We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Copthorne Hotel & Resort Bay of Islands
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
View Hotel
Great 4.5/5
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
A1 Motel(Paihia)
View Hotel
Excellent 5/5
    View Hotel
    Very Good 4/5
    • Free Wifi
    • Free Parking
    View Hotel
    Great 4.5/5
    Certificate of Excellence
    • Free Wifi
    • Free Parking
    View Hotel
    Great 4.5/5
    Certificate of Excellence
    • Free Wifi
    • Free Parking
    View Hotel
    Great 4.5/5
    Certificate of Excellence
    • Free Wifi
    • Free Parking
    View Hotel
    Great 4.5/5
    Certificate of Excellence
    • Free Wifi
    • Free Parking
    View Hotel
    Very Good 4/5
    Certificate of Excellence
    • Free Wifi
    • Free Parking
    Bounty Motel(Paihia)
    View Hotel
    Very Good 4/5
    Certificate of Excellence
    • Free Wifi
    • Free Parking
    View Hotel
    Very Good 4/5
    • Free Parking
    • Pool
    Reviews (1,173)
    Filter reviews
    1,173 results
    Traveler rating
    221
    425
    298
    134
    95
    Traveler type
    Time of year
    LanguageAll languages
    More languages
    221
    425
    298
    134
    95
    Show reviews that mention
    All reviewstreaty groundsshuttle busbuffet dinnerpool areabeautiful locationa sea view roombit datedtennis courtsthe ground floorbayviewspaihiarabbitsdeckwaterfront
    FilterAll languages
    Updating list...
    670 - 675 of 1,173 reviews
    Reviewed April 27, 2014

    The hotel's location next to the Bay can't be faulted, but the place itself was a big disappointment. We'd stayed in other hotels in the chain on our trip so kind of knew what to expect, glitzy reception area, bar and restaurant but pretty tired and dour rooms, and certainly not 4 star in our opinion. My biggest issue with this hotel was the wifi access, incredibly expensive and even the 20 minutes free in reception wasn't exactly that, it had a tiny download limit so accessing emails consumed the allowance in a couple of minutes! How come bars, coffee shops, small bed and breakfasts can offer free wifi but a big hotel chain wants to charge small fortune for it? Wouldn't stay in this chain of hotels on a return trip

    • Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
      • Value
      • Location
      • Sleep Quality
      • Rooms
      • Cleanliness
      • Service
    Thank Noosaman
    This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
    Tina A, Front Office Manager at Copthorne Hotel & Resort Bay of Islands, responded to this reviewResponded May 3, 2014

    We appreciate your feedback about your stay. We definitely have one of the best locations in town at the edge of the waterfront. I am sorry you didn't enjoy your room. We are updating the maintenance schedule to keep our rooms fresh. We are also currently looking into different internet options we can offer and your feedback will be incorported into the process.

    Report response as inappropriate
    This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
    Reviewed April 27, 2014

    We deliberately chose to stay here again because of the fantastic views and the closeness to the Waitangi Treaty Grounds and local walks. The views and the trip round Waitangi were as good as ever, but the minus points we noted last time (4 years ago) have got worse: the hotel is mainly concerned with processing large coach parties who stay one night and move on, consequently there is little interest in helping individual travellers or in building up a rapport. The shuttle service to Paihia town stops at 5.30 and the driver was very reluctant to take us and our suitcases from the coach stop to the hotel. The main dinner option is a buffet designed to appeal to the coach parties, however, if you ask, there is an excellent a la carte menu and we found a delightful waiter who was only too pleased to serve individual travellers. It is worth staying at this hotel for the reasons mentioned, but be aware that individual travellers will come 2nd to Corporate bookings.

    Room Tip: Ask for harbour view
    • Stayed: April 2014, traveled as a couple
      • Value
      • Location
      • Sleep Quality
      • Rooms
      • Cleanliness
      • Service
    Thank Victorians63
    This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
    Tina A, Front Office Manager at Copthorne Hotel & Resort Bay of Islands, responded to this reviewResponded May 3, 2014

    Thanks for your comments. Your feedback is invaluable in helping us providing an outstanding guest experience. My sincere apologies that the service did not meet your expectations. I have addressed your issues with the staff. The resort attracts a range of guests and we aim at making everyone's stay comfortable and enjoyable. Our restaurant offers both a buffet and a A la Carte menu depending on which serves our guests in-house best. I am pleased to hear you enjoyed your meals and hope we can offer your an improved experience if you choose to visit again.

    Report response as inappropriate
    This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
    Reviewed April 26, 2014

    The hotel is in a nice location, and has many amenities. Outdoor spa in faux rock pool is nice. Room was good size and in good condition. The tea kettle was a bit grungy and we ask for and received another one. Booking in advance was a good deal compared with other motels, B&Bs, or campgrounds. Sure it was a bit more expensive, but with all the benefits it was well worth it to us. So good for a couple days in the area. If staying longer then a bach would likely be better and more economical.

    • Stayed: April 2014, traveled as a couple
      • Value
      • Location
      • Sleep Quality
      • Rooms
      • Cleanliness
      • Service
    Thank Dr_fishguy
    This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
    Tina A, Front Office Manager at Copthorne Hotel & Resort Bay of Islands, responded to this reviewResponded May 3, 2014

    Thanks for your review. It is great to read we were able to contribute to a satisfactory holiday. Our staff work hard to try and rectify any discrepancies immidiately and I am glad to hear we could solve any issues that arose during your stay. If you choose to stay longer, we offer discounted rates for 3 nights or longer.

    Report response as inappropriate
    This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
    Reviewed April 25, 2014

    Nice gardens, pool and reception area but the room was very disappointing.

    We got a great deal and were looking forward to staying at the resort expecting a four star experience.

    The room was really cold with no air conditioning or heating available apart from a blow/fan heater from the 70's attached to the wall which was ridiculously loud. Would hate to think what it would be like in the middle of winter! There was no mini bar or no Sky TV and the decor is in desperate need of an upgrade. Small things, but they are what I would expect at a 4 star resort.

    The pool and spa area was nice with a great outlook to the water. The location was a little way from the shops and restaurants in Paihai but loads of parking and right next to the boat ramp. They also run a shuttle to town during certain hours.

    Not sure what the superior rooms or the seaview rooms are like, but if I was to stay again I definitely wouldn't want to stay in one the standard rooms!

    Room Tip: Don't stay in a standard room they are below average
    • Stayed: April 2014, traveled as a couple
      • Value
      • Location
      • Sleep Quality
      • Rooms
      • Cleanliness
      • Service
    Thank Lisa0123456
    This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
    Tina A, Front Office Manager at Copthorne Hotel & Resort Bay of Islands, responded to this reviewResponded May 3, 2014

    We appreciate you taking the time to give us some feedback on your stay. It is great to hear you made use of some of our facilities including the natural-rock pool and our complimentary courtesy shuttle.
    I am sorry that not all aspects of your stay were to your satisfaction. I believe some of the amenities in the room were not communicated to you correctly and have addressed this with the staff. We do offer minibar items on request. We also have selected Sky Channels. Do not hesitate to contact our reception staff if those are not functioning correctly. We would like to offer you a more satisfactory experience if you choose to stay again.

    Report response as inappropriate
    This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
    Reviewed April 25, 2014

    The hotel is very well positioned, with fine views looking over the bay. The dinner on both nights was good. The internet access is expensive (as with many hotels in NZ). The front of house manager was very helpful and sought to redress the problems with internet access.

    • Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
      • Value
      • Location
      • Sleep Quality
      • Rooms
      • Cleanliness
      • Service
    Thank Frank B
    This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
    Tina A, Front Office Manager at Copthorne Hotel & Resort Bay of Islands, responded to this reviewResponded May 3, 2014

    I am pleased to hear you were able to enjoy our stunning views and take in the beautiful scenery around us. We are currently looking at different options for the internet prices and your feedback is invaluable in this process. You comments about dinner have been passed on to the chefs who will be delighted to hear that our new menu is successful. We hope to welcome you back for another visit in the near future.

    Report response as inappropriate
    This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
    View more reviews