We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice rustic restaurant” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Swinging Bridge Restaurant

The Swinging Bridge Restaurant
Rt. 1 Box 64, Paint Bank, VA
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #1 of 2 Restaurants in Paint Bank
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children
Dining options: Breakfast, Dinner, Lunch, Highchairs Available, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Takeout, Waitstaff
West Virginia
Level Contributor
99 reviews
64 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
“Nice rustic restaurant”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 20, 2013

The Swinging Bridge is my daughter's favorite restaurant so we took here there for her 18th birthday. The food is very good and most of us indulged in a buffalo burger. Our waitress - Carrie - did a fantastic job and our drinks never went empty. The night we were there, the staff had a fire going in the huge, stone fireplace which is always nice.

There is also a neat gift store on the second level of the building which overlooks the restaurant area. It fittingly has a "swinging bridge" which you can walk across to get from one side of the shop to the other. The restaurant is a fair drive from any well-populated area, but it is worth the drive, especially for a special occasion.

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
Thank WV_Wanderers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

93 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    34
    39
    8
    6
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Custer, South Dakota
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Over the hills and through the woods to a---------”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 24, 2013

----super and unique dining experience. The down home cooking style of many favorite dishes plus the warmth of a huge fire place is only exceeded by the warm and friendly staff that makes this restaurant one of the better places to eat. The old town country setting has a "Hillbilly" gourmet flair with access to a general store and a huge display of locally made items for sale. There are many more sites to see in Paint Bank, Va. Our family will definitely go back.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank powtileman3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Apex, North Carolina
Level Contributor
187 reviews
72 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 100 helpful votes
“Hard to find but well worth the trip!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 20, 2013

We were in Roanoke for the Virginia HOG rally in Junr 2013 and went for a motorcycle ride and stumbled upon this cutest restaurant/general store. We were a bit early for lunch se we tried the breakfast. Some ordered off the munu and some made up their orders. There were 16 of us and we were all served promptly and perfectly. We went up stairs, ventured accross the indoor swinging bridge and shopped while awaiting our food. Afterward we walked around to the trout pond and grist mill and had to get back on the road but could have stayed longer and played corn hole out back! This is a stop we will make again if ever in this area. Prices were much better than the fast food chains we often settle for.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank ggthor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Webster Springs, West Virginia
Level Contributor
21 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Great place!!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2013

Glad we stopped at this place! Really cool and very friendly staff. Food was good as well! We were passing thru and just stopped to let my little boy out of car for a few minutes. We ended up staying 2 hours. Be dure to check out Grist Mill nad trout pond behind store. Great roadside stop!

  • Visited September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank tripper847
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Morganton, North Carolina
Level Contributor
16 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Enjoyed”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 6, 2013

We were all pleased with our food. We all had the sliced buffalo sub (can't remember what it was called) with chips for us and sweet potatoe fries for our friends. All of us found our food to be delicious and priced about what you would expect for the area. Rustic atmosphere appropriate for the menu and locale. We enjoyed browsing the shop and all decided that this will be a "must" on any future trips within a 25 mile radius of the Swinging Bridge.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank L0rraine_112
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Swinging Bridge Restaurant also viewed

Been to The Swinging Bridge Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing