We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent mountain stay”
Review of The Depot Lodge

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Paint Bank
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
The Depot Lodge
Ranked #1 of 1 Paint Bank B&B and Inns
Reviewed August 1, 2012

Enjoyed an overnight at The Depot Lodge in early July when attending the PGA Greenbrier Classic golf tournament. Paint Bank is located up in the Virginia mountains: a beautiful setting. The lodge is a small, rustic, elegant hotel and highly recommended if one enjoys this combination.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank whiteoakspring
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (47)
There are newer reviews for The Depot Lodge
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

39 - 45 of 47 reviews

Reviewed May 5, 2012

My husband and I stayed at the Depot Lodge in Paint Bank, VA for one night in May 2012. This building served as a real train depot years ago and has been rebuilt and open for business. I have been traveling to Paint Bank for years and would only stay the night with relatives in the past. Staying at the Depot Lodge was such a treat! There are 4 rooms upstairs, a Master Suite downstairs, and a kitchen/living room area downstairs as well. There are also other accommodations on the property (a cute caboose and cottage is next door). Check-in is across the street at the General Store, so grab your keys to your room before unloading your car.

We stayed in one of the upstairs rooms. It was very clean, quaint and cozy. We were given a tour right away and there are fresh cookies and juices, coffee, cereal, and milk for guests any time of the day in the kitchen area downstairs. You will also be given a voucher towards breakfast in the restaurant across the street. I was pleasantly surprised at the size of our room. It was larger than expected and the bathroom was quite big as well. The bed was comfortable and it gets VERY quiet at night in Paint Bank. There was a flat screen TV in our room and lots of rocking chairs on the porch outside (you share a common porch area with other guests). The creek on the property runs right by the lodge, and there are plenty of private little seating areas to sit and enjoy a glass of wine while watching the lazy creek flow by.

There is NO CELL SERVICE, so prepare to have no interruptions while you are there. There is complimentary WiFi that worked great, so if you have a house sitter or relatives needing to contact you, that's the way to communicate unless you use the room phone where long distance calls are no longer complimentary.

We slept very well and had no issues with noise. There was one other couple staying in the Lodge, but they were on the other side of the hotel, so we did not experience any noise from anyone. Everywhere are hard wood floors, so I can imagine if someone were wearing clunky shoes or high heels, noise could be an issue.

Paint Bank is a slice of Americana. The people are friendly, the restaurant across the street is charming (Swinging Bridge) with lots of great comfort food, and the General Store and Tingler's Mill are a must visit attraction. The town is surrounded by mountains at every angle (hence, no cell service), and it is total relaxation there. My husband and I were able to totally connect and enjoy our time together without any interruptions from the outside world. Truly a wonderful experience and a step back in time. We will return, but next time we might try staying in the Master Suite. We were allowed to go inside and check it out, and it is lovely!!

While you are at the Lodge, check out the old photographs in the downstairs kitchen/living room area. My grandmother's photo is high up on the wall. Her name was Juanita Bryan and her photo is striking. There are other photos of time gone by that will give you a connection to the place and make you take pause in how amazing the surroundings are. Definitely check out Paint Bank, you will not be disappointed.

Room Tip: If you like to control your own A/C heat in the upstairs rooms at the lodge, you have to share a com...
  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank sunflower35
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 18, 2012

We stayed two nights at the Paint Bank B&B. Our room, The Master Suite, was absolutely enormous! It was the size of a small apartment with the feeling of being in a log cabin. Every wall inside is built with wood. We had three rooms; plenty of windows and doors; the bedroom had a queen size four poster bed; it was Wi-Fi ready and we used it; the living room has a gas fireplace that was wonderful to sit by and look outside; there was plenty of comfortable chairs and a sleeper sofa; and, the dining area had a great table and chairs. We walked outside through one of our private doors, across the private deck, and sat in the provided outdoor furniture and listened to the gurgling sounds of Potts Creek. It just doesn’t get any better that that.

At night time, just to add to the overall ambiance, and for privacy, we pulled closed the wooden inside doors that looked like original, but fancy barn doors. The Master Suite is probably 5 or 6 times as big as the Caboose – and if you want the experience of staying in a Caboose, do it! We talked to the couple that was there and they loved it. The large Master Suite with exposed wooden beams in the vaulted ceiling of the living room with all of the spaciousness was more our style for this trip. Oh, and at the other end of the Lodge you’ll find the large meeting room where coffee, sodas, water, juices, cookies, small refrigerator, sink, and games are located 24x7. Direct TV is available in two rooms; we didn’t find a DVD player, but hey… with everything else...open up the door, sit on your private wraparound porch and listen for a while!

We ate at the Paint Bank Swinging Bridge Restaurant – and yes there is a bridge that allows you to walk from one side of the upstairs to the other side – it’s a very fancy and sturdy rope and wood structure (it’s fastened down by some heavy steel so don’t worry). The Paint Bank general store was full of most things we would have ever needed.

While there we visited the Virginia State Fish Hatchery and viewed the 1.5 million fish that are in different stages of growth to be released into the Virginia waters at some time in the future – three species of trout to be exact. We also rode the provided bicycles to the Bison Ranch down the flat easy-to-ride road. The road is across the street from the B&B, and you can’t help but find Bison on both sides of the street as you leisurely ride along.

Only one thing – no cell service…but if you need to make a call, they can handle that as they allow you to make long distance calls for free…although, we didn’t try it.

In summary, go and stay at the Depot Lodge B&B.

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank KNSW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 31, 2011

Romantic trip to the western mountains of VA. Teeny, tiny town with a 5-star accommodation in the caboose room of the Depot Lodge. Clean, well-appointed, with nice decor. Very cozy, charming and romantic. Across the street is the town hub: the Swinging Bridge Restaurant and gift shop, along with the general store. A fun place to visit, the ONLY place to visit in town! Try the locally raised Buffalo burger on the menu. It was a cool stay for my husband and I with an adventurous and scenic drive along Rt 311 from the Blue Ridge Parkway to get there.

Room Tip: Definitely the caboose room!
  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank lmpeters
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 11, 2011

Stayed in the red caboose and it was cozy and relaxing. Nice restoration in the caboose and lodge. Ate all lunch dinner and breakfast at the swinging bridge. It was good comfort .... stick to your ribs ... food. Not much to do in Paint Bank... but great for a night!

  • Stayed: September 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank TravelingX2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 14, 2011

Stayed in the caboose one night and it really exceeded our expectations. There is not much in the little town but if you are looking for a night away from literally everything this is the place to go. The lights in the town went out when we were there from about 6:30pm until 11pm so we did not get to enjoy to much in the dark. The caboose sits right next to the creek so sleeping to the water sounds were great. Don't think I will be going back only because there is not much to do but I give the Depot Lodge and the caboose a thumbs up.

  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank dym6nuva
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 30, 2011

Spent the night in Paint Bank, looking for nothing more than to relax and clear our minds. We couldn't have chosen a more suitable spot than the Caboose at the Depot Lodge. The grounds also include the Lodge itself, which has a large suite and several other rooms, along with a living area/kitchen that is open and available to all guests and offered beverages and tremendous chocolate chip cookies. The work put into restoring not only the Caboose, but the Depot as well, shown through in the photo albums. Lots of work and a great end result.

The Caboose itself was one of those locations that is worth staying in just for the experience. It is decorated very nicely and it was awesome to be able to crank the windows open on the creek side and sleep with the sound of water running 20 feet away, while still in a warm bed.

Finally, we took advantage of the tandem bicycle leaning up against the Lodge and took a nice ride down Route 600 (directly across the street from the Lodge) early one morning, past the buffalo farm and hit the West Virginia line before turning around.

All in all, a great place to stay for a night or two of rejuvenation.

  • Stayed: May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank great_state224
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to The Depot Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Depot Lodge

Address: Hwy 311, Paint Bank, VA 24131
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Virginia > Paint Bank
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Paint Bank
Price Range: $72 - $210 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Enjoy old-fashioned hospitality in our restored train depot in Paint Bank, Virginia...a tranquil, country village, tucked away in the heart of the Alleghany Mountains. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
The Depot Lodge Paint Bank, Virginia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing