We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A great stay!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Copthorne Hotel & Resort Bay of Islands
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Waitangi
Hobart, Tasmania
Level Contributor
27 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“A great stay!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 6, 2009

We enjoyed a great room only a few steps from the waterfront with a huge, comfy king size bed and sliding doors opening onto a sunny deck. It was too cold to swim in the pool, but we made good use of the hot spa and the bar staff make a mean cocktail which we enjoyed poolside on the sunlounges. The buffet breakfast, which was complimentary with our package deal, was lovely. The staff were very friendly and helpful with tour bookings and local information. The hotel is a few minutes drive from the centre of Paihia, but a shuttle bus is available to drop you in town. The few days we spent here were a lovely, relaxing start to our NZ holiday.

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lilylouise
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

994 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    186
    366
    257
    115
    70
See reviews for
192
519
30
79
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (332)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Middx London
Level Contributor
202 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 82 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 4, 2009

We arrived here as part of an organised trip to the Bay of islands with a tsunami alert on which fortunately turned into a small wave . This Hotel is very much for families all rooms open onto communal grassed area so if you don't mind children skateboarding etc and looking in on you as you sit in the sun it's fine! The pools were open but too cold as early in season. The restaurant was ok and we had breakfast included (which was buffet)
Internet was available fairly cheap in comparison to other places we stayed
Staff helpful and friendly. However am not a Copthorne Hotel fan!

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rosemary64
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Victoria
Level Contributor
93 reviews
71 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 12, 2009

This is a lovely hotel/resort adjacent to the Waitangi Treaty grounds, facing the sea and islands. Its huge, and takes tour groups but we were there out of peak season and no crowds were visible!. Lifts up to the first floor rooms helped. Comfortable room with the largest super king size bed you've ever seen. Great facilities, great bar meals and breakfasts. Friendly and accommodating staff.

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Brightievictoria
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Harrogate, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 15, 2009

Fantastic position, we had one of the beach front rooms, one step of the deck and a 100 foot to the beach. Clean well equipped rooms, dinned in the Hotel one night excellent food and service. would we stay there again YES WE WOULD

  • Stayed December 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Alexa_HouseHarrogate
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
41 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 1, 2009

We just returned from a long weekend at the Copthorne. The room was fantastic, a great rate and a lovely view. Breakfast was reasonably priced, with a good selection of foods. Really nice spa and pool area, which was lovely on a cold winters night. The only issue was the constant noise from the hallway outside our room. Children used the hallway as a running track at all hours of the day. Some parents even used the hallway to discipline their children, throwing a screaming child outside the room. We would stay there again if the price was right but would request a room in a different section of the complex.

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GeriNZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 30, 2009

Stayed in a waterview room with buffet breakfast included. Very clean room with comfortable king bed. The view was amazing, right on the water. We ordered room service and the food was exceptional. Very well priced. Easily stay there again. WELL DONE COPTHORNE.

  • Stayed April 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ebjag
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Australia
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 27, 2009

We stayed one night with our 2 teenagers at the Copthorne Hotel in the gorgeous Bay of Islands area. Hotel is spread out over a secluded part of the Bay of Islands, right next door to the Waitangi treaty Grounds. We were provided with the 2 best (huge) rooms in the hotel with French doors that opened directly onto the beach. My son loved the pools and spas even though unfortunately it rained whilst we were there. Unfortunately we had noisy neighbours who constantly let their door slam shut in the early morning hours and we also had a staff member trying to open our door at 2am to check if we needed a newspaper!

The staff were very friendly and helpful even recommending the best fish and chips shop in town.

  • Stayed April 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SportsnutAustralia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Waitangi
0.9 mi away
Kingsgate Hotel Autolodge Paihia
0.7 mi away
Sea Spray Suites - Heritage Collection
1.4 mi away
Scenic Hotel Bay of Islands
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
The Waterfront Suites - Heritage Collection
1.4 mi away
Anchorage Motel
Anchorage Motel
#6 of 43 in Paihia
4.5 of 5 bubbles 440 reviews
0.8 mi away
Breakwater Motel
Breakwater Motel
#1 of 43 in Paihia
4.5 of 5 bubbles 602 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Copthorne Hotel & Resort Bay of Islands? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Copthorne Hotel & Resort Bay of Islands

Property: Copthorne Hotel & Resort Bay of Islands
Address: Tau Henare Drive | PO Box 150 (Paihia), Waitangi 2150, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > North Island > Northland Region > Bay of Islands > Waitangi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Waitangi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Copthorne Hotel & Resort Bay of Islands 3.5*
Number of rooms: 180
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, World Independent Hotel Promotion, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Copthorne Hotel & Resort Bay of Islands reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Copthorne Hotel And Resort Bay Of Islands
Copthorne Hotel Paihia
Copthorne Hotel Bay Of Islands
Copthorne Hotel & Resort Bay Of Islands Waitangi

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing