Greg & Lori were great - very friendly, helpful and down-to-earth folks that were really focused on all of the things that we cared about. If you're looking for a peaceful getaway, this is a great location for that. We were looking for a place on the water with a pool and ended up enjoying our Jacuzzi, canoeing and just hanging out in the sun, enjoying some reading on the dock. The fire pit is great on a cool evening and we found a couple of really nice restaurants to enjoy, including Eckhard's in Topping - great schnitzel all the time, but their specials were outstanding and we'll definitely be going there again next time. Thanks again for having us, Greg & Lori!!!

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Robert N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 23, 2012

This was our third stay at the Inn and it keeps getting better. Lori and Greg and David could not be nicer - they make you feel at home right away. Their breakfasts are incredible - everything is delicious and always fresh. Enjoyed the evening wine and cheese gathering for the first time - so relaxed and again the food was great. We always look forward to going back. We bring our kayaks but they have ones waiting to rent and the bikes are ready to go. Love the option of the pool when it's warm and we enjoy watching the sunset from the dock or the screened porch. Restaurants in town shut down early but there is always take-out and now there is the option of picnic baskets if you don't feel like going anywhere. They have thought of everything!!

Room Tip: All of the rooms are nicely decorated and equiped. We prefer the separate building (no stairs) but...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Barbara92112
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 17, 2012

This was our third time at Tabbs Creek. We love the ambiance, the restful and peaceful environment the inn and it's surroundings provide. Lori and Greg are perfect hosts making sure all of their guests needs are met. Lori's brother David is delightful, and went out of his way to provide us with a paper we requested, driving into town to pick it up. Their attention to detail is wonderful. The ample delicious breakfasts are sure to please even the most critical palette. We truly enjoy lodging at The Inn at Tabbs Creek and hope to return soon. We were lucky enough on this stay to partake in two happy hours, one with a scrumptious crab dip, with crabs fresh from the river behind the Inn and another with oysters caught from the river too. We highly recommend a trip to Mathews county and The Inn at Tabbs Creek.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Doreen D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 17, 2012

I I had a wonderful time of renewal at Tabbs Creek. David greeted me at the door and welcomed me with handshake, smile, and great tour. The Innkeepers, Lori and Greg are unbelievable. Between the grounds and the gourmet breakfasts, they serve and care around the clock. Wonderful and caring people. Breakfasts were unbelievable! Delicate and hearty at the same time. Homemade and they do what they can to use ingredients from their garden, from local farmers and locals. Rates are reasonable and in a way, unbelievable, considering that the creek is a part of the backyard and the sun sets right behind you. The Inn is off the main road. You don't think you are headed in the right direction as you head down the dirt road, but then you take a turn down their driveway and you think you are headed to Heaven. Simply peaceful. I will definitely be returning.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Linda M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 12, 2012

This was such a perfect relaxing weekend. The location was beautiful and the food was delicious. We were lucky enough to be there when they hosted their blue crab and shrimp dinner with barbequed oysters from the creek. We shared wonderful meals along with some really delightful guests including Lori’s Parents. Lori and Greg have truly created a special place to just unwind and tune out the world. Thanks for a memorable weekend. Can't wait to come back.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kdhill117
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 6, 2012

My husband and I were in Mathews County, VA for a family wedding - there were no hotels close to the events of the weekend and thought we would try a B&B. Never having stayed at a B&B we were not quite sure what to expect, but we liked The Inn's website and booked a two-night stay. Our hosts, Lori and Greg, far exceeded or expectations and made our stay enjoyable. Their personal touches throughout the weekend, the beautifully decorated room, the wonderful food and the lovely setting have made us anxious to try other B&B's - though our stay at the Inn has set a very high standard!

Room Tip: Our stay was in the "West Billups" Room in the main house. It was exactly as pictured on...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sally M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to The Inn at Tabbs Creek Waterfront B&B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Inn at Tabbs Creek Waterfront B&B

Address: 384 Turpin Lane, Port Haywood, VA 23138
Location: United States > Virginia > Port Haywood
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Port Haywood
Price Range: $135 - $235 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our waterfront retreat is located on a secluded creek of the Chesapeake Bay in charming Mathews County, Va. With over 800 ft. of waterfront and 8 acres of wooded and open space, this Virginia Bed and Breakfast is the perfect place to get away from it all and totally relax. The main Inn is an 1880's newly renovated farmhouse with a separate cottage housing the luxury suites just across the garden and pool. An eco-friendly and certified Virginia Green lodging establishment, The Inn at Tabbs Creek is just the place if you appreciate the natural splendor of the outdoors and want the luxury and comfort of a casual B&B. Embark on a kayak or stand up paddleboard adventure, spend the day cycling the endless level Mathews country roads, or charter a sunset cruise with fresh oysters or fishing charter that leaves straight from our private dock. You can also just relax and recharge your romance with a picnic on a nearby beach, stargazing around the firepit, and watching the sunset in our chlorine free pool with a glass of Virginia Wine. *Winner of 2012 "Green Facility of the Year" from Virginia Tourism Corporation and TripAdvisor's "Certificate of Excellence" and "Green Leader" award, we were also voted "Most Welcoming Bed and Breakfast" in Eastern Virginia by Virginia Living Magazine this year. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotwire so you can book your The Inn at Tabbs Creek Waterfront B&B reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Inn At Tabbs Creek Hotel Port Haywood

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing