We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Charming Inn; Showing its Age” 3 of 5 stars
Review of The Ashby Inn

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
The Ashby Inn
Ranked #1 of 1 Paris B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Baltimore, Maryland
Level Contributor
14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Charming Inn; Showing its Age”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 29, 2013

We recently stayed in The New England room at The Ashby Inn. Upon entering the Inn, Silvie greeted us warmly, efficiently checked us in and brought us to our room. Note that the staircase to the second floor of the Inn, where the New England room is located, has fairly narrow steps, so physically challenged individuals may have difficulty ascending/descending. The room is quaint with a four-poster Queen bed. The bed itself sits high so be careful getting out of it-- may be a bit of a challenge for some at night-- and has an extremely firm mattress. The en-suite bath is fairly small, although adequate, and we needed to place our toiletry cases outside the bathroom due to lack of storage space. We also found that we needed to turn on the hot water faucet and let it run for several minutes before enjoying hot water. The room's old armoire was a throwback to the past and it's bath-towel filled content was most welcomed. We were a bit surprised that we found it difficult to secure the door to the room as it was warped. This may be typical for Inn's of this age. It should, nonetheless, be repaired. Although the room had no television, the Inn did offer WiFi service. This old, historical Inn is charming, situated in a picturesque location--and is a stark contrast to today's luxury hotels.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Foodie4Certain
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

136 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    90
    26
    11
    5
    4
See reviews for
5
100
1
5
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (35)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Arlington, VA
Level Contributor
49 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 14, 2013

For our anniversary, my husband and I treated ourselves to a night at the Inn and dinner at the restaurant. The Inn is located in a bucolic area of Virginia. The town of Paris is more like a neighborhood in the country, rather than a town since there are few commercial establishments, e.g., no coffee shop. Quiet and beautiful. The Inn is lovely. Our room was in the former attic and had a private bath down the hall. The bed was super comfortable and gets points for having layers of covers rather than a down comforter, which is much too hot for me. There were 2 reading chairs and good reading lights. Plus, there was a sink in the room. The only negative, and one that was important to me, was that during the night the heat seemed to switch into high gear. In response I turned the thermostat down but to no avail; it was difficult to get back to sleep at 2:00 am because of the stifling heat. The restaurant was fine but not spectacular. Expect small portions, which are all right with me. Our main dishes -- tagliatelle with pumpkin sage sauce for me and beef for my husband -- were just average. I tasted none of the sage in my dish and my husband said the beef was a bit tough. I probably wouldn't return to the Ashby Inn because it seemed expensive for the value.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Arlingtontravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Virginia
Level Contributor
67 reviews
57 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 30, 2013

My wife and I spent a night at the Inn to check out their restaurant before their chef (Tarver at the time) changed jobs. We booked a room on the second floor of the school house building. It was large and had a porch overlooking rolling hills. Before dinner, we took a nice walk along the quiet country roads around the Inn. The dinner was great - creative food and fine service. Breakfast the next morning was also quite good. We look forward to seeing how things have changed with their new chef. The room was fine, but there are a couple of design features we did not like. It had some high windows without curtains. You can expect an early wake up from the sun on a summer morning. The room also involved a couple of steps down from the bedroom to the area that had the bathroom. We will try a different room on our next visit.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Bill H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chevy Chase, MD
Level Contributor
77 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 29, 2013

We were fortunate to stay in the schoolhouse - large room, large bathroom, screened porch overlooking countryside. Our meal was disappointing. We thought portions small especially compared to prices. When I ordered lobster poached in butter ($38) I expected more than one small tail which was lost on my over-sized plate - and this year lobsters have been inexpensive to buy in markets! I was still hungry after eating 2 courses. The chef also has a very heavy hand with salt, ruining fresh chanterelles, and crispy potatoes.
The breakfast choices were much better than we anticipated though beware those over-salted crispy potatoes!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Elayne S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northern Virginia
Level Contributor
59 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2013

We stayed here for one night over the weekend for my birthday. It was a nice quiet getaway from the hectic Northern Virginia/DC area. We did a hike at the nearby Sky Meadows State Park and had a quick check-in to the Ashby Inn.
We had a room on the top floor, which was ready with some nice port wine to sample and help us get settled in and relaxed. Comfortable after-shower robes available in the room, and a fantastic view of some meadows where cows were grazing. Dinner was great--we each got an appetizer and entree, and shared a dessert. Service was on point and breakfast, included in the stay, was delicious. The bed was so warm and comfortable--I'll be honest, I wasn't expecting to enjoy the bed. I have a king size tempurpedic at home and have found it hard to get comfortable sleeping anywhere else--I usually end up tossing and turning for awhile when I'm not at home. But the queen bed, pillows and blankets were all very warm and comfortable and I slept like a baby and didn't want to get up the next morning. My husband too was pleasantly surprised.
The only slightly bothersome thing was that the doors were a bit difficult to lock--my husband struggled a bit with it and I think the room across from us did too--we heard the door slam open and shut a couple times early in the stay as they too tried to get used to locking the door--such is the charm of these older houses...lots of character and quirks. As a suggestion, the library could use a larger selection of reading material. Maybe some magazines or other short stories that are suitable for folks staying only a night or 2. I saw a couple thick classic novels which I didn't bother to pick up since I knew I wasn't going to make much headway only staying one night.
I'd highly recommend this place to others, and already have to a few coworkers. Scenic hiking trails nearby, comfortable rooms, friendly staff, vineyards/wineries nearby, and delicious dinner and breakfast options. About an hour's drive from the beltway area but from how relaxing it is, you'd think you'd traveled much further away.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sweet P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fairfax, Virginia, United States
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2013

When I need a break from northern Virginia I head here for a fantastic French meal made from food grown and raised locally. In the spring and fall we cook up a fire in the fireplace in the room and read in the wing back chairs. We love to stay in the school house. Don't tell too many people or I won't be able to get a reservation. Service in all aspects is first class. Sweet little town. Nothing to do but be. But wineries around and hiking close if so inclined. Very romantic.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Karen J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2013

The inn had been recommended by a friend who had stayed there once a year for many years as an annual anniversary treat. I can see why.

The food is amazing, served in a gorgeous garden patio. Superb, discreet service, wonderful suggestions and wine pairings.

We chose the Lafayette room for its view and quiet location away from the main house, which is pretty quiet itself.

Will definitely return.

C

Room Tip: The Lafayette room has an amazing view over rolling hills and the garden of inn, which was full of b...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Dublin-DC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Paris
13.4 mi away
Hampton Inn Front Royal
Hampton Inn Front Royal
#1 of 9 in Front Royal
4.5 of 5 stars 666 reviews
16.9 mi away
The George Washington A Wyndham Grand Hotel
12.4 mi away
Holiday Inn & Suites Front Royal Blue Ridge Shadows
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
18.9 mi away
Airlie
Airlie
#3 of 6 in Warrenton
4.0 of 5 stars 140 reviews
17.6 mi away
Wayside Inn
Wayside Inn
#1 of 3 in Middletown
4.5 of 5 stars 47 reviews
10.7 mi away
Goodstone Inn & Restaurant
Goodstone Inn & Restaurant
#1 of 8 in Middleburg
5.0 of 5 stars 256 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Ashby Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Ashby Inn

Property: The Ashby Inn
Address: 692 Federal Street, Paris, VA 20130
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Virginia > Paris
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Paris
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Ashby Inn 3.5*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sitting at a crossroads of both time and location, The Ashby Inn & Restaurant exists as a tenant to history while offering a place for guests to dine and rest amidst the beauty and tranquility of the Virginia countryside. Situated at the cross-section of routes fifty and seventeen in the charming village of Paris, the inn includes ten guest accommodations on three acres of landscaped grounds that provide a view of Paris Mountain, Ashby Gap and Sky Meadows State Park. The restaurant prepares breakfast daily for all inn guests and is open for lunch and dinner Wednesday through Saturday and for brunch and dinner on Sunday. The Ashby serves as a pastoral setting for weddings, special events, and retreats. Guests of the inn find no shortage of activities in the area to fill their time, including antiquing, bird watching, cycling, hiking, reading, shopping, and wine tasting. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Hotels.com, Expedia and Travelocity so you can book your The Ashby Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Ashby Inn & Restaurant Hotel Paris
The Ashby Inn And Restaurant

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing