We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely place, but a few things lacking”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Mountain Lake Lodge
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Pembroke
Certificate of Excellence
Forest, Virginia
Level 4 Contributor
42 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Lovely place, but a few things lacking”
Reviewed April 18, 2014

Having lived in Virginia my entire life, there are few places in our beautiful state that I have not visited. Mountain Lake was one of those few, so my husband and I decided to go up for a night during spring break. Overall, we had a wonderful time, and the hotel (Stone Lodge) is beautiful, but there are a few things the average visitor should be aware of before booking. The rooms are tiny! Not really a problem for us, but a couple with a child or two would be very crowded. Our room was hot! This was not a summer visit, but a late April one in which the outside temperature hovered in the 40's. Even after adjusting the thermostat, the room never cooled down enough for comfortable sleeping. We tried to open the interior shutters for some light, but the whole frame pulled out of the wall when we tried (very scary!) No TV in the room was a bit of a disappointment as we would have liked to watch some news at least, but we were pleasantly surprised to find wireless internet available. The biggest disappointment was the Harvest restaurant. While the our dinner was delicious, it cost as much as we paid for one night's lodging, and was a bit too fancy and unusual for our tastes. (Who in the world puts onions in sweet potatoes?) The dinners were pre-selected - you did not have any choices of sides and the menu did not explain well what was included. We were informed on Thursday night that Friday's breakfast would be served until 10 AM, so we arrived around 9:20 only to discover that they actually stop serving breakfast on Fridays at 9 AM. The lake is sad, but certainly not the fault of the staff, as I understand that geologic fluctuations are part of nature. Still, I would love to go back when the lake is actually full. I have read on other reviews that they are expecting it to reach 2/3 capacity by summer 2014, but I don't see that happening as it is just a puddle in April 2014. I don't regret going - it was an interesting couple of days.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank retchemteach
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Heidi S, General Manager at Mountain Lake Lodge, responded to this review, April 24, 2014
Smulkearns,


Thank you for taking the time to visit historic Mountain Lake Lodge! I am very glad to hear that overall you did have a wonderful time. I am guessing from your comment about having a "tiny" room that perhaps you had accommodations in a Southside room of the Main Lodge. Those rooms are considerably smaller than the rest of the hotel and other lodging on property. My apologies that it was not made clear at the time you made your reservations. I am disappointed to hear that you did not enjoy the menu in Harvest. The hotel's main dining is meant to be a very relaxed atmosphere with culinary offerings that are the "farm to table". In the height of the summer, about 80% of the Chef Michael's menu is coming from local farms. The food in Harvest is to be fresh, simply prepared food that delights our guests!

We are still monitoring the Lake and are pleased that it is holding - it did not go dry this past fall like it has in so many years prior! We are starting off the summer with more water in the lake than we have had in years! We are still very hopeful that we will one day have the full lake back! We must let nature take its course. We still have millions of gallons of water going into the lake daily!

Please let me know when you have a chance to come back and visit us! I would love to meet you. Best of luck with all of your travels!

Kind Regards,

Heidi Stone
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

349 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    132
    124
    62
    16
    15
See reviews for
118
144
8
12
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (96)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level 4 Contributor
37 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed April 18, 2014 via mobile

We only had an overnight at the lodge the Thursday before Easter. We arrived around 4 pm and checked into our room in the main lodge. Room was nice with poster beds. The property is beautiful and will be even more beautiful when the trees become more green. We explored the property with the kids. They a have a game room that the kids enjoyed, although could probably be updated a bit and reorganized. A bit cramped when several families arrived. No enough room to play pool etc.

They also had outdoor activities, bocce, giant chess, playground so plenty of activities for kids.

This was apparently to be their first big weekend of the season so Friday evening a little chaotic in terms of service between the tavern and restaurant. It seemed they didn't have enough staff on between the restaurant and bar so there was a lot of running around and rushing around. All that said, we hung out in the tavern and enjoyed some local beer and ordered some appetizers fro dinner which were fairly good. kids entertained themselves with a game of checkers.

They lit a bonfire but was left unattended so we had to get it going again. They offered s'mores packets. A nice gentleman ran to the kitchen to get us a packet but neglected to realized that the marshmallows were hard as rocks. I went back. and they gladly gave us fresh ones.

We would definitely go back for a long weekend with the kids they really enjoyed it...even though no TV in our room ( we were happy!).

I think the staff have to work out a few things in terms of staffing as they season begins.

We didn't have time to go on a hike but the overviews looked great.

Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
Helpful?
2 Thank Kfpainemilla
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Heidi S, General Manager at Mountain Lake Lodge, responded to this review, April 24, 2014
Kfpainemilla,

Thank you for visiting Mountain Lake Lodge! We sincerely appreciate your feedback about the game room and restaurant/tavern. Our Friday night seafood buffet has gained popularity through the winter months and on the evening you with us we had a significant increase of those that decided to dine with us! Many did not make reservations that evening and I do apologize that the environment seemed chaotic. The seafood buffet on Friday night is just a winter offering and will begin again late in the Fall. I'm glad that overall you enjoyed your stay. Please come back and visit us again this summer. The entire property is beautiful all year, but the summer season is simply gorgeous! I look forward to meeting you!

Best, Heidi Stone
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Virginia
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed March 31, 2014

Definitely we will return as this is a truly a lovely, unique, and relaxing location with friendly folk who want to provide good service, and I encourage others to stay here. All of the staff was helpful whenever anything was requested. Of course, we were here this past weekend during what is basically the off season, with what appears to be minimal staff on hand, plus rainy, foggy, and finally snowy weather!! Our room in the Dorland cabin was large and the fireplace was wonderful. Bathroom exhaust fan needs to be serviced. Again, I am guessing because of the Winter weather, the grounds were not as well maintained as one would hope for (some trash on the grounds and little effort to keep porches and sidewalks swept).
But, the main drawback that management at the hotel really must do something about is the food. Perhaps the kitchen is located a long distance from the dining room, but on every occasion, the food was delivered cool to cold and the time between asking for a coffee refill or any other request took a long time. Again, always with a warm smile, but never quite what one would expect for the prices. Little things could make a big difference at little cost to the hotel….. such as having the coffee service in the dining room instead of back in the kitchen. Cutting down the number of selections on the menu and concentrating on just a handful of really well prepared, tasty “signature” dishes that would be served warm to hot would be good. Breakfast had no healthy selections except for one fruit selection. No low fat options such as yogurt or cottage cheese. The biscuits were a nightmare...someone's grandmother needs to be hired to prepare fluffy, country biscuits, not the misshaped hockey pucks that were offered. Again, cold bacon, cold eggs, lukewarm coffee. I really think that just simplifying the menu would make life better for the staff and the guests. Keep in mind that unless you bring in your own supplies, there is no other source of food except during the set mealtimes. Traveling the 7 – 10 miles down the mountain to a store or other restaurant is not a desirable option, especially during the Winter.
Maybe during the Spring – Fall “high season” things are better???

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank DH1and2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Heidi S, General Manager at Mountain Lake Lodge, responded to this review, April 6, 2014
DH 1 and 2,

Thanks so much for visiting us this winter! This was our first winter season being open, and yes, we have learned a few things this first season. Thank you for your feedback and suggestions for improvement. I will let you know that this weekend was our first scheduled "spring" grounds cleaning day! We literally have just had all of the snow melt and are able now to get ready for summer. One of the most exciting renovation projects earlier this month was installing a new state-of-the-art kitchen! On behalf of Chef Michael and myself, we sincerely apologize for the food experience you had while on property. We have already corrected the issues that you experienced and we are getting ready for a huge summer season with lots of dining options on the mountain.
We look forward to seeing you this summer! Please let me know personally when you will be visiting!

Best, Heidi

General Manager
Mountain Lake Lodge
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mount Airy, Maryland
Level 3 Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed March 24, 2014

We arrived late Friday night and were warmly welcomed by the front desk staff. Our room was on the main level of the lodge Rm 109. Our view was in the back of the lodge, not much to look at other than a hill and the entrance for registration. We were a little surprised by the size of the room, but once we were there it was more than enough. There was no television in our room, but there is free wifi, which we used to watch Dirty Dancing for the millionth time on Netflix. :) The lodge was not too busy, which made us feel like we were the only ones there. Since we arrived late and there is no close convenience store we were hungry for a snack. We were not able to find a vending machine ( it was 11:30 at night) but the lady behind the bar offered us goldfish snacks with a bowl! We were very grateful and returned the bowl the next morning. We late found several vending machines with snacks and sodas. Breakfast was wonderful, we had the Mountain breakfast, a lot of food but very good. After breakfast we walked around the resort getting an ideas of where everything was. We checked out the gameroom in the barn, and Outfitter ( which is where you sign up for daily activities or rent equipment such as bikes, disc golf supplies and archery equipment) They helped us find a hiking trail that we really enjoyed, we chose the Indian Trail which is 1.4 miles around the lake. Oh yeah, the lake is much smaller than it once was. We enjoyed a wonderful lunch looking out the big windows over the front lawn. There is a fitness center and sauna that we used. You will find many cozy nooks on the main level of the lodge with big comfy chairs and couches. The third floor has a tv lounge, you kind of have to wander to find it. There are so many interesting photographs hanging in the hallways, take time to look and learn the history of the lodge! The whole staff here was just amazing, they go above and beyond to make you feel at home. You can request to have a fire started in the fire pit out in the front lawn, we spend several hours by the fire one night and gazing up at the star. We had brunch on Sunday after checking out, which starts at 11:30. It is a good idea, but most of the items were cold. The best thing was the fresh made waffles and real maple syrup, which I added whip cream and strawberries to, Yum! The pool and hot tub were closed. I would have enjoyed having use of the hot tub, but it is off season for them. Take your time and explore all the locations marked where scenes of Dirty Dancing was filmed. Overall really great time, and great staff! Would love to return in the summer and rent one of the cabins for a week and try all the activities.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Crystal3Johnson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Heidi S, General Manager at Mountain Lake Lodge, responded to this review, March 25, 2014
Dear Crystal3Johnson,

Thanks so much for your comments about your recent stay at Mountain Lake Lodge. We sincerely appreciate knowing about your experience and our staff will make improvements based on your feedback. Currently, the lodge is open Thursday - Sunday (winter hours). On May 1st, everything will be open and ready for the summer season. At that time, our new Outfitters Welcome Center will have available the "snacks" you were looking for upon arrival. I am sorry to hear that you were unable to find something to eat after for 11:30pm check-in. Our chef will remedy this with preparing some morsels of goodness ahead of time and having them available for those that need to arrive after the Tavern and Harvest have closed for the eventing.

Thanks again for your comments and feedback, We sincerely appreciate it and look forward to welcoming you back with summer!

Best,
Heidi Stone
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Trieste, Italy
Level 6 Contributor
265 reviews
54 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 93 helpful votes
Reviewed March 23, 2014

The place is simply gorgeous, the view on the lake at sunset very romantic.
The bar had live music and good beer, so we decided to stay for dinner.
The staff is friendly, the price not too expensive, the room really nice.
I cannot tell you about the bison or the salmon, but the vegetarian choice was very limited (just one main) and not very interesting.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank eballix
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Heidi S, General Manager at Mountain Lake Lodge, responded to this review, March 25, 2014
Dear eballix,

Thanks so much for your comments about how much your enjoyed your stay! Yes, we agree that Mountain Lake Lodge is simply beautiful place! We look forward to welcoming you back!

Best,

Heidi Stone
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Providence Forge, Virginia
Level 6 Contributor
207 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
Reviewed February 15, 2014

We booked the Valentines Weekend Special, The weather turned out to be hideous especially the access road Rte 700 was terrible. The weather was not the lodges fault but their care of the roads on the premises was terrible and severely lacking. We left a day early so we wouldn't get snowed in. Our room in the lodge was clean and comfortable but the bathroom was freezing and there was no heat other than what came from the room. Walking on the grounds was bad, very slick and icy. The barn where the Valentines dance was held was cold and the path about 150 yds from the lodge was slippery and could have been cleaned better. Its probably nice in the spring, summer and fall but not in the winter

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank richiepug
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Virginia
Level 3 Contributor
2 reviews
Reviewed February 14, 2014

I had the "Time of my Life" at Mountain Lake Lodge. If you love the movie Dirty Dancing and LOVE the late Patrick Swayze like I did..... you will LOVE this Lodge. Over 1/2 of the movie was filmed here and the actors/actresses stayed in the Lodge while filming in 1986/1987. We were celebrating our 20th Anniversary as well as the Lodge was celebrating the 20th year of the movie and was having a Dirty Dancing weekend special. Although we went in November, it was very nostalgic and brought me right back to when I first watched the movie. Included was full breakfasts, lunches, and dinners along with nightly dances and Ballroom dance lessons... needless to say I was in heaven the entire 3 days and had the "Time of my Life"

Room Tip: Ask to stay in the Patrick Swayze room...it's in the main Lodge (if you're a Fan like me). i...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank michelleDaytona
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Pembroke
11.1 mi away
Main Street Inn
Main Street Inn
#6 of 10 in Blacksburg
217 reviews
10.3 mi away
Hyatt Place Blacksburg/University
10.5 mi away
The Inn at Virginia Tech & Skelton Conference Center
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10.4 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Blacksburg
Hilton Garden Inn Blacksburg
#3 of 10 in Blacksburg
671 reviews
13.8 mi away
Comfort Inn Blacksburg
Comfort Inn Blacksburg
#8 of 10 in Blacksburg
212 reviews
10.2 mi away
Holiday Inn Express & Suites Blacksburg - University Area
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mountain Lake Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mountain Lake Lodge

Property: Mountain Lake Lodge
Address: 115 Hotel Cir, Pembroke, VA 24136-3055 (Formerly Mountain Lake Hotel)
Location: United States > Virginia > Pembroke
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Pembroke
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Mountain Lake Lodge 3.5*
Number of rooms: 100
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The newly renovated historic Mountain Lake Lodge features 43 Rooms in the Stone Lodge, 16 in Chestnut Lodge, 9 Mountain Homes at Blueberry Ridge, 8 historic rustic cabins and 9 Front Lawn Cottages on 2,600 acres of preserved mountaintop property owned by the Mary Moody Northern Endowment. Mountain Lake Conservancy, a non-profit organization founded in 1989, serves to protect the land and wildlife resources on the property for future generations. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, TravelClick, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotwire and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Mountain Lake Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mountain Lake Pembroke
Hotel Mountain Lake

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing