We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Copthorne Hotel & Resort Bay of Islands
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
View Hotel
Great 4.5/5
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
A1 Motel(Paihia)
View Hotel
Excellent 5/5
    View Hotel
    Very Good 4/5
    • Free Wifi
    • Free Parking
    View Hotel
    Great 4.5/5
    Certificate of Excellence
    • Free Wifi
    • Free Parking
    View Hotel
    Great 4.5/5
    Certificate of Excellence
    • Free Wifi
    • Free Parking
    View Hotel
    Great 4.5/5
    Certificate of Excellence
    • Free Wifi
    • Free Parking
    View Hotel
    Great 4.5/5
    Certificate of Excellence
    • Free Wifi
    • Free Parking
    View Hotel
    Very Good 4/5
    Certificate of Excellence
    • Free Wifi
    • Free Parking
    Bounty Motel(Paihia)
    View Hotel
    Very Good 4/5
    Certificate of Excellence
    • Free Wifi
    • Free Parking
    View Hotel
    Very Good 4/5
    • Free Parking
    • Pool
    Reviews (1,173)
    Filter reviews
    1,173 results
    Traveler rating
    221
    425
    298
    134
    95
    Traveler type
    Time of year
    LanguageAll languages
    More languages
    221
    425
    298
    134
    95
    Show reviews that mention
    All reviewstreaty groundsshuttle busbuffet dinnerpool areabeautiful locationa sea view roombit datedtennis courtsthe ground floorbayviewspaihiarabbitsdeckwaterfront
    FilterAll languages
    Updating list...
    711 - 716 of 1,173 reviews
    Reviewed January 27, 2014

    Great value, fantastic staff and affordable yet scrumptious food!
    One downside - no air con! Had to ask for a pedestal fan for the room, also bathroom could do with a renovation.

    Try their cocktails - Apple Mojito was amazing, great bar staff convinced me to try it :)

    Room Tip: No lift to upstairs! Try to get downstairs if you have a lot of bags and check how close to a carpark it is.
    • Stayed: January 2014, traveled on business
      • Value
      • Location
      • Sleep Quality
      • Rooms
      • Cleanliness
      • Service
    1  Thank Clayt0n_NZ
    This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
    Reviewed January 26, 2014

    We have travelled to the Bay of Islands many times but this was our first visit to the Copthorne and we only chose it as everywhere else was tremendously expensive in January. I read the reviews here before booking and, while not wonderful, they weren't terrible and I thought we would be OK as we would be out and about in the daytime anyway. Wrong. The worst part about our stay was the sleep quality.

    The hotel is in the most fabulous location and we paid extra for sea views which we were definitely grateful for as these were the only redeeming feature of this hotel. Any hotel in this location and with the amount of ground they have, could and SHOULD be great. But it is not. even first impressions were rubbish with the reception lady not being able to find me on the system for some time.

    But, now we come to the real problems. Firstly, the place is desperately in need of refurbishment. It is old-fashioned, smells musty, the rooms are small and very corporate aka boring with teeny tiny bathrooms. There is no air conditioning, merely ceiling fans. The walls and floors are paper thin so all you hear all the time are people walking up and down the corridors, opening and closing doors, children running and shouting etc etc etc. The rooms are poorly services eg they provide a reasonably priced mini bar but why buy wine when there are no glasses to drink it from? The bed cover had a small area which was completely worn through and we found things belonging to previous guests in the room.

    Secondly, we were unfortunate enough to be allocated room 201, directly outside the restaurant. It is very strange indeed to have to access a whole corridor of rooms via the restaurant but there is an external route as well. This did not put me off too much at first until we realised we were also directly next to the bar and the pool. So, the corporate function that included outside dining and KARAOKE that went on until 3am became a little wearing as they may as well have been in our room singing directly on our ears. Then from 6am onwards the kitchen, restaurant and corridor noises and traffic continuously "entertained" us but in a very irritating and wearing way. Even the next night when there was no corporate event the bar and restaurant noise went on well into the small hours. Now we are a couple without children but I can imaging families trying to get children to sleep would have been besides themselves.

    We did not have a package which included breakfast so we went to Paihia and ate there as the hotel depressed us so much we did not want to spend more than a minute longer than necessary there. We did however have a drink at the bar one evening only to be poured the wrong drinks twice. We couldn't be bothered to correct them the second time so just drank drinks we didn't order or like.

    On checking out, we tried to raise some of these issues with Stan on the front desk but simply received a half-hearted attempt at an explanation with regards to the karaoke.

    Now, this hotel is huge with a vast number of rooms. So, there are two things that spring to my mind that they could do better. Firstly, when hosting a corporate event, put the attendees nearest to the action and put the rest of the guests in the quieter rooms further away. Not rocket science. Secondly, while the Bay of Islands is packed in the New Zealand summer and quieter in the winter, they could have a continual programme of upgrade and refurbishment throughout those winter months. Again, not rocket science - even I can work this out and I have no special knowledge of the hospitality business.

    Finally, they may want to think about parking. There are not enough spaces for the number of rooms and it is a bunfight to find a space with people parked absolutely everywhere.

    So, would we return here? Absolutely not, unless these 2 issues could be addressed. Again, I would stress - this hotel COULD and SHOULD be wonderful. It is not. It is absolutely terrible.

    Room Tip: Avoid any room beginning with 2 and especially 201. The rooms without sea views generally look out on parked cars
    • Stayed: January 2014, traveled with family
      • Value
      • Location
      • Sleep Quality
      • Rooms
      • Cleanliness
      • Service
    Thank nesbitevans
    This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
    Reviewed January 24, 2014

    We had a long weekend in Paihia and the Copthorne did not disappoint. Even though it was a weekend and there were two weddings on, they were able to accommodate us in a superior room (a voucher upgrade) which had spectacular views of the bay.

    The room was nice and clean and the linen was clean (a big deal for us) and the staff were very helpful. For the price we paid, what we got was well worth it.

    • Stayed: January 2014, traveled with family
      • Value
      • Location
      • Sleep Quality
      • Rooms
      • Cleanliness
      • Service
    Thank Gerald N
    This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
    Reviewed January 23, 2014

    Super friendly staff, amazing views from room/deck. Meal in restaurant was delicious - wish we could have stayed longer. Great pool area - at check in a lovely young man ensured my request of rooms next to each other was fulfilled.

    Real luxury at a good price

    Room Tip: We upgraded to superior plus & room was amazing
    • Stayed: January 2014, traveled with family
      • Value
      • Location
      • Sleep Quality
      • Rooms
      • Cleanliness
      • Service
    Thank Babs729
    This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
    Reviewed January 20, 2014

    We stayed a couple of nights in this wonderful place next to the treaty grounds ,a beautiful panorama, spacious location, but the service was very modest.
    In the bar, we had to ask after waiting a long time for being serviced, and even asked to clean the table from
    Last visitors meal, meat rests were not put away, nor the table cleaned.
    The chairs in the restaurant were sometimes very dirty.
    the pool ran out of towels and we were recommended to pick up our towels from our rooms!
    The reception desk tried to be helpful.
    So all in all, there needs to be right management to correct things!

    Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
    Thank Courtmanght
    This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
    View more reviews