We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A bit out of the way”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Copthorne Hotel & Resort Bay of Islands
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Waitangi
Reviewed June 30, 2014

Nice grounds near an historic setting. Pleasant but long walk to the village of Paihia. Great area for a wide variety of outdoor activities. Average rooms, many with a nice ocean view. Pleasant coffee/tea area albeit somewhat slow service. Hotel had a nice pool but a bit too chilly when we were there to use it. Nothing stands out except the setting.

Room Tip: Ocean view was nice.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Al B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tina A, Front Office Manager at Copthorne Hotel & Resort Bay of Islands, responded to this reviewResponded July 15, 2014

Thank you for your feedback! We take all feedback seriously and sincerely regret not all aspects of your stay were to your fullest satisfaction. Make sure you ask for the complimentary courtesy shuttle to Paihia town - it only takes 5 minuts drive. I have addressed your feedback in regards of service with our staff. I hope that on another occasion we will be able to welcome you back to the Copthorne Bay of Islands.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,076)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

565 - 571 of 1,076 reviews

Reviewed June 11, 2014

1 - Ciders ordered out of stock. Brought alternative brand and incorrect flovour, without mentioning it.No ginger beer , No coke, Brought Pepsi that tasted like a "sodastream" . Pricing
Expensive
2 - Salt pot on dinner table - stopper missing - so no salt
3 - Had vouchers for a weekend. Same dinner menu produced for both nights.You would think they would cater for this scenario. After telling waitress to talk to chef - they offered alternative. Waitress unhelpful and arrogent. We opted out as the evening was spoilt.
4 - Rooms lack ventilation - only a fan that could make an aeroplane fly
5 - Had to swop jug twice due to being filthy
6 - Bathroom tiles have water probem underneath - you have to put lots of towels to keep dry
7 - Breakfast - Great , but both mornings - dirty cutlery , plates, and bowls.

You get the feeling that the place is run down and lacks staff (especially trained staff). Pity as it is a great spot and area to visit

Stayed: June 2014, traveled with family
Thank Jaffanorthshore
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tina A, Front Office Manager at Copthorne Hotel & Resort Bay of Islands, responded to this reviewResponded June 13, 2014

Thanks for taking the time to write a review. Your feedback is invaluable to help us providing the best service possible. We have addressed the issues you had in the restaurant with our staff, in particular items being out of stock and the dirty or missing table settings. Our winter dinner special had certain terms and conditions attached to it, however our staff try their best to offer guests some variation where possible. Instead of air conditioning all of our rooms have a ceiling fan and access to the grounds or a balcony. We have since checked our rooms for leaks in the bathroom that could have caused your issues. Please let me ensure you, our service standards are extremely high. Your feedback will be included in our training processes.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 3, 2014

We stayed at this hotel in February 2014. Loved the setting, the pool was beautiful and the bed was one of the best we have slept on. But the reception staff were somewhat unfriendly. No greeting smile to make you feel welcome and only one of them actually seem to care about helping you.

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Gay R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tina A, Front Office Manager at Copthorne Hotel & Resort Bay of Islands, responded to this reviewResponded June 13, 2014

Thanks for taking the time to give us some feedback on your stay. Our natural rock pool is definitely a great spot for the summer! I have taken your feedback on board and have addressed the issue with the team. I hope to welcome you back in the near future for a more satisfactory experience with our staff.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 2, 2014

My last review of Copthorne Bay of Islands was a few months ago and was certainly not a recommendation. However, I'm a changed person - this hotel takes feedback seriously and along with a New General Manager appears they have really cleaned up their act. I stay here for a week every 3 weeks for work and the staff acknowledge me by name, know my favourite meal and always have my favourite room available. The staff here don't mind showing you the rooms so you can have a choice (this is the best advice I can give - check them out, I personally get an accessible room as it has a shower not shower over bath). Steve who is a duty manager always goes the extra mile and is someone I would recommend talking to if you are a regular visitor.
Here's a hint if you're visiting - ask for "yager" who works on the bar (short female) she makes the most amazing mojitos including a special Apple Mojito - you won't be disappointed.

I now don't stay elsewhere as I'm impressed with the turnaround of this place and how much they have genuinely taken feedback, not many hotels do that!

PS: Don't forget to take some bread for the seagulls - they will come right up to you if you want a photo opportunity :)

Room Tip: The 700 wing is the most up to date wing but ask the staff to look through all the rooms. Disabled r...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Clayt0n_NZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tina A, Front Office Manager at Copthorne Hotel & Resort Bay of Islands, responded to this reviewResponded June 13, 2014

Dear Clayton, thanks for taking the time to give us some feedback on the changes you have noticed. We definitely try our best to cater to our regulars and make their stay as comfortable as possible. Guest feedback is important to us and is a central part in all management meetings. I am looking forward to welcoming you back again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 2, 2014 via mobile

The hotel is very modern and in an excellent location for many activities. Was impressed by the friendly staff and the quality of the rooms. Highly recommend this Hotel as the place to be when visiting Pahaia.

  • Stayed: April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Buttarboyz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tina A, Front Office Manager at Copthorne Hotel & Resort Bay of Islands, responded to this reviewResponded June 13, 2014

I appreciate you taking the time to give us some feedback on your stay. We definitely have one of the best locations in town with magnificent ocean view rooms. Our staff work hard to deliver the best experience possible and will be happy to hear they have contributed to another enjoyable stay! We hope to welcome you back in the near future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 1, 2014 via mobile

Overall it is pretty good. But the sound insulation is terrible. We could hear water sound and door bang sounds from next door. It was quite loud too.: ( breakfast buffet is ok. But not as good as I expected. But the room is OK. Location is convenient.

  • Stayed: May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lisalyssa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tina A, Front Office Manager at Copthorne Hotel & Resort Bay of Islands, responded to this reviewResponded June 13, 2014

Thanks for your feedback! I am pleased to read you had a satisfactory stay. Your feedback is important for us to deliver the best possible experience. Your comments have been taken on board.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 31, 2014

The advantages of coming here in winter are numerous;
1. The outdoor spa pool (in the beautifully landscaped pool area) is a perfect temperature and not crowded.
2. You can get a real bargain on room rates. (I would recommend going for the sea view rooms, the fabulous view is really worth it)
3. The whole place has a peaceful relaxing feel due to fewer guests
4. You don't have to get up early to see the sun rise across the bay (It rose at 7.23am today and we watched from our room)

The stunning location of this hotel is its main drawcard. However the rooms are well appointed and the buffet dinner at the restaurant was also great. Breakfast was pretty good too. The staff were very friendly. The pool area was very beautiful.
If you are very particular you may notice some paint peeling on the bathroom ceiling but really this is of little consequence.
We had a wonderfully relaxing weekend here celebrating our wedding anniversary.

  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 22KiwiTraveller22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tina A, Front Office Manager at Copthorne Hotel & Resort Bay of Islands, responded to this reviewResponded June 13, 2014

It is great to hear we could contribute to a great wedding anniversary. The Bay of Islands is definitely a great winter getaway - often praised as the winterless north. You will be pleased to hear we have a maintenance schedule in place to fix up little blemishes in the rooms in order to keep them fresh. Make sure you ask our friendly staff for winter specials on activities around the Bay as well!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Waitangi
0.9 mi away
Kingsgate Hotel Autolodge Paihia
0.7 mi away
Sea Spray Suites - Heritage Collection
1.5 mi away
Scenic Hotel Bay of Islands
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
The Waterfront Suites - Heritage Collection
1.3 mi away
Edgewater Palms Apartments
2.3 mi away
Duke of Marlborough Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Copthorne Hotel & Resort Bay of Islands? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Copthorne Hotel & Resort Bay of Islands

Address: Tau Henare Drive | PO Box 150, Waitangi 2150, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > North Island > Northland Region > Bay of Islands > Waitangi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Waitangi
Price Range: $79 - $224 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Copthorne Hotel & Resort Bay of Islands 3.5*
Number of rooms: 180
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, DerbySoft Ltd Shanghai HQ Supplier Direct, Hotwire, getaroom.com, Orbitz, Cancelon, Travelocity, HotelQuickly and TripOnline SA so you can book your Copthorne Hotel & Resort Bay of Islands reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Copthorne Hotel And Resort Bay Of Islands
Copthorne Hotel Paihia
Copthorne Hotel Bay Of Islands
Copthorne Hotel & Resort Bay Of Islands Waitangi

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing