We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Enjoyable experience”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Inn at Riverbend

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Inn at Riverbend
Ranked #1 of 2 Pearisburg B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
34 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Enjoyable experience”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 9, 2012

Stayed for two days at the Inn, enjoying the highest of quality in terms of the facility, breathtaking views, delicious breakfasts, caring hospitality by Janet and Jimm, and their recommendations for restaurants and activities in the area.

Room Tip: All the rooms have good features.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank gpp_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jimm B, Owner at Inn at Riverbend, responded to this review, September 24, 2012
Thanks for coming to visit the New River Valley of Virginia. It is a beautiful sight to see it meander through the surrounding Appalachian Mountains, especially while eating breakfast with the sun rising over the mountains. We are happy that you liked our restaurant recommendations. We feel pretty lucky to have such choices in a relatively remote area.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

216 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    193
    15
    2
    4
    2
See reviews for
11
169
7
9
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (62)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Athens, Georgia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 9, 2012

Stopped at the Inn at Riverbend on the return trip from taking our youngest to college and it was a perfect retreat. It doesn't get better than sitting on that deck: at night under stars, in the morning with coffee or in the afternoon with tea and a book. Oh, and at sunset too.

Owners are great - cook a delicious breakfast. And they are very knowledgeable about the area and have lots of information to explore. Lots of hiking available, which was what we were most interested in.

Room Tip: There's not a bad one upstairs or down - all have fabulous views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank lsinyard
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arlington, Virginia
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 31, 2012

I stayed 2 nights at Inn at Riverbend and wish I'd booked for 2 nights more. Something tells me that, no matter how long I stayed, I would leave wanting to stay longer. The views from the guest rooms are spectacular, and the mist over the river and the ridges made for a great photo op in the early morning. Jimm and Janet are warm, wonderful, welcoming hosts who made me feel that I was a visitor in their home, not just a guest at their inn. They made sure I had everything I needed without hovering. The food was delicious and plentiful (but any more of Janet's cowboy cookies and I would have had to walk home)! And the Comphy sheets were amazing! My only question is: how soon can I return?

Room Tip: "Sugar Run" room is lovely! All the rooms have great views. with great views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GibsonGirl48
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jimm B, Owner at Inn at Riverbend, responded to this review, September 1, 2012
Thank you for your time in giving us such a wonderful review. We appreciate that you came and visited with us for a few nights and were able to enjoy the vistas of the Appalachian Mountains and the New River from the comfort of our decks. We appreciate even more that you like Janet's cookies! Comphy sheets certainly are the way to go!! Return any time.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St Helens, UK
Level Contributor
14 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 15, 2012

Everything about this Inn is outstanding. The view from the balcony is breathtaking, so we abandoned our plans to hike in the mountains and just spent our time chilling out with the view in the background. The rooms are very comfortable and kept spotlessly clean. The Inn is very tastefully decorated and obviously a lot of thought has gone into those small details that can make such a difference. The breakfasts were delicious, and we had a fantastic dinner one evening at the Inn. The hosts, Jimm and Janet, could not have been more welcoming or helpful. In particular they went to great lengths to satisfy my particular dietary requirements. Our only disappointment was that we couldn't stay longer! Many thanks to Jimm and Janet for helping to make our stay in Virginia so memorable. Just perfect!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JimmyShand
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Virginia
Level Contributor
13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 4, 2012

We came to Pearisburg to explore the New River and The Inn at Riverbend was a wonderful place to come home to. Jimm and Janet are wonderful hosts who make you feel welcome but who are not intrusive in any way. The view is even better than their website makes it look and the rooms are beautiful and luxurious. The Inn is situated in a quite neighborhood of large homes on large lots and it is only a few minutes drive to the major highway. Breakfast was delicious, there are sodas, hot water for tea/coffee, iced tea always available and cookies. We couldn't have asked for anything more. If you are a light sleeper (as I am) you will hear the train whistles at night (my husband didn't hear them) but I loved it so much I hope to stay there again.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank csotwoVirginia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JimmBurton, Owner at Inn at Riverbend, responded to this review, August 11, 2012
Thanks for your wonderful note. We are glad that the trains didn't disturb you. They do add a nice note - especially on a night when there is fog in the valley and you can just barely see the trains light exploring the night, leading it to far away places.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rocky Mount, North Carolina
Level Contributor
4 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 26, 2012

The Inn at Riverbend is a great find! We were only abel to stay one night, but the views from the deck and the breakfast were incredible. Jimm and Janet are wonderful hosts and made us feel very welcome and relaxed. We wish we could have stayed longer.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TravelinRon7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JimmBurton, Manager at Inn at Riverbend, responded to this review, August 11, 2012
Ron - Thank you so much for appreciating the breakfast and the deck. Janet does make some wonderful things. We can't take credit for the views, a 300 million year old river took care of that, but we can provide a comfortable spot to appreciate them. Come back a visit any time.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Columbus, IN
Level Contributor
31 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 18, 2012

My husband and I found the Inn to be a wonderful relaxing place to spend a couple of days away from it all. We are avid cyclists and Jimm was extremely helpful in directing us to a challenging ride. The rooms were roomy and luxurious. The microfiber sheets were amazing. There were so many places to sit and relax inside and outside the Inn. The breakfasts were fabulous. You can't imagine the views from this Inn. The photos on the website are amazing but do not do the views justice. We felt right at home.

Room Tip: We stayd downstairs which I think is more private, but all rooms have a gorgeous view and access to...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sukiyaki03
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JimmBurton, Owner at Inn at Riverbend, responded to this review, July 20, 2012
Giles County is a great place to ride! It is nice that you didn't complain about the first part of your ride as it does have a bit of a climb. It is a beautiful valley to ride after that though. Thank you for your visit. We hope to see you return for another ride (maybe on the river?).
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Pearisburg
8.6 mi away
Mountain Lake Lodge
Mountain Lake Lodge
#1 of 1 in Pembroke
4.0 of 5 bubbles 324 reviews
15.4 mi away
The Inn at Virginia Tech & Skelton Conference Center
19.7 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Princeton
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
20.4 mi away
Hampton Inn Princeton
Hampton Inn Princeton
#2 of 15 in Princeton
4.5 of 5 bubbles 517 reviews
20.4 mi away
Sleep Inn & Suites
Sleep Inn & Suites
#3 of 15 in Princeton
4.0 of 5 bubbles 247 reviews
20.2 mi away
The Oaks Victorian Inn
The Oaks Victorian Inn
#1 of 6 in Christiansburg
5.0 of 5 bubbles 213 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Inn at Riverbend? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Inn at Riverbend

Property: Inn at Riverbend
Address: 125 River Ridge Drive, Pearisburg, VA 24134
Location: United States > Virginia > Pearisburg
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Pearisburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Inn at Riverbend 3.5*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In the midst of abundant outdoor activity and overlooking the mountains and New River, this seven room bed and breakfast offers a peaceful getaway just off HWY 460, 25 minutes west of Blacksburg. All rooms have private baths, satellite TV, robes, wireless internet and open to the decks and terraces. From refreshments on arrival to a full hot breakfast, the inn is perfect for romantic getaways, small gatherings, weddings, family reunions, retreats and business meetings. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity and Expedia so you can book your Inn at Riverbend reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Inn At Riverbend Hotel Pearisburg

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing