We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fabulous location”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Copthorne Hotel & Resort Bay of Islands
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Waitangi
Reviewed November 28, 2010

Our room looked out over the bay - the view was fantastic and the location near the Treaty Ground meant that it was easy to take a leisurely walk along the coast. The staff were very helpful, and the room was clean and comfortable. We did not eat dinner at the hotel, but the variety and quality of the food at breakfast were very good.

  • Stayed: November 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank wfmorris
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,077)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

954 - 960 of 1,077 reviews

Reviewed November 25, 2010

This hotel is beautifully located and one of the best views of the bay. Very calm and quite surrounding, lot to walk and explore, go fishing or just relax. Food is good, we used room service, little expensive but good food

  • Stayed: November 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 100,229,301
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 21, 2010

Brilliant views from anywhere.. Friendly staff.. Excellent pressure on the shower which i think is extremely important!!

  • Stayed: November 2010, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank IndianInNZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 10, 2010

Wonderful location in Paihia with good views from almost anywhere in the hotel. Staff very friendly and helpful. We had a room which faced out onto the grass and overlooked the sea, fabulous view to wake up to. Our room was clean, tidy, adequately equipped and comfortable....perhaps ready for a coat of paint shortly. Breakfast and room service was very good.

  • Stayed: October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SubarStaffs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 8, 2010

We went there with my spouse to take a break from the kids and work and spent 2 nights in there. The views were absolutely superbe and the experience really great.
2 points to note:
I wouldn't however recommend the restaurant as it is rather pricey and not as good as similar places nearby. So, if you stay there, make the effort and go for a walk to try the local restaurants.
Another tip, make sure you request a room on the first floor, as the ground floor rooms are smaller and offer less privacy. (anyone from the garden can enter your room really, while you are having a nap with the door open). Plus, the soundproofing is rather poor, so if you have neighbours above your room, you will know it right away, especially at night.
Otherwise, a magic place and really nice experience.

  • Stayed: November 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ktulu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 27, 2010

I hadn't been sure what to expect so I was delighted to find we had a lovely large room overlooking the pool and the sea. It was just delightful, quiet and peaceful (although a little bit of noise from other guests) and an ideal location to walk up to Waitangi - although it was a bit further to go into Paihia for restaurants etc (there was a free shuttle bus for during the day though). In the evening a couple of rabbits came out and hopped about on the grass in front of our room. We didn't have any meals there - they seemed a bit pricey - or use the pool - too cold for us although others were in there

  • Stayed: September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank KKatherine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 22, 2010

The room was good and clean. The decor is normal standard for this type of hotel. The TV a bit old, but not important to us. Price wise it compared very well with any of the motels around that area. The breakfast buffet was included and was excellent exceeding our expectation. The whole place was very tranquil throughout our stay. Staff very competent and friendly.

  • Stayed: September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank valbella
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Waitangi
0.9 mi away
Kingsgate Hotel Autolodge Paihia
0.7 mi away
Sea Spray Suites - Heritage Collection
1.5 mi away
Scenic Hotel Bay of Islands
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
The Waterfront Suites - Heritage Collection
1.3 mi away
Edgewater Palms Apartments
2.3 mi away
Duke of Marlborough Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Copthorne Hotel & Resort Bay of Islands? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Copthorne Hotel & Resort Bay of Islands

Address: Tau Henare Drive | PO Box 150, Waitangi 2150, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > North Island > Northland Region > Bay of Islands > Waitangi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Waitangi
Price Range: $79 - $227 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Copthorne Hotel & Resort Bay of Islands 3.5*
Number of rooms: 180
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, DerbySoft Ltd Shanghai HQ Supplier Direct, Hotels.com, Hotwire, getaroom.com, Orbitz, Cancelon, Travelocity, HotelQuickly and TripOnline SA so you can book your Copthorne Hotel & Resort Bay of Islands reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Copthorne Hotel And Resort Bay Of Islands
Copthorne Hotel Paihia
Copthorne Hotel Bay Of Islands
Copthorne Hotel & Resort Bay Of Islands Waitangi

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing