We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great Stay”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Copthorne Hotel & Resort Bay of Islands
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Waitangi
Whangarei
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Great Stay”
Reviewed September 3, 2013

The hotel is located in a lovely position - on the harbour's edge and adjacent to the Waitangi Treaty grounds. The breakfasts are good and staff particularly helpful & friendly. The rooms are a good size, well appointed and ours had a balcony overlooking the grounds & harbour. There is no traffic noise.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a harbour view
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DavidColley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MeaganVJ, Manager at Copthorne Hotel & Resort Bay of Islands, responded to this review, September 9, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to let us know your comments.

Regards,
Meagan Karow
Rooms Division Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,013 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    186
    375
    263
    119
    70
See reviews for
193
530
30
82
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (337)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Gainesville, Florida
Level Contributor
250 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 850 helpful votes
Reviewed September 2, 2013

This is our second stay at this property. Get the Hobson Suite because it has a spectacular of the water on both sides. We arrived, this time, in what we would call a hurricane in Florida. However, the staff (Ms Livett, the manager) was so entertaining and helpful....and, we were NOT evacuated as in FL. She and her staff recommended restaurants and activities that were great. Be sure to take the ferry to Russell Island... we walked everywhere. A wonderful MEAT PIE Bakery is about 5min away - Krumz Bakery ---- tell Andrew we said " HI". We shall return here again.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Patricia W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MeaganVJ, Manager at Copthorne Hotel & Resort Bay of Islands, responded to this review, September 9, 2013
It sounds like you made the most of your stay! Will pass on your regards down the road. Look forward to your return.

Regards,
Meagan Karow
Rooms Division Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed August 24, 2013

We stayed at this hotel for two nights in the middle of August (winter) so the hotel was fairly quiet but the staff were extremely friendly and welcoming. Our room was on the 2nd floor directly overlooking the beach front, with a small balcony furnished with a small table and 2 chairs. The room itself was a decent size for two people, consisting of a large bed, a good sized tv, fridge, wardrobe and a fantastic bathroom.
The location of the hotel is about a 5 minute drive into the town centre but far away enough that it provides privacy and a place to relax and unwind. Amazing place

Room Tip: Hibiscus Wing is in an amazing location, the second floor has a balcony that overlooks the beach fro...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Andrea R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MeaganVJ, Manager at Copthorne Hotel & Resort Bay of Islands, responded to this review, August 26, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to let us know about your experience with us in the Bay. We do hope you will return in the not too distant future.

Regards,
Meagan Karow
Rooms Division Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
32 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed August 2, 2013

Bay of Islands is a great place all year round, as it have activities ranging from golf to kayak, ferry trips and more. This hotel is about 30 to 37 minutes walking distance from Paihia town. The Copthorne hotel have a shuttle service that can be used as long as you let them know where are you to be picked up. There's plenty of car parking too. The hotel itself is big,clean and tastefully decorated. The staff is certainly attentive and professional. It caters for people with little movility and also there are lifts to got o the 2nd floor.
The rooms are nice, clean, spacious and provides tea, coffee; extra blankets, pillows, etc. They provide 30 min free wifi per day of stay. There is a restaurant and a bar that provides food all day and happy hour drinks. I would not recommend the food as I was very disapointed, is very pricey for the quality of food I got. Until they change chef, dont get food there. Plenty of restaurants and cafes in Paihia and Russell. Overall good value for money.

Room Tip: I dont recommend stay in the bedrooms next to the swimming pools as it gets very noisy. It caters fo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Matusepu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MeaganVJ, Manager at Copthorne Hotel & Resort Bay of Islands, responded to this review, August 6, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to leave your feedback. I am delighted to inform you that our new Executive Chef has started and going full steam ahead. We had a few months without one! I would still recommend our restaurant to anyone who asks.
We look forward to your return.

Regards,
Meagan Karow
Rooms Division Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Whangarei, New Zealand
Level Contributor
32 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed July 29, 2013

My husbands surprise birthday getaway was a hit - We were upgraded to a seaside view room with a balcony and even tho it was a mid winter escape for us both...the view was a amazing, the massages at Pure Bliss Spa outstanding!, the hot spa afterwards relaxed us that little bit more and then a gorgeous meal and drinks finished off a wonderful experience. Overall the staff were so friendly and helpful and we would very much like to go back to stay.

Room Tip: Always ask if you can be upgraded, you just never know what the availability is like and that option...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ferne R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MeaganVJ, Manager at Copthorne Hotel & Resort Bay of Islands, responded to this review, July 31, 2013
I am delighted that your stay exceeded your expectations and that the birthday was a success! We look forward to your return. Preferably before next year!

Regards,
Meagan Karow
Rooms Division Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Whangarei Heads, New Zealand
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed July 23, 2013

What a great night away with the kids. Everyone had fun! The spa was fabulous and the cold pools even in mid-winter temps. A tour around the treaty grounds was fun and educational with activities for the kids.
Breakfast which was included in the winter warmer special was just great - a big highlight for all.
As far as service - nothing was a problem! We will be back.

Room Tip: anywhere would be fine. For us central to the car and spa was a good thing!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank rawkosdesign
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MeaganVJ, Manager at Copthorne Hotel & Resort Bay of Islands, responded to this review, July 24, 2013
Delighted that you and the kids enjoyed your stay. We look forward to your return.

Regards,
Meagan Karow
Rooms Division Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland, New Zealand
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed July 22, 2013

Ok where to start ;). Reception staff was friendly and helpful upon a check in. Great with pointing directions and answering questions. Hotel itself is quite dated and screaming for renovation. We not snobs so it was ok, bed was big and comfortable, view out of the room is breathtaking but you can't really enjoy it unless you have room on level 2. Reason being lack of privacy once blinds are open, install a tulle maybe?

Why I rate this hotel only 1 out of 5? There was a party going on the hotel premises from 6pm to 3am, with music, loud talks, people gigling and making lots of noise. It is OK if we would stay in backpackers but for the hotel where we paid 150 per night it is not acceptable. Not really a relaxing environment as such. A call to a reception didn't make any difference, as a mystery "security guy" who was send to investigate, probably joined the party. We travelled all over the world and never came across a lack of response from the hotel staff regarding the noise control. Poor, extremely poor! Next morning no one followed up with us, no one appologised for inconvenience caused. Is that the kind of service everyone should expect from Copthorne Bay of Islands? I hope someone will read this review before buying a voucher to stay with you guys!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Fandorin_S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MeaganVJ, Manager at Copthorne Hotel & Resort Bay of Islands, responded to this review, July 24, 2013
Thank you for your feedback. I apologise for the noise and assure you that the hotel is not usually that noisy. Yes, we did have a conference in and we had a number of noise complaints that night. We have spoken to the organiser of the conference and she has apologised on behalf of her group. The night porter spent most of his evening trying to get guests to keep the noise level down, and our Night Manager also went to a number of rooms. We do try our best to ensure our guests are aware of other guests in the hotel, but sometimes we do not win. I assure you the night porter would not have "joined in the party".

Regards,
Meagan Karow
Rooms Division Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Waitangi hotels

Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Waitangi
0.9 mi away
Kingsgate Hotel Autolodge Paihia
0.7 mi away
Sea Spray Suites - Heritage Collection
1.5 mi away
Scenic Hotel Bay of Islands
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
The Waterfront Suites - Heritage Collection
1.4 mi away
Anchorage Motel
Anchorage Motel
#6 of 43 in Paihia
4.5 of 5 bubbles 444 reviews
0.8 mi away
Breakwater Motel
Breakwater Motel
#1 of 43 in Paihia
4.5 of 5 bubbles 616 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Copthorne Hotel & Resort Bay of Islands? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Copthorne Hotel & Resort Bay of Islands

Property: Copthorne Hotel & Resort Bay of Islands
Address: Tau Henare Drive | PO Box 150 (Paihia), Waitangi 2150, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > North Island > Northland Region > Bay of Islands > Waitangi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Waitangi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Copthorne Hotel & Resort Bay of Islands 3.5*
Number of rooms: 180
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with World Independent Hotel Promotion, Expedia, Hotwire, Booking.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, Priceline, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Copthorne Hotel & Resort Bay of Islands reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Copthorne Hotel And Resort Bay Of Islands
Copthorne Hotel Paihia
Copthorne Hotel Bay Of Islands
Copthorne Hotel & Resort Bay Of Islands Waitangi

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing