We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Lovely Stay” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Copthorne Hotel & Resort Bay of Islands

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Copthorne Hotel & Resort Bay of Islands
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Waitangi
Auckland Region, New Zealand
1 review
“Lovely Stay”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 13, 2014

My better half and I came her for our 3rd year anniversary. We stayed in a harbour view room for 2 nights with breakfast included. We felt this package was a very good deal and the views from our room did not disappoint. Everything was clean and tidy and the staff were very friendly and helpful. We liked the fact that the resort was not in the town centre like many other accommodations, as it felt more private and was nice and quiet. Thoroughly enjoyed our stay and would recommend in the future.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Nicola S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

981 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    180
    363
    256
    112
    70
See reviews for
188
514
29
77
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (327)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Auckland Region, New Zealand
1 review
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 13, 2014

My family of 4 adults and 2 kids stayed for 4 days over NY's. The staff were nice but non of them seemed to know what the heck they were doing! The check in was troublesome with me being requested to being my own bed for my son - and bedding...even though we had paid for the correct rooms for our kids too. Some of the staff were very helpful but all of our family felt like the service really made this a place we would not return to :-( Great pool area

Room Tip: we booked 2 superior doubles rooms with children's beds but we got 2 completely different rooms...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Amanda385
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bury
Level Contributor
51 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 11, 2014 via mobile

We could not deny the location was great, but the hotel is in great need of updating and a facelift, it is living in the 80's. Don't expect much from the restaurant food either which was a big disappointment, yet staff made up for bad menu, they where excellent, not the mangers, who are hard to find, but staff made our visit memorable. Won't be going back!

Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank kathryn11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Waitangi hotels

Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
16 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 10, 2014 via mobile

My husband and I stayed here in a standard Garden View room for three nights in December 2013. The reception staff were professional and the rooms were clean.
The room had a decent sized balcony and a large tv. However the king sized bed was two single beds pushed together which had an uncomfortable gap in the middle.
The pool and spa facilities were very nice, I would have liked to have an adults only spa though.
The bar had a limited cocktail menu and had run out of some liqueurs so not all cocktails were available and not all the bar staff new how to make cocktails.
The free wifi is available in the reception foyer for 20 minutes a day with only one log in allowed per day. We were here for a holiday so this wasn't an issue for us.
We really enjoyed our stay in the Bay of Islands, a few small improvements would make this good resort a great one. I would recommend my friends and family to stay here.

Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Sally M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 8, 2014

Would not recommend
Frustrating that room cards are affected by phones. Needed to change twice.need to sort out. I travel a lot and never had the issues
Towel policy of signing for is ridiculous !
Buffett at $45 per head is terrible value. Asked manager twice for towels to go swimming. None were forthcoming. Left over food piled up on cocktail bar in heat not picked up for ages. Rooms look like something out of 1980's decor
Great location just not backed up
Could be so good here !!

  • Stayed January 2014
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Dickie46
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gloucester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
103 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 8, 2014 via mobile

This hotel has the potential to be a lovely location, but I'm afraid the upkeep leaves a lot to be desired. It needs a good upgrade and better housekeeping. The bathroom had no plug and had hair in the bath. The exterior windows on the staircases needed a really good wash and we're full of cobwebs. Pool areas look scruffy and weedy in the gardens. I'd also like to add the that Copthorne website is confusing, leading me to believe that I had paid, when I had not. DO visit the tarty site next door as it really is worth a visit.

Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Martin H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 5, 2014

Got to the desk at 12:30 and they said check in was at 2pm.hung around until then. Went back at 2pm and they said it was still not ready. We went to the pool for a swim and they said they would let us know when it was ready. At 3pm it was still not ready so we went to the bar for a drink. At 3:30 we went back and the room was still not ready. After much complaining about this they finally got the room ready for us?

No apology and there were a lot of people in the same boat as us.

Won't be back

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Brassy89
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Waitangi
0.9 mi away
Kingsgate Hotel Autolodge Paihia
0.7 mi away
Sea Spray Suites - Heritage Collection
1.5 mi away
Scenic Hotel Bay of Islands
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
The Waterfront Suites - Heritage Collection
2.4 mi away
Duke of Marlborough Hotel
0.9 mi away
Breakwater Motel
Breakwater Motel
#1 of 44 in Paihia
4.5 of 5 bubbles 592 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Copthorne Hotel & Resort Bay of Islands? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Copthorne Hotel & Resort Bay of Islands

Property: Copthorne Hotel & Resort Bay of Islands
Address: Tau Henare Drive | PO Box 150 (Paihia), Waitangi 2150, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > North Island > Northland Region > Bay of Islands > Waitangi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Waitangi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Copthorne Hotel & Resort Bay of Islands 3.5*
Number of rooms: 180
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with World Independent Hotel Promotion, Orbitz, Expedia, Booking.com and Hotels.com so you can book your Copthorne Hotel & Resort Bay of Islands reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Copthorne Hotel And Resort Bay Of Islands
Copthorne Hotel Paihia
Copthorne Hotel Bay Of Islands
Copthorne Hotel & Resort Bay Of Islands Waitangi

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing