We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“You cannot believe a chef of this caliber is in this tiny town.”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of The Bank Food and Drink - CLOSED

The Bank Food and Drink
Price range: $6 - $28
Cuisines: American, Contemporary, Healthy
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Dinner, Private Dining, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Description: Housed in a century-old bank building on Pearisburg's historic Main Street, The Bank Food and Drink serves seasonal American fare, combining classic ingredients with refined presentation and nostalgic influences. Whether dining in one of our unique private rooms or enjoying a more social evening in the restaurant, guests will savor craft beers, regional wines, and signature cocktails alongside cuisine showcasing the best the New River Valley and Giles County have to offer. Locals and visitors alike can enjoy a complete dinner experience, with fresh baked bread and house made desserts.
Level Contributor
59 reviews
57 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“You cannot believe a chef of this caliber is in this tiny town.”
Reviewed June 28, 2013 via mobile

We started with a sweet potato leek soup that tempted me to lick the bowl! The entire meal was a treat for the eyes and palate. Service was so friendly in this family run venue that we were glad we came even before our food arrived. Recommend the chicken, the pork chop and the deconstructed Black Forrest Cake.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Bloomingdale656
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Linda H, Owner at The Bank Food and Drink, responded to this review, July 6, 2013
We are fortunate to have the talents of Chef Michael Behmoiras in this small town! He was delighted that you enjoyed the soup, chicken and pork chop and his new Black Forrest Cake. Hope you'll return often so we can keep him in Pearisburg! Thank you again for sharing your comments.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

66 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    44
    13
    5
    2
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Wesr Lafayette, IN
Level Contributor
60 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Felt a little rushed.”
Reviewed June 24, 2013

We ate at The Bank our first night in Pearisburg. It was good but not great. Salads were ala carte and seemed a little pricey for what we got. The wine by the glass were overpriced for a small pour. The Duck breast was quite good and the high light of the dinner.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank danbear52
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Linda H, Owner at The Bank Food and Drink, responded to this review, July 6, 2013
Thank you for your honest comments. We certainly didn't mean to make you feel rushed with attentive service. We just reviewed our pour amounts for wine and adjusted them so thank you for commenting. We have always had an ala carte menu and feel that $6 is reasonable since none of our salads are a typical "house salad" that one might find in other restaurants.
Glad you enjoyed the duck and again, thanks for your comments.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlottesville, VA
Level Contributor
11 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Delicious food!”
Reviewed June 19, 2013

We tried The Bank based on a recommendation from Jimm, our host, innkeeper at the Inn at Riverbend in Pearisburg. The Bank did not disappoint! I had what was quite possibly the best pork chop of my life, and the appletini is divine!

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
Thank Becca M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Linda H, Owner at The Bank Food and Drink, responded to this review, July 6, 2013
Ah, the Appletini! Glad you enjoyed one of Rachel's creations! The pork chop has become a fan favorite so we are happy that Inn at Riverbend referred you to us. Hope you will visit again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Columbus
Level Contributor
17 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“DELICIOUS!”
Reviewed June 10, 2013

The food was amazing and it's right in Pearisburg so only about a 5 minute drive. The owner and her chef son were so gracious. This is a must while in Pearisburg!

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank travelercolumbus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Linda H, Owner at The Bank Food and Drink, responded to this review, July 6, 2013
Thanks for sharing your comments about your visit. I'm glad that we were able to meet and hope that we will see you often!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pearisburg, Virginia
Level Contributor
36 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“An Eatery with a Personality”
Reviewed June 4, 2013

How often do we get to eat in a former bank? This restaurant has the distinct honor of being spot-on for ambiance and food! We celebrated a coming-home event with six adults and three children. They seated us upstairs in our own private room so we could be as noisy as we wanted. The service was wonderful, and all orders were well-presented and plentiful. The steaks were especially delicious. The desserts were also quite awesome--rhubarb tart got a huge thumbs up! We will be back! We love the options of the smaller rooms downstairs.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank MtnGalAlways
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Linda H, Owner at The Bank Food and Drink, responded to this review, July 6, 2013
I believe you flew into Roanoke from Mongolia and made The Bank your first stop to see your family! We were honored and so happy that you could reacquaint with your family. So happy that you enjoyed your dinner, including the steaks! Thanks for sharing your comments and we hope to see you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Bank Food and Drink also viewed

 
Pearisburg, VA
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing