We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“an uncommon experience”
Review of The Ashby Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
The Ashby Inn
Ranked #1 of 1 Paris B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Annandale, VA
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“an uncommon experience”
Reviewed December 15, 2011

Our small organization met at the Ashby Inn for a three day planning retreat. The experience could not have been better. The innkeepers and all the staff were friendly, helpful, and accommodating, the rooms were clean and nice, and the food was absolutely amazing. Really, really amazing. Every meal was a work of art. We felt like we were in the hands of a master. Even the snacks provided for our work sessions were unbelievable. We could not recommend this place more highly. Go, stay a couple of nights if you can, and even if you can't stay, if you live anywhere in the DC metro area, make a reservation and visit this place for lunch or dinner. You will not be disappointed.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ToddD963
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

157 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    104
    31
    12
    6
    4
See reviews for
9
115
1
5
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (38)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Waterford, New Jersey
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed November 18, 2011

We stayed at Asby Inn on our autumn visit to Skyline Drive. The staff was friendly and very accommodating. The room was beautifully decorated and very comfortable. By far though, meals at the Inn were unforgettable. I had a wonderful lamb dish which was delightful. Likewise breakfast was delicious. The Inn is a little " out of the way." Had trouble getting cell service. If you want to get away from it all, it's perfect.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank meatobler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amherst
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed October 21, 2011

What a wonderful place to get away for a day or two and enjoy impeccable service, fantastic food, and a beautiful, peaceful room. Neal and Alan are amazing with remembering guests' favorites, and they are always ready with a smile and a story. Chef Tarver King is wonderfully creative with his dishes...always something new, interesting, and delicious. This is definitely the place to visit if you enjoy trying new and innovative flavor combinations! Rooms are well-appointed, clean, and charmingly decorated. Stay in the school house if you can, as each of the rooms has a wood-burning fireplace and a private deck overlooking the beautiful countryside. The Fan room in the main house is also a gem, with its private entrance and beautiful views. Breakfast each day is included in the price of the room, and is much more than just an omelette or some pancakes. Wonderful little place!!

Room Tip: Any room in the schoolhouse, or the fan room. Views are beautiful.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tracy H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fairfax, Virginia, United States
1 review
Reviewed October 20, 2011

We went to the Ashby Inn for lunch. I ordered their buttermilk fried chicken and when it was served it was so overdone that it was inedible as was their fish dish. It was impossible to even put your folk into the meat to cut it. Unless you are going for desert and coffee, I suggest you save your money and go elsewhere. What was the Washington Post thinking of when they gave a good review to this inn? It's terrible!

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Becky S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Starwavra, General Manager at The Ashby Inn, responded to this review, October 27, 2011
Dear Becky S,

Each and every bit of feedback is appreciated. The exemplary testimonials that have been posted recently are wonderful. A comment like this one, though, is particularly appreciated as it points out where we have fallen short of our own expectation, which is to exceed our guests' expectation. Clearly, we did not live up to your expectations, so much so, you rated the experience as terrible despite finding the service to be 5/5. It saddens me that we were not given the opportunity to reconcile the situation during your visit. Often times it is hard to guage how a guest perceives their experience and there is a variance from one patron to another. One guest who dined the same day as you actually came back the next day to have the fried chicken again. He loved it, you did not. I am equally interested in you both having a great time. So if I may ask a favor of you, should you choose to visit us in the future, and I hope you will, please let us know if we are not meeting your expectations while you are with us. You have my word that we will do everything we can to ensure you will not have to endure another terrible experience.


Sincerely,

Neal Wavra
Innkeeper
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington, DC
Level 5 Contributor
66 reviews
64 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 102 helpful votes
Reviewed October 19, 2011

My wife and I stayed at the Ashby Inn for 2 nights in late September. Our room, the Settle Room in the school house was very pleasant and had a nice view overlooking some of the grounds and the surrounding countryside. During our stay the owner of the Inn was often visible and extraordinarily hospitable (as were all the staff).
As part of the Living Social package that we had purchased we were entitled to a complimentary bottle of wine, a large discount on the room price, and a free wine pairing if we opted for the chef's tasting menu at the restaurant. The dinner at the Inn was excellent. Five courses accompanied by wine with impeccable service and interesting presentations made for a memorable experience.
All in all I highly recommend the Ashby Inn both as a place to stay and as a place to dine.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Westby
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed September 12, 2011

I booked a room in the School House after purchasing a special on Living Social. Bottomline- it was great, absolutely perfect. We arrived a bit early, room wasn't ready but the innkeeper offered some suggestions on local wineries to pass the time which was brillant. We went to Delaplane and thoroughly enjoyed a wine tasting there.
The room was lovely, great walk-out patio with comfortable chairs and beautiful view. we really enjoyed our time there and would recommend it to everyone.
To be honest, the restuarant was pricey, but definitely worth it for a special occasion!

Initially we were going to do Old Rag hike in shenandoah national park, but weather was a little gloomy so opted for a closer Sky Meadows park and hit another winery in the afternoon, highly recommend.

Room Tip: The School house has 4 rooms, they all seemed lovely!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Alimakajan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level 5 Contributor
78 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed September 5, 2011

We did not stay at the inn, but stopped by on our way out into the Shenandoahs. Great food - creating and whimsical but tasty and locally sourced. Top-notch service and serene views. Absolutely worth a trip out of your way to this peaceful gem.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank joncamfield
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Paris
18.9 mi away
Airlie
Airlie
#3 of 6 in Warrenton
170 reviews
12.4 mi away
Holiday Inn & Suites Front Royal Blue Ridge Shadows
13.4 mi away
Hampton Inn Front Royal
Hampton Inn Front Royal
#1 of 10 in Front Royal
846 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
11.4 mi away
Salamander Resort & Spa
Salamander Resort & Spa
#1 of 1 in Middleburg
1,324 reviews
10.7 mi away
Goodstone Inn & Restaurant
Goodstone Inn & Restaurant
#2 of 8 in Middleburg
289 reviews
8.9 mi away
L'Auberge Provencale Bed and Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Ashby Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Ashby Inn

Property: The Ashby Inn
Address: 692 Federal St, Paris, VA 20130-1606
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Virginia > Paris
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Paris
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Ashby Inn 3.5*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sitting at a crossroads of both time and location, The Ashby Inn & Restaurant exists as a tenant to history while offering a place for guests to dine and rest amidst the beauty and tranquility of the Virginia countryside. Situated at the cross-section of routes fifty and seventeen in the charming village of Paris, the inn includes ten guest accommodations on three acres of landscaped grounds that provide a view of Paris Mountain, Ashby Gap and Sky Meadows State Park. The restaurant prepares breakfast daily for all inn guests and is open for lunch and dinner Wednesday through Saturday and for brunch and dinner on Sunday. The Ashby serves as a pastoral setting for weddings, special events, and retreats. Guests of the inn find no shortage of activities in the area to fill their time, including antiquing, bird watching, cycling, hiking, reading, shopping, and wine tasting. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity and Orbitz so you can book your The Ashby Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Ashby Inn And Restaurant
The Ashby Inn & Restaurant Hotel Paris

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing