We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Amazing and beautful - very warm welcoming service as well!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Inn at Tabbs Creek Waterfront B&B

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The Inn at Tabbs Creek Waterfront B&B
Ranked #1 of 1 Port Haywood B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Hampton, Virginia
2 reviews
“Amazing and beautful - very warm welcoming service as well!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 26, 2011

There is so much to stay about this place - we stayed in the Chesapeake Suite - and it was AMAZING! The view and room was beautiful!! My technology dependent husband was completely satisfied as well, and that says something! We were greeted warmly upon arrival, shown around, and then got settled in our room. After that - we went canoeing, went for a swim in their pool and laid out, went inside and relaxed in the whirlpool, and then grabbed dinner. It was so relaxing, I couldnt get over the quiet beautiful area! Will definately be staying at again - oh, we also opted for the continental breakfast to be delivered to our room...mmmmmmmmmmm, the granola was so good!! Thanks again!

Room Tip: Chesapeake Suite!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank miscavi04
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

382 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    367
    12
    2
    0
    1
See reviews for
24
305
7
9
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (147)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Union, NJw Jersey, USA
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 22, 2011

My wife and I decided to visit The Inn at Tabbs Creek to celebrate our 5th wedding anniversary. We are so happy we did! We checked into the inn very late at night so we couldn't see the grounds very well, but the next morning we awoke to a beautiful view of the water from our room. We stayed in the Captain's Room which has an amazing view overlooking the bay and the dock. Although we only stayed at the inn for 2 days, I cannot find anything negative to say about The Inn at Tabbs Creek. Our room was very comfortably appointed, the food was delicious, the other guests were friendly, and the innkeepers Greg and Lori were extraordinary. We wanted a peaceful and relaxing retreat, and that's exactly what we got. No noisy cars or loud music...just the inn and mother nature. You really get a feeling of being "away from it all" when you're here, yet Greg and Lori have created a place that feels like home. They leave the entire main house for you to enjoy. You can hang out and read in the library, grab something cold to drink in the fridge, etc. They also have an adorable cat who roams the premises named Chai who is super friendly. My wife and I had a great time staying at The Inn at Tabbs
Creek, and the only regret we have is that our stay was so short. We highly recommend the inn and can't wait to return!

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank 2NYCE
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
fairfax
Level Contributor
27 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 2, 2011

The Inn at Tabbs Creek is a charming and relaxing place! We spend a wonderful weekend enjoying the Inn and the local area. Our room was very comfortable, private and spotlessly clean. You'd be hard pressed to find a nicer location, right on the water, with incredible views, especially at sunset- absolutely breathtaking. Gourmet breakfasts prepared with farm fresh products...cant' say enough about the wonderful food and hospitality of the hosts. The inn keepers are gracious and friendly but give their guests lots of space. They helped with all kinds of great information for the local area which we really enjoyed. I'd highly recommend the Inn at Tabbs Creek if you are looking for a relaxed time at a beautiful location with friendly hosts!! I know we'll be back!

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Afsaneh T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Williamsburg, Virginia
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 27, 2011

This is our fourth stay at the Inn at Tabb's Creek in two years. We were among Greg and Lori's first guests and had sush a wonderful time that we came back and filled the Inn with a bunch f friends for a bicycling weekend. Each visit has been better than the last. Gerg and Lori are gracious hosts whose enthusiasm and wonderful, warm personalities make you feel very special yet very much at home. In spite of less than ideal weather - a little cool on Friday and Saturday and rain/snow on Sunday - all of the guests had a wonderfuls time. In spite of it being a very diverse group, the Saturday night wine and cheese get together was such a success that it was difficult to leave for dinner. The rooms are extremely comfortable, clean, well decorated and well appointed. The setting on the creek is spectacular and while we were there Greg unliaded four new kayaks that are available for rent. Wew ill be back in May for the annual Tour de Chesapeake bicycle event. That will make five stayes in two years.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank bikerted
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Annapolis, Maryland
Level Contributor
99 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 14, 2011

I stayed in the Chesapeake Suite. It was very tastefull decorated, big jacuzzi tub, king size bed, beautiful tile in the shower. The innkeepers are very accomdating. No TV's, which I liked. They do have a portable DVD player in every room with a library of movies to choose from. Quiet and peaceful. Waterfront views are very pretty. Breakfast was delicious. Would also highly recommend the White Dog Inn for dinner in nearby Mathews.
Perfect for a couple just wanting to get away for the weekend. You'll love it!

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank LaurieLeitner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Utah
Level Contributor
10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 19, 2011

Once again, a great stay at Tabb's Creek. Greg and Lori have to be the most hospitable and excellent innkeepers ever! I stayed in January this time and it was perfect. Winter is actually a very good time to go there. It's peaceful and beautiful, but not too cold. The rooms are so cozy and the beds to die for. I'll be back!

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank happytrailsutah
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richmond, Va
Level Contributor
11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 3, 2011

I HIGHLY recommend the Inn at Tabb's Creek to anyone and everyone. The atmosphere is absolutely wonderful. Innkeepers Greg and Lori have truly perfected the art of hosting. They're available whenever you need them yet they're not overwhelming or overpowering like some B&B hosts I've come across. They've got it just right.

The grounds are absolutely gorgeous. The wildlife in the area is fabulous, the food is DELICIOUS and the rooms are everything you need them to be.

There are tons of outdoor activities available in the area but this place is divine for water sports....particularly kayaking, canoeing, boating and our favorite...stand up paddle-boarding.

Greg and Lori are Stand Up Paddle enthusiasts as well and have two boards that they can rent out to guests.

Everything about this place is welcoming and relaxing.

We've stayed here two times now, once in late spring and once this winter. Both visits were amazing.

We've found paradise right here in Virginia.

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank islebutterfly79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Port Haywood
11.0 mi away
Hampton Inn Gloucester
Hampton Inn Gloucester
#1 of 2 in Gloucester
4.5 of 5 bubbles 331 reviews
11.0 mi away
Quality Inn Gloucester
Quality Inn Gloucester
#2 of 2 in Gloucester
4.0 of 5 bubbles 98 reviews
18.9 mi away
Bay Haven Inn of Cape Charles
Bay Haven Inn of Cape Charles
#1 of 8 in Cape Charles
5.0 of 5 bubbles 242 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
19.8 mi away
Hope and Glory Inn
Hope and Glory Inn
#1 of 1 in Irvington
5.0 of 5 bubbles 203 reviews
14.6 mi away
Marl Inn Bed and Breakfast
22.1 mi away
Kingsmill Resort
Kingsmill Resort
#8 of 75 in Williamsburg
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,509 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Inn at Tabbs Creek Waterfront B&B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Inn at Tabbs Creek Waterfront B&B

Property: The Inn at Tabbs Creek Waterfront B&B
Address: 384 Turpin Lane, Port Haywood, VA 23138
Location: United States > Virginia > Port Haywood
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Port Haywood
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our waterfront retreat is located on a secluded creek of the Chesapeake Bay in charming Mathews County, Va. With over 800 ft. of waterfront and 8 acres of wooded and open space, this Virginia Bed and Breakfast is the perfect place to get away from it all and totally relax. The main Inn is an 1880's newly renovated farmhouse with a separate cottage housing the luxury suites just across the garden and pool. An eco-friendly and certified Virginia Green lodging establishment, The Inn at Tabbs Creek is just the place if you appreciate the natural splendor of the outdoors and want the luxury and comfort of a casual B&B. Embark on a kayak or stand up paddleboard adventure, spend the day cycling the endless level Mathews country roads, or charter a sunset cruise with fresh oysters or fishing charter that leaves straight from our private dock. You can also just relax and recharge your romance with a picnic on a nearby beach, stargazing around the firepit, and watching the sunset in our chlorine free pool with a glass of Virginia Wine. *Winner of 2012 "Green Facility of the Year" from Virginia Tourism Corporation and TripAdvisor's "Certificate of Excellence" and "Green Leader" award, we were also voted "Most Welcoming Bed and Breakfast" in Eastern Virginia by Virginia Living Magazine this year. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda so you can book your The Inn at Tabbs Creek Waterfront B&B reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Inn At Tabbs Creek Hotel Port Haywood

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing