We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good location, average rooms”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Copthorne Hotel & Resort Bay of Islands
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Waitangi
Auckland, NZ
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Good location, average rooms”
Reviewed August 8, 2010

Location was good being on the Waitangi Treaty grounds. Unfortunately was attending aconference and combined with the weather raining most of the time, we did not really get to appreciate it.

This property is very dated and despite attempts to modernise it they are still below par especially given this location. TV is old and poor quality, one of the heaters did not work, and hooks behind bathroom door was falling off.

Staff were friendly and helpful, check-in was efficient and reasonably quick. Restaurant was OK. We had room service for breakfats on first morning which was below average, e.g. yoghurt was off. After that went to Waitangi Restaurant for breakfast which was much better.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank FPL10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,036 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    194
    385
    267
    120
    70
See reviews for
200
538
32
84
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (348)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Cornwall
Level 6 Contributor
189 reviews
54 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 145 helpful votes
Reviewed June 25, 2010

We stayed at the Copthorne Bay of Islands for 4 nights at the end of a self-drive tour of New Zealand. Alng with our visit to Queenstown, this was the highlight of a marvellous holiday. Our first impressions were "great location but a hotel in need of investment" but the longer we stayed, the more we liked the place. Our check-in was friendly and efficient. Indeed over the period of our stay the hotel staff were extremely helpful and very willing to respond to questions and requests. Our room was comfortable and value for money with a wonderful view over the lawn to the Bay of Islands. The breakfasts were great and we appreciated the free laundry facilities.
With the Waitangi Treaty Grounds literally next door and being only a 10 minute very pleasent walk into Paihai, the hotel is well located and there was so much to see and do.
The hotel is heavily used by coach tours and conferences which is probably why it seems to need refurbishing but amazingly as a couple who appreciate peace and quiet we had no cause to complain and departed wishing that we could have stayed longer.

  • Stayed November 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LadyMolestrangler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Queenstown, New Zealand
1 review
Reviewed May 11, 2010

Unfortunatly overcrowded at the time of our visit so service was reduced.

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ken444
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 4 Contributor
24 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed May 10, 2010

The resort itself was kewl...next to the beach and awesome spa...but the room is average...old tv set and not flash

Stayed March 2010, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank AzeezA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland
Level 5 Contributor
61 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed May 9, 2010

1 Hook behind bathroom door would be helpful [ unless I am thinking of nights stay at Kingsgate Whangarei ]

2 How about standardising wine glasses throughout Kingsgate/Copthorne/Millennium Hotels . The ones provided at Kingsgate Whangarei are liquer size and staff use these for red or white . I have criticised this in past stays but still they persist in serving quality wine in " marmite" size glasses that need to be filled to get anywhere near 150ml . One is supposed to savour the odour of wine through bringing the nose into the glass - if one tries this at Kingdsgate one simply gets a wet nose

3 I will know if my comments are read by receiving some response

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank samjayAuckland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norfolk
Level 5 Contributor
67 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
Reviewed May 6, 2010

We spent 3 nights here at the end of a long tour of NZ, and couldn't have found a more perfect location, however for someone in a wheelchair this place was something of a challenge. Rooms are in 2 storey blocks with disabled rooms on the top floor!!! Most of our party were on the ground floor where they could open their balcony doors and walk straight out to the sea, and hotel facilities, whereas I had to use a lift at the other end of the block to get out near the back of the building and take a tortuous rout e through the hotel to get to the grounds near the sea (unbelieveably, 150yds instead of the 10yds taken by friends downstairs. We spoke to the duty manager about our concerns and he promised to get in touch with his bosses - let's hope he does, as this place is way behind the times for disabled assess, and a few minor inexpensive changes would transform it.We also found the bar and restaurant were only assessed by steps, there was a ramp at the back of a large cupboard behind packing cases but this never made an appearance and I was supported by my husband as I negotiated the steps.
The food was adequate but uninspiring and we were pleased to eat out in Pahia after the first night.
The location of this hotel is fantastic and makes you want to forgive it's shortcoming, but it could be so much better with just a little effort.

  • Stayed February 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank charliechair
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hamilton, New Zealand
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed April 27, 2010

Spent two night at this very comfortable hotel. On arrival we were upgraded, and staff were most helpful and friendly throughout our stay. Have no hesitation in planning our next break at this hotel.

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Piccolo34
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Waitangi
0.9 mi away
Kingsgate Hotel Autolodge Paihia
0.7 mi away
Sea Spray Suites - Heritage Collection
1.5 mi away
Scenic Hotel Bay of Islands
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.3 mi away
Duke of Marlborough Hotel
0.9 mi away
The Waterfront Suites - Heritage Collection
0.7 mi away
Paihia Beach Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Copthorne Hotel & Resort Bay of Islands? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Copthorne Hotel & Resort Bay of Islands

Property: Copthorne Hotel & Resort Bay of Islands
Address: Tau Henare Drive | PO Box 150 (Paihia), Waitangi 2150, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > North Island > Northland Region > Bay of Islands > Waitangi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Waitangi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Copthorne Hotel & Resort Bay of Islands 3.5*
Number of rooms: 180
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with World Independent Hotel Promotion, Priceline, Orbitz, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Hotwire and HotelQuickly so you can book your Copthorne Hotel & Resort Bay of Islands reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Copthorne Hotel And Resort Bay Of Islands
Copthorne Hotel Paihia
Copthorne Hotel Bay Of Islands
Copthorne Hotel & Resort Bay Of Islands Waitangi

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing