We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely hotel, excellent base for Bay of Islands adventure”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Copthorne Hotel & Resort Bay of Islands
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Waitangi
Auckland
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Lovely hotel, excellent base for Bay of Islands adventure”
Reviewed December 9, 2009

I stayed there for a conference. The conference facilities were great, my room was okay, a bit tired and needing an update but it wasn't there much. The grounds are great, the pool area is lots of fun and the spa is lovely. It is in a gerat loation, I walked up to Waitangi and around the headland, it was spectacular. The catering was great, the breakfast pretty good but a bit oily but the dinners and bar food were great. The bar food was pretty good value too. I liked it enough to take my partner there for a few nights to explore the area in the New Year.

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kiwitraveller1978
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,031 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    192
    382
    267
    120
    70
See reviews for
198
537
32
84
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (345)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
auckland, nz
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed December 7, 2009

Stayed here for three nights in December. Great location, rooms clean and tidy (if a bit basic) and reception/welcome pleasant.
But buffet breakfasts poor - fruit juice dispensers empty, no-one to cook eggs, no cups for tea/coffee, one twiddly toaster for the entire hotel. When I asked for juice, eggs etc the staff were willing to help, but dining room of that size needs a good front of house to ensure service runs smoothly.
Markedly improved on weekdays when older, more experienced staff back on duty but expected better on busy weekends.

Stayed December 2009, traveled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank sjsabroad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northwood
Level 5 Contributor
49 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed December 6, 2009

This was our first stop on a grand tour of New Zealand. The welcome was friendly and the room fine. The view from the window was straight out onto the Bay of Islands and from the french windows you can walk right down to the water. A five minute walk, accompanied by local birdlife takes you to the Waitangi Treaty Gounds. Although a little way out of Paihia, the shuttle runs regularly to get you in and out of town or you can drive the short trip yourself with easy parking. All in all, a good introduction to New Zealand.

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MisterDoctor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milton Keynes, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
99 reviews
81 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 125 helpful votes
Reviewed December 5, 2009

We stayed here for 2 nights 15/16 November 2009. The route takes you over a narrow one lane road bridge. The check in was quick and efficient. The rooms were fine and had a nice little sun room attached. The bathroom was adequate and there were plenty of towels and toiletries. The beds were comfortable and we all enjoyed a good nights sleep. The buildings appear to be made of wood and can be noisy at night if people run about. Reception provide towels for the hot tub, but for some reason after about 10:30 the tub doesn't seem to want to make bubbles! Breakfast was buffet style and was fine, lots of choice and eggs cooked to order. The bar stayed late enough for us. But as seems to be common in lots of hotels in NZ closed not long after 10pm.

  • Stayed November 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mktraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Level 6 Contributor
1,116 reviews
418 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 668 helpful votes
Reviewed November 30, 2009

It rained on us, so all the lovely pool facilities were lost on us. Don’t get a massage there, right outside the window people were washing cars and talking I told management and was ingnored. We had a false alarm and the staff did not know how to handle the situation. We would all be dead if it had been a real fire, as they walked us the length of the hotel, when everyone in the first floor had window access to the outside. The reception staff did not make you feel like they cared. The buffet was good and the rooms were clean and comfortable

  • Stayed November 2009
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Starviagera
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hobart, Tasmania
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed November 6, 2009

We enjoyed a great room only a few steps from the waterfront with a huge, comfy king size bed and sliding doors opening onto a sunny deck. It was too cold to swim in the pool, but we made good use of the hot spa and the bar staff make a mean cocktail which we enjoyed poolside on the sunlounges. The buffet breakfast, which was complimentary with our package deal, was lovely. The staff were very friendly and helpful with tour bookings and local information. The hotel is a few minutes drive from the centre of Paihia, but a shuttle bus is available to drop you in town. The few days we spent here were a lovely, relaxing start to our NZ holiday.

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lilylouise
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Middx London
Level 6 Contributor
201 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 81 helpful votes
Reviewed November 4, 2009

We arrived here as part of an organised trip to the Bay of islands with a tsunami alert on which fortunately turned into a small wave . This Hotel is very much for families all rooms open onto communal grassed area so if you don't mind children skateboarding etc and looking in on you as you sit in the sun it's fine! The pools were open but too cold as early in season. The restaurant was ok and we had breakfast included (which was buffet)
Internet was available fairly cheap in comparison to other places we stayed
Staff helpful and friendly. However am not a Copthorne Hotel fan!

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rosemary64
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Waitangi
0.9 mi away
Kingsgate Hotel Autolodge Paihia
0.7 mi away
Sea Spray Suites - Heritage Collection
0.9 mi away
The Waterfront Suites - Heritage Collection
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
Scenic Hotel Bay of Islands
2.3 mi away
Duke of Marlborough Hotel
0.7 mi away
Paihia Beach Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Copthorne Hotel & Resort Bay of Islands? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Copthorne Hotel & Resort Bay of Islands

Property: Copthorne Hotel & Resort Bay of Islands
Address: Tau Henare Drive | PO Box 150 (Paihia), Waitangi 2150, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > North Island > Northland Region > Bay of Islands > Waitangi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Waitangi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Copthorne Hotel & Resort Bay of Islands 3.5*
Number of rooms: 180
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with World Independent Hotel Promotion, Orbitz, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, Hotwire, Travelocity, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Copthorne Hotel & Resort Bay of Islands reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Copthorne Hotel And Resort Bay Of Islands
Copthorne Hotel Paihia
Copthorne Hotel Bay Of Islands
Copthorne Hotel & Resort Bay Of Islands Waitangi

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing