We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Amazing getaway”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The Inn at Tabbs Creek Waterfront B&B
Ranked #1 of 1 Port Haywood B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Rockville, Maryland
1 review
“Amazing getaway”
Reviewed September 20, 2011

Just a few hours from Washington DC, this B&B is tucked away off the main road in Matthews, VA, and has to be one of the best hidden gems on the Chesapeake. Turning off the main road and up the main driveway you're greeted by a grand country house in the distance with a long driveway lined by large mature evergreens. The house has several bedrooms, but we decided to stay in the side building in the "East River Suite." We were greeted by Greg and Lori who are very welcoming and friendly. The room was fantastic and the view from our bedroom window was a beautiful private view of the creek and a large mature fig tree. The breakfasts were amazing, and Greg and Lori were more than willing to share the recipes. The baked egg with roasted red pepper sauce and lump crab meat was particularly amazing. My wife and I had a great time taking the kayaks out on the creek to the mouth of the bay. Greg and Lori also participate in the oyster revitalization project in the Chesapeake. We actually collected some mature oysters right on the edge of the water that were served at Saturday’s wine and cheese night both on the half shell and smoked on the grill. The crab pots on the dock and the fishing poles were also put to good use and provided fresh crab and some good fishing action catching spots and croakers. All and all, we couldn't have had a better time, the grounds are absolutely beautiful, Greg and Lori are amazing, and you can spend hours relaxing on the screened porch or out on the dock or head out on the creek with the kayaks or canoe, and even head into town or over to the beach on the bay. We would recommend this B&B to anyone and can't wait to go back again soon.

Room Tip: In the House or in the side building, you won't be disappointed, the rooms are all beautiful and...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dan I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

386 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    372
    12
    2
    0
    0
See reviews for
24
308
7
9
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (149)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Annapolis
Level Contributor
16 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed September 12, 2011

Very relaxing and quiet get-away. The inn keepers are wonderful and catered to our every needs. This place was perfect - pier for fishing or morning coffee, pool, kayaks available to rent, garden, great breakfast.

Room Tip: Best view of water and pier - upper floor main house. Quiet rooms - garden suite and smaller rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank shadowbox
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Durham, North Carolina
1 review
Reviewed September 6, 2011

This review is copied from my review at bedandbreafast.com:

I've never been to a bed and breakfast before - after staying at The Inn at Tabbs Creek I feel like it is going to be hard to live up to my expectations for any future B and Bs that I book. Here are my reasons:

1. Greg and Lori are extremely nice, attentive hosts, and awesome people all around (they prepared a crab/shrimp/chicken feast with crab they caught right off their dock on Sat. night).
2. Location. Kayak right off their dock or drive 10 min to a very secluded beach. Great natural surroundings.
3. The house. It's beautiful.
4. The food. Every morning breakfast was better than the day before.
5. The other people - ranging from mid twenties to probably fifty years old, it was a nice mix and I enjoyed meeting everyone.

Hope this helps while you look at reviews - definitely can't go wrong here.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Danny O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed August 15, 2011

This place is perfect for a quiet week-end getaway. The rooms are renovated, modern and very clean but the whole place still feels very charming and cozy. The owners are lovely and make you feel very much at home. The property is beautiful (gorgeous gardens, relaxing pool, and easy access to the creek). Definitely want to come back and stay longer!

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PhillandTanya
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hoylake, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
161 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
Reviewed July 29, 2011

We loved our stay. The owner/ managers, Lori and Greg and the location by the water make this an enviable destination. Although it is somewhat off the beaten track it is worth staying for a couple of days to unwind and enjoy the simple treats offered. Having direct access to the water is a huge advantage. We had enormous fun with stand- up paddle and kayaking - all equipment available for rent on site. We had arranged a tour of the area by boat with a knowledgeable and charming local captain - an invaluable experience. My only con is not the fault of the Inn but the area - it is a culinary desert. Greg's breakfasts, often sourced from his garden, are really special and both he and Lori are 'foodies' - so hopefully there may be some development here!

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank misticana
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
East Coast
Level Contributor
24 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed June 13, 2011

At the end of a long drive and located on a point of land surrounded by water. Hummingbirds, swifts, herons to be seen, either by sitting on the dock, by the pool or floating in a kayak or canoe.
Beautiful rooms in the main house with en suite baths and 2 luxurious rooms in the separate building, each with a whirlpool tub.
This isn't a place for kids under 14 but a great place for a romantic and/or peaceful getaway in a lovely part of the world.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Argon321
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richmond, Virginia
1 review
Reviewed May 31, 2011

Thanks for a lovely stay at the Inn at Tabbs Creek. It was serene and relaxing and we loved learning about organic gardening! The food was excellent, and the innkeepers friendly and helpful. I hope to be back again soon to stay for a longer period!

Room Tip: We stayed in the Tabbs Room, small but nice.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tdiservio7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Port Haywood
11.0 mi away
Hampton Inn Gloucester
Hampton Inn Gloucester
#1 of 2 in Gloucester
4.5 of 5 bubbles 347 reviews
10.9 mi away
Quality Inn Gloucester
Quality Inn Gloucester
#2 of 2 in Gloucester
4.0 of 5 bubbles 99 reviews
22.9 mi away
Shore Stay Suites
Shore Stay Suites
#2 of 7 in Cape Charles
4.5 of 5 bubbles 164 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
18.9 mi away
Bay Haven Inn of Cape Charles
Bay Haven Inn of Cape Charles
#1 of 9 in Cape Charles
5.0 of 5 bubbles 255 reviews
19.8 mi away
Hope and Glory Inn
Hope and Glory Inn
#1 of 1 in Irvington
5.0 of 5 bubbles 204 reviews
21.8 mi away
Kingsmill Resort
Kingsmill Resort
#7 of 74 in Williamsburg
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,555 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Inn at Tabbs Creek Waterfront B&B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Inn at Tabbs Creek Waterfront B&B

Property: The Inn at Tabbs Creek Waterfront B&B
Address: 384 Turpin Lane, Port Haywood, VA 23138
Location: United States > Virginia > Port Haywood
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Port Haywood
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our waterfront retreat is located on a secluded creek of the Chesapeake Bay in charming Mathews County, Va. With over 800 ft. of waterfront and 8 acres of wooded and open space, this Virginia Bed and Breakfast is the perfect place to get away from it all and totally relax. The main Inn is an 1880's newly renovated farmhouse with a separate cottage housing the luxury suites just across the garden and pool. An eco-friendly and certified Virginia Green lodging establishment, The Inn at Tabbs Creek is just the place if you appreciate the natural splendor of the outdoors and want the luxury and comfort of a casual B&B. Embark on a kayak or stand up paddleboard adventure, spend the day cycling the endless level Mathews country roads, or charter a sunset cruise with fresh oysters or fishing charter that leaves straight from our private dock. You can also just relax and recharge your romance with a picnic on a nearby beach, stargazing around the firepit, and watching the sunset in our chlorine free pool with a glass of Virginia Wine. *Winner of 2012 "Green Facility of the Year" from Virginia Tourism Corporation and TripAdvisor's "Certificate of Excellence" and "Green Leader" award, we were also voted "Most Welcoming Bed and Breakfast" in Eastern Virginia by Virginia Living Magazine this year. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotwire so you can book your The Inn at Tabbs Creek Waterfront B&B reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Inn At Tabbs Creek Hotel Port Haywood

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing