We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Peaceful location, plenty to see”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Copthorne Hotel & Resort Bay of Islands
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Waitangi
Reviewed February 10, 2013

We booked a Superior King Bed room for two nights on a Hotbreaks deal as part of our 11 night tour of the North Island. We had asked for a very quiet room and the management came through with Room 737, right at the end of the complex, with a balcony overlooking the Bay and right next to the Waitangi Treaty Grounds which we visited. We hardly heard a sound during our stay. The room and bathroom were large and clean and the bed was huge and comfortable. The TV was quite small and for the size of the room it could have done with an inside table; otherwise there was just a small desk. There was no air-con and so we had to run the ceiling fan since the evenings were warm, but it wasn't too noisy. We had a rental car so didn't need to use the shuttle bus. The pool looked pretty nice but we were too busy to use it. We had the buffet dinner in the restaurant and it was excellent and reasonably priced. The staff were very friendly and helpful and we would definitely stay there again. Agree with other reviewers that WiFi offering could be better for a brand of this kind these days. While there we took the passenger ferry across to Russell which was worth the trip and had a few very relaxing drinks looking back across the Bay from the verandah of the lovely Duke of Marlborough Hotel. We also took a drive to the nearby town of KeriKeri and visited the Stone Store and took a tour of historic Kemp House right next door which was fascinating. The Bay of Islands is a great area to spend a few days, could have spent many more.

Room Tip: Room 737 is large and quiet, with a private balcony looking over the Bay, but a bit of a walk back t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Longplannedholiday
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MeaganVJ, Manager at Copthorne Hotel & Resort Bay of Islands, responded to this reviewResponded February 14, 2013

Thank you for your wonderful feedabck. I must agree that the Bay of Islands is unique in every way and has something for everyone.

Travel safe.

Regards,
Meagan Karow
Rooms Division Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,067)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

749 - 755 of 1,067 reviews

Reviewed February 9, 2013

Only reason not giving an excellent rating is that room could do with a bit of paint inside to spruce it up and fan was dirty on top. Great private spot for Treaty Grounds, Paihia, Russell and Kerikeri daytrips. Stayed 3 nights mid-Jan @ $123 per night for myself + 2 boys aged 15 and 9 yrs by booking more than 60 days in advance. Even a lot cheaper than staying at a backpackers! We had a Queen bed and a bed settee which was fine for us. Very friendly and helpful staff. The boys enjoyed the fantastic natural looking stoneedged pool and I enjoyed the neighbouring spa, both being well-used by all age groups. A slight improvement could be to install a big natural stone slide one end of pool to offset the 'no jumping from stones' sign whichkids didn't take any notice of and had a great time playing tag with newfound friends.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Diane M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MeaganVJ, Manager at Copthorne Hotel & Resort Bay of Islands, responded to this reviewResponded February 14, 2013

Thank you for your comments. delighted you and the boys had a relaxing time and hope you come again.

Regards,
Meagan Karow
Rooms Division Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 7, 2013

ripper place staff were very friendly professional. bit of a melting pot for australians. and new zealanders. but close to every thing. shuttle bus every hour in to town for shopping (have to ring the resort if you want to be picked up from there direct line in town) all tours to any where you want to look at just a stone throw away. good bar for er um liquid refreshments after a hard day touring around.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank col255068
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MeaganVJ, Manager at Copthorne Hotel & Resort Bay of Islands, responded to this reviewResponded February 14, 2013

Delighted you enjoyed your stay, we hope you will come again for a little refreshment!

Regards,
Meagan Karow
Rooms Division Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 7, 2013

This hotel is well positioned, well maintained and the staff are very friendly and helpful. The rooms are clean and comfortable. The wi-fi they offer is 20 minutes or 20 mgs per day(whichever comes first). This is only available in the lobby/restaurant areas. There are two computers available as well for a fee. Really not good enough for a hotel of this calibre.
(On the way out driving south we stopped at a tiny roadside cafe for breakfast..they had free wifi on offer.)
Surely the Copthorne can do better than what they do. Each time I was at reception that was all I heard from the poor staff trying to explain the Internet charges to the unsuspecting guests.

Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
Thank Lindaro
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MeaganVJ, Manager at Copthorne Hotel & Resort Bay of Islands, responded to this reviewResponded February 14, 2013

Thank you for your wonderful comments regarding the staff and hotel. I agree regarding the internet and we are in the process of installing wireless throughout the hotel. It should be done by the end of February at the moment, however regarding the time and mgs allowed, that is governed by our Head Office and is the same for all our hotels.

Regards,
Meagan Karow
Rooms Division Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 6, 2013

Spend 2 nights here in this lovely hotel at the Waitangi historic grounds. We had a deluxe room overlooking the bays and across the islands. Room is of good size, although dated is very functional and all things worked. Staff is friendly as expected of the Kiwis in general. There is a nearby interesting Fish & Chips eatery from an actual old sugar-trading boat that served really good fish & chips and the best mussels chowder I had tasted in NZ! And their freshly chunky chips served on papers do badly on my fat intake but worth the treat. Overall, the Bay of Islands offer so much to explore, dine & wine with so much history to savour. Will be back in that areas for longer period to explore more.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RoamingHorse
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MeaganVJ, Manager at Copthorne Hotel & Resort Bay of Islands, responded to this reviewResponded February 14, 2013

Delighted you enjoyed your stay.
We look forward to your return.

Regards,
Regards,
Meagan Karow
Rooms Division Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 6, 2013

This hotel has many things going for it. It is located in spacious, lawned grounds at the water's edge. Most rooms have a sea view; ours - on the ground floor - had not only a glassed-in area from which to enjoy this view, complete with two easy chairs and a table, but an outside, decked area also with two chairs and table. Although the hotel is out of the town itself, there is a frequent , free shuttle into town and back. Finally, given that most people visit Paihia to head for the Waitangi Treay House and grounds, these are a mere five minute walk away across the lawns.
The only criticism is that free wi-fi (to which we have become accustomed in NZ, was limited to a very parsimonious 20 minutes per day, and that only in the lobby area. Otherwise, I would have given five stars.

Room Tip: Seaspray Wing has the best views
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank payasoru
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MeaganVJ, Manager at Copthorne Hotel & Resort Bay of Islands, responded to this reviewResponded February 14, 2013

Thank you for taking the time to provide feedback. Delighted you enjoyed your stay.

Regards,
Meagan Karow
Rooms Division Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 4, 2013

We visited for four days with another couple. We had a very nice time. Nice accommodations, right on the bay. Beautiful view and grounds. It is next to a Maori important area, Wiatangi signed in 1840 just off the grounds. Bay of Islands boat tour was good too.

Room Tip: No free Wi-Fi, except in the lobby for twenty minutes.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank John K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Waitangi
0.9 mi away
Kingsgate Hotel Autolodge Paihia
0.7 mi away
Sea Spray Suites - Heritage Collection
1.5 mi away
Scenic Hotel Bay of Islands
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
The Waterfront Suites - Heritage Collection
2.3 mi away
Duke of Marlborough Hotel
0.8 mi away
Breakwater Motel
Breakwater Motel
#1 of 43 in Paihia
638 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Copthorne Hotel & Resort Bay of Islands? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Copthorne Hotel & Resort Bay of Islands

Address: Tau Henare Drive | PO Box 150, Waitangi 2150, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > North Island > Northland Region > Bay of Islands > Waitangi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Waitangi
Price Range: $86 - $219 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Copthorne Hotel & Resort Bay of Islands 3.5*
Number of rooms: 180
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with DerbySoft Ltd Shanghai HQ Supplier Direct, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Cancelon, Travelocity, Hotwire, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, HotelQuickly and TripOnline SA so you can book your Copthorne Hotel & Resort Bay of Islands reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Copthorne Hotel And Resort Bay Of Islands
Copthorne Hotel Paihia
Copthorne Hotel Bay Of Islands
Copthorne Hotel & Resort Bay Of Islands Waitangi

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing