We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Copthorne Hotel & Resort Bay of Islands
If you like this hotel, you might also be interested in
Bay of Islands Gateway Motel(Paihia)(Great Value!)
$95
$89
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Bay Sands Seafront Studios(Paihia)(Great Value!)
$71
$69
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$94
$77
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$212
$178
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$95
$89
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Swiss Chalet Lodge Motel(Paihia)(Great Value!)
$85
$79
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Bayview Motel(Paihia)(Great Value!)
$68
$66
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Bounty Motel(Paihia)(Great Value!)
$62
$55
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Kingsgate Hotel Autolodge Paihia(Paihia)(Great Value!)
$87
$74
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Austria Motel(Paihia)(Great Value!)
$61
$59
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (1,175)
Filter reviews
1,175 results
Traveler rating
221
425
299
134
96
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
221
425
299
134
96
Show reviews that mention
All reviewstreaty groundsshuttle busbuffet dinnerpool areabeautiful locationa sea view roombit datedtennis courtsthe ground floorbayviewspaihiarabbitsdeckwaterfront
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
1,095 - 1,100 of 1,175 reviews
Reviewed January 11, 2009

We stayed in a sea-view room for 4 nights, including New Year's Eve. It was a perfect choice to 'base ourselves' for our first visit to the beautiful Bay of Islands.
Our room directly opened on to a huge lawned area that rolled down to the seafront - it was a gorgeous setting, however, we were very surprised to find there was no air-conditioning or no ceiling fan. Hard to believe it has a 4 star rating! Upon request, we were delivered a pedestel fan for additional comfort. Also, we requested some insect spray as there were no screens on the door or louvred windows....blow-flies and the occasional huge bees found their way inside easily. The lady (duty-manager) at the time almost scoffed at us for requesting insect spray, but it was supplied promptly.
The restaurant provided a special buffet dinner for New Year's Eve which was really nice with lots of local seafood. Waiting staff were very attentive & helpful. We watched the fireworks explode over the bay from the comfort of our balcony and listened to the music from the restaurant.
On our 3rd morning, the 'egg lady chef' at breakfast simply 'disappeared' leaving eggs frying in the pan. It could have had serious consequenses if supervisory staff had not noticed and removed the pan before it lit up. Needless, to say, we had an alternative choice to eggs (there was plenty of variety) and noticed her absence on our final morning as well.
Overall, it was lovely with those few minor problems mentioned. I would definitely advise ensuring some type of air-conditioning or fans be requested before booking. As a 4 star resort, we just assumed that would be fundamental.

  • Stayed: December 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank Wendy2401
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 10, 2008

Very convenient for visiting the Waitangi Treaty grounds - you just walkl through the hotel gardens around the bay. We had a garden room and were very satisfied with it. Not large, but all you needed and a small seating area outside. The staff were helpful, particularly the receptionist. The food in the restaurant was acceptable, but poor compared to other hotels of the same quality. As there were so many tour groups there the buffet breakfast was the usual bland one. Dinner was fine the first night - a barbecue, but less so the second night. The location of the hotel meant that there was a drive into Paihia if you wanted to eat elsewhere. Lots to do in the area + the hotel had a pool. The view of the Bay of Islands from the grounds was superb.

  • Stayed: November 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank OldieEastMidlands
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 20, 2008

I agree with this other post.

This 'luxury' hotel is a joke. The 'garden rooms' end is dated and reminiscent of a 1970s British holiday camp. The waterfront end is newer, but already showing signs of bad workmanship (bad grouting and sealant in bathroom and mould round showerhead).


The staff on reception were twits to say the least - had no idea and couldn't care less.

Breakfast buffet - average.

Rooms old and decor horrible - make sure you don't get stuck in the old wing as we did - demand the new wing or go elsewhere.

  • Stayed: September 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sparkle59
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 31, 2008

Had a read these reviews before we checked in I probably wouldn't have checked in, but actually we had a very pleasant stay.

It was a rainy evening and we had driven up to Paihia and needed somewhere to stay. We popped in and the guy on reception was exceptionally helpful and gave us, probably the best room in the hotel, for just $100 including breakfast.

The hotel was virtually empty (it was July) and the room we got was a bit of hike but literally within a few paces of the Waitangi Treaty Grounds. We had large double doors within a few meters of the beach and it had been totally refurbished with a super king bed and spotless bathroom.

We found all staff to be exceptionally helpful during our stay - which we ended up extending for a further night. Room service was pretty good, breakfast a little hit or miss but we weren't that bothered as we were paying such a low rate.

I enjoyed the hot spa in the swimming complex.

I can, however, understand that if you're staying at a peak period and paying alot more than we were plus you get dumped at the back in one of the garden rooms you're not going to have a great time. We also had someone in the room above us on our last night and heavy footsteps would have become pretty annoying after a while.

  • Stayed: July 2008, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Desparately_seeking
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 9, 2008

Actually, I'm a little picky about my hotels, and I thought it was a fine place to stay. Our room was non-smoking, on the main floor. It was a nice size with a complete outer wall of shutters which opened to a lovely sitting area (where we ate our breakfast and sipped our hot chocolate each morning) with a full window looking out onto the water. We were there during a stormy winter week, but still found things to do. We never tried their breakfast as there is a market close by "Woolworths" where we were able to purchase good breakfast items. Some of the best fish and chips was found close by, as well as other good restaurants. I'm quite surprised by some of the negative comments...maybe we were in a newer section?

  • Stayed: June 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Thank traveling-girl49
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews