We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“Wonderful private event: brunch on the patio” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Ashby Inn

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
The Ashby Inn
Ranked #1 of 1 Paris B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
outside of Boston
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Wonderful private event: brunch on the patio”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 7, 2013

Our family recently celebrated a wonderful family brunch on the patio at the Ashby Inn. The food was out of this world! Everyone enjoyed their meals, which were unique, fresh, and delicious. The wine selection was enjoyable. And the service was impeccable. We truly appreciated the hospitality and fine meal presented by the Inn. It was a warm, sunny day on the patio and we thoroughly enjoyed our time there.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank theworldawaits
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

145 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    96
    28
    12
    5
    4
See reviews for
7
106
1
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (36)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Berryville, Virginia
Level Contributor
130 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 15, 2013 via mobile

Having read the many excellent reviews I was not prepared for the reality of our stay. First, the room was wonderful, the view fantastic and the bed comfortable. There was no wifi, and I had some things to check on. I called the front desk but at 4:45 they had left. I left a message. Then I called a second number, the Innkeeper. Again I left a message and no response. We finally had a wonderful dinner down the road at the Wolftone Pub and they let us use their wifi. I never did get a return call. At breakfast the next morning the food was interesting and creative but basically un edible. The fresh squeezed juice was good as was the coffee. But eggs Benedict with some tasteless sauce and slices of sausage that tasted like goat, were left on the plate along with the burned potatoes. My wife had some pancakes that were covered with eggs and couldn't eat them either. Maybe it was going on Monday, but I can't recommend this Inn

Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank Huron68
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fairfax, Virginia
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 7, 2013

Spent 2 nights April 5 and 6 , 2013. Second visit to the Ashby Inn, both times stayed in Adams Room, in the Old School House section, about 50 yards from the main Inn building. Originally planned to hike in on the section of the Appalachian Trail , which crosses Route 50 about 1 mile west of the Inn.

During the month of April , restaurant and kitchen closed for renovations. Offered instead was a breakfast picnic hamper delivered to the room. However, car needed for travel to restaurants for other meals. We really wanted to stay at the Ashby Inn and changed plans; drove instead and did day hikes , using the Inn as a base.

The Breakfast hampers proved to be one of the real highlights of this visit. Muesli, yoghurt, fruit and pastries, provided a most substantial continental breakfast. This was enjoyed in the very comfortable large arm chairs, while sitting around the fire ( Cold spell this April) and enjoying the great view of the surrounding farms and hills of the Sky Meadows State Park. This really enhanced the cozy, comfortable and relaxing ambience.

I am recommending and hoping that the Inn will continue to provide Breakfast hampers as an option, with perhaps a surcharge, once the restaurant renovations are complete.

In our opinion, the 4 suites in the Old School House section are the gems of the Inn. Large rooms with large windows, great view, extremely comfortable bed, good quality bed linens, large comfortable arm chairs around the working fireplace, refrigerator and coffee maker. Large bathroom with bath and shower. Central airconditioning excellent. Quiet, no road noise; very few cars in the tiny village of Paris VA.

Staff, from Innkeepers to housekeepers, all extremely hospitable, friendly and willing to go the extra mile to make one's stay more comfortable.

Overall impression formed both visits: extremely well run establishment.

Room Tip: The 4 rooms in the Old School House Section are large, quiet and each has an excellent view. Large...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BandT_99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 28, 2013

It's not called the "Fan Room" because of the ceiling fan. There's a GIANT, industrial restaurant fan on the other side of one wall. So, every morning at 7am, when the staff arrives for breakfast service, it clicks on and literally VIBRATES the entire room. And it doesn't turn off until after dinner service, around 10pm or so. Additionally, the room is situated above the kitchen. Every time a pan is dropped or something is shouted, you hear it. When someone takes out the trash (just below the small balcony) you hear it. And it goes on late. Then it starts up again with the fan in the early morning. Don't get me wrong, the room is beautiful, the view is great, and the food is amazing. But our plans to have a relaxing weekend lounging were foiled by the vibrating walls/floors and the constant noise. I would return to the Ashby, but NEVER to the Fan Room. Honestly, for the cost of a stay here, they should do something. Noise defining sheet rock on the wall with the exhaust fan. Raise the floor and put in some insulation. I know it's an old inn, but seriously.

Room Tip: Not the Fan Room!
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Ann S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Starwavra, General Manager at The Ashby Inn, responded to this review, March 30, 2013
Dear Ann S,

Thank you for your comments. We at The Ashby Inn take great care in providing our guests with a retreat that permits one to revel in the beauty and tranquility of our surroundings. Many of our guests return time and again to specifically stay in the Fan Room. That said, We are saddened that you had a less than ideal stay in one of our most popular rooms. Your comments absolutely have merit. Not knowing when you were here exactly, if it was in the past few months, you may have noticed that construction is underway. This construction will add insulation between the ceiling of the kitchen and the floor of the Fan Room and locates the exhaust fan away from the wall of the room, anchoring it off of the roof of the new kitchen addition. We hope these changes will address the issues you shared here.

Thank you for taking the time to contribute.

Sincerely,

Star & Neal Wavra
Manager

P.S. The Fan Room derives its name from the fan shaped palladium window that reveals a spectacular view of Sky Meadows State Park.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
virginia
Level Contributor
41 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 23, 2013

My wife and I stayed two nights at the Ashby Inn as part of our swing of Virginia winery visits. We stayed in the fireplace room in the main building. The gas fireplace provided great ambience and the room was fine. Food was creative, fresh and worth the visit.

Room Tip: The firplace room is worth booking.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank jlfraley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fairfax, Virginia
Level Contributor
18 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 16, 2013

Spent a lovely February night at the Inn. Glascock Room in the School House was quiet and well appointed. Nice view of the mountains and a dusting of snow. Tasting menu dinner was spectacular. Friendly service with just the proper tone of formality to accompany the food. Inventive cuisine. Breakfast the next morning was equally enjoyable. Great area for wineries or just to escape for 24 hours within an hour or so of DC.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank OutsideShot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
13 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 24, 2013

We have stayed here several times. Paris, Virginia is a bit away from everything, but that is a plus. We always have a wonderful time. Superb and interesting dinner. They are extremely accomodating to our dietary restrictions. We have no restrictions on wine, and we have never been disappointed. We have stayed in several different rooms in the main house, it is old, but, so much more interesting. Breakfast has always been better than expected. Service is the best. We will be back as often as we can.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Alan S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Paris
12.4 mi away
Holiday Inn & Suites Front Royal Blue Ridge Shadows
16.9 mi away
The George Washington A Wyndham Grand Hotel
13.4 mi away
Hampton Inn Front Royal
Hampton Inn Front Royal
#1 of 9 in Front Royal
4.5 of 5 bubbles 724 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
17.6 mi away
Wayside Inn
Wayside Inn
#1 of 3 in Middletown
4.5 of 5 bubbles 66 reviews
10.7 mi away
Goodstone Inn & Restaurant
Goodstone Inn & Restaurant
#1 of 8 in Middleburg
5.0 of 5 bubbles 271 reviews
11.4 mi away
Salamander Resort & Spa
Salamander Resort & Spa
#1 of 1 in Middleburg
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,099 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Ashby Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Ashby Inn

Property: The Ashby Inn
Address: 692 Federal St, Paris, VA 20130-1606
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Virginia > Paris
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Paris
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Ashby Inn 3.5*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sitting at a crossroads of both time and location, The Ashby Inn & Restaurant exists as a tenant to history while offering a place for guests to dine and rest amidst the beauty and tranquility of the Virginia countryside. Situated at the cross-section of routes fifty and seventeen in the charming village of Paris, the inn includes ten guest accommodations on three acres of landscaped grounds that provide a view of Paris Mountain, Ashby Gap and Sky Meadows State Park. The restaurant prepares breakfast daily for all inn guests and is open for lunch and dinner Wednesday through Saturday and for brunch and dinner on Sunday. The Ashby serves as a pastoral setting for weddings, special events, and retreats. Guests of the inn find no shortage of activities in the area to fill their time, including antiquing, bird watching, cycling, hiking, reading, shopping, and wine tasting. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Orbitz, Expedia and Travelocity so you can book your The Ashby Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Ashby Inn & Restaurant Hotel Paris
The Ashby Inn And Restaurant

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing