We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Lush Seclusion” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Ashby Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The Ashby Inn
Ranked #1 of 1 Paris B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Lush Seclusion”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 4, 2012

A wonderful Labor Day get-away to Northern Virginia wine country found us at the lovely Ashby Inn for the weekend. We arrived late on the night of our check-in, and although the restaurant had stopped serving, they were kind enough to provide us with a cheese plate and a few glasses of wine to enjoy while we played Clue and Scrabble (their library room is perfect! So well appointed and cozy). We turned in to our room in the Old Schoolhouse (three doors down from the Inn proper) and were so pleasantly taken in by the gorgeous room (Glascock, on the top floor) - even prettier than in the pictures on the website! The next day we spent tooling around the countryside and visiting wineries, before returning for the night and a yummy dinner at the restaurant. Service and setting are both unimpeachable. Can't wait to return!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Robin C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

148 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    97
    29
    12
    6
    4
See reviews for
7
108
1
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (37)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Northern Virginia
Level Contributor
51 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 24, 2012

Last year's anniversary overnight at the Ashby Inn was so lovely, we decided to repeat it this year. It is so tranquil there, we check in on the dot at three o'clock. We stay in the Old Schoolhouse, which only has four rooms. Our private porch with its rocking chairs is terribly inviting; we invariably wind up there with a bottle of wine, and gaze out over the hills and gardens until it is time to go down to the restaurant for dinner.
The food is innovative and outstanding (and almost entirely local) and the wine pairings introduce us to new wines from around the world. The chef and sommelier are justifiably renowned. This far from Washington is not far enough that they do not have to be on top of their game, and they work very hard. There is not a false note on the dinner menu or in the presentation.
So, let's see... the beds are incredible, the baths are elegant and spacious, the long window seat and the wing chairs in front of the gas fireplace are comfy, there are books for a rainy day and a fridge for your snacks, a gift of Port in a decanter on the dresser for after dinner. The peace is absolute. Why would we go anywhere else?

Room Tip: Upper level rooms in the old schoolhouse have cathedral ceilings, which is very nice, but otherwise...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank GreatFalls1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alexandria, Virginia, United States
Level Contributor
24 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 5, 2012

The Ashby Inn is the place to relax and unwind from the stress of daily life. Situated in beautiful Paris, VA, a short trip from the Washington metro area, the Inn is a welcoming oasis in an otherwise hectic pace of DC. The food and wine here are first rate, and Neal Wavra and his staff do an outstanding job of making guests feel welcome and at home. The Ashby Inn is conveniently located near many top wineries. The schoolhouse rooms are tremendous!

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank SJS9876
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington D.C.
Level Contributor
68 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 2, 2012

My husband whisked me away (from DC) to the Ashby Inn a few weekends ago as a surprise. Tucked away in quaint, charming Paris, Ashby was the perfect setting for an old-fashioned romantic getaway.

We were greeted warmly by Neal, the delightful man in charge of the Inn (as well as the sommelier at dinner!). When we checked in, he told us there was a bigger room available that we could take a look at (The Victorian). We loved it, and so he upgraded us to that room for no extra charge! So sweet. The room was just lovely - windows on both sides, a gorgeous four poster bed, large armoire, two side chairs...high quality handcrafted furniture that has no doubt been around for many generations. As one would expect in an old B&B, the bathroom was smaller but more than adequate. And we LOVED the bath accessories that were provided. Ashby Innpromotes local and sustainable practices, and they supply their lotion/soap/shampoo/ conditioner from a local organic beauty company (blanking on the name). Really awesome touch.

One of the greatest things about the Ashby is, of course, the food. We had dinner here and were blown out of the water with the quality of the food. We ate downstairs (what must have previously served as a cellar?) next to the fireplace and feasted ourselves on amazing amazing dishes. We had tempura mushrooms to start - light and crispy and a perfect little snack. For the entree I had the beef loin, which was, simply put, incredible. The flavor, the texture, the cut - all outstanding. By far one of the greatest steaks I have ever had. My husband's lamb dish was equally impressive. We chatted up the waiter a bit and he said that the Washington Post had just been in the week before to do a review...which made us think, good thing we got here first before this place gets booked up a year in advance!

The breakfast is another highlight. The freshly squeezed orange juice alone is worth it - oh my! I had an omelet to die for, and my husband opted for the highly recommended chorizo (not my taste, but he raved). Presentation, taste, and quality (again, everything from local sources) were absolutely outstanding.

The booths in the eating area have little name placards along them on the wall. We inquired about the significance of these names. Apparently, they belong to patrons who have been faithfully supporting the Ashby Inn and Restaurant for many years. Perhaps one day we too will earn the privilege of having our names listed above our favorite booth! We definitely look forward to coming back to the Ashby many times in the future.

Room Tip: If the Inn is not fully booked, you may be upgraded to a bigger room! Just ask :)
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Juliet A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bluemont, Virginia, United States
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 2, 2012

I get to the Ashby Inn about 4 times a year and it's always very good (since the new chef and management arrived a few years ago), but last night's meal was particularly delicious and beautiful to look at. The shrimp tandoori crackers and radish snacks were delightful. The pate appetizer was rich and flavorful. My dinner partner got the crabcake appetizer as an entree and I the perfectly cooked Copper River salmon over a bed of coarse yet creamy grits accompanied by delectable baby beets. Both were excellent and we were completely satiated. The service is excellent and the manager is exceptionally warm and knowledgeable. The multiple gardens are blooming now and the setting is really sublime. This place is a treat, whether as a planned getaway from the city or as a spontaneous luxury for locals!

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank JLee1024
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
235 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 141 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 28, 2012

The outdoor countryside setting is lovely. The menu is very limited. The platters are served in large heavy dishes, but there is only a small tapa size amount of food. The assiette de crudites, for about $12, essentially consisted of two radishes and a carrot. Our main courses, at something like $34 each, again consisted of a sliver of food whether it was the meat or the fish, accompanied by tasteless overcooked vegetables. Despite all this, the terrace was packed, which I assume is because of the lovely setting and the fact that there is little alternative available. Too bad; the horse country deserves better.

Stayed May 2012, traveled with friends
Helpful?
Thank DCTravelerG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Starwavra, Manager at The Ashby Inn, responded to this review, June 1, 2012
Thank you very much for this post. One person's perception of portion size and another's are often divergent. Take this review and the posting from March 15th as a perfect example. Where one found the portions to be lacking, the other found them to be larger than expected. We seek to strike a careful balance between providing a value and an appropriate quantity of food. Taken as a singular part, any one of our courses, whether they be a snack, appetizer, entree or dessert, are not designed to be an entire meal. Taken together they are meant to provide guests with an experience that satiates rather than stuffs. The crudite for example is meant to pique the diner's palate with some of the first spring vegetables as given to us from Over The Grass Farm in The Plains. The course matches raw cross sections of candy strip beets, spears of young hierloom carrots, and wedges of breakfast radishes. These vegetables' flavors are amplified by the addition of roasted olives and a bagna cauda emboldened with purple beets. This course is a taste of Spring, and just like it, does not linger long. Rather, it is a short series of bites that set up an entree to follow. Regardless of our intention, we always invite feedback and appreciate all posts and comments as they aid us in continually improving what we offer our guests.

Sincerely,

Neal Wavra
Innkeeper / Sommelier
The Ashby Inn & Restaurant
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
459 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 138 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 23, 2012

Great little Inn in Paris Virginia. Try the Schoolhouse Rooms for a spacious lodging experience.

Room Tip: There are 4 large Schoolhouse Rooms with decks and a view of the valley.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank jrjojo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Paris
18.9 mi away
Airlie
Airlie
#3 of 6 in Warrenton
4.0 of 5 bubbles 160 reviews
23.5 mi away
Hampton Inn Gainesville-Haymarket
22.7 mi away
Comfort Suites Leesburg
Comfort Suites Leesburg
#3 of 7 in Leesburg
4.5 of 5 bubbles 241 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
11.4 mi away
Salamander Resort & Spa
Salamander Resort & Spa
#1 of 1 in Middleburg
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,183 reviews
10.7 mi away
Goodstone Inn & Restaurant
Goodstone Inn & Restaurant
#1 of 8 in Middleburg
5.0 of 5 bubbles 276 reviews
17.8 mi away
Inn at Evergreen
Inn at Evergreen
#1 of 1 in Haymarket
5.0 of 5 bubbles 4 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Ashby Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Ashby Inn

Property: The Ashby Inn
Address: 692 Federal St, Paris, VA 20130-1606
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Virginia > Paris
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Paris
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Ashby Inn 3.5*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sitting at a crossroads of both time and location, The Ashby Inn & Restaurant exists as a tenant to history while offering a place for guests to dine and rest amidst the beauty and tranquility of the Virginia countryside. Situated at the cross-section of routes fifty and seventeen in the charming village of Paris, the inn includes ten guest accommodations on three acres of landscaped grounds that provide a view of Paris Mountain, Ashby Gap and Sky Meadows State Park. The restaurant prepares breakfast daily for all inn guests and is open for lunch and dinner Wednesday through Saturday and for brunch and dinner on Sunday. The Ashby serves as a pastoral setting for weddings, special events, and retreats. Guests of the inn find no shortage of activities in the area to fill their time, including antiquing, bird watching, cycling, hiking, reading, shopping, and wine tasting. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity so you can book your The Ashby Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Ashby Inn & Restaurant Hotel Paris
The Ashby Inn And Restaurant

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing