We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Ok stay, but leaves a lot to be desired” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Copthorne Hotel & Resort Bay of Islands

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Copthorne Hotel & Resort Bay of Islands
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Waitangi
Wellington, New Zealand
Level Contributor
84 reviews
58 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Ok stay, but leaves a lot to be desired”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 8, 2012

The location is excellent and the room was lovely too however, we had the experience of children running up and down the corridors outside our room for hours on end. However it was the schoool holidays. The hotel is sited in a spectacular site. Rooms adequate and food good as well. Unfortunatelty wifi wa shard toa ccess and we had to go tot he reception area for that. Too noisy for our liking.

Room Tip: if you want a romantic and quiet stay, dontt ravel school holidays
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank SadeWellington
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MeaganVJ, Manager at Copthorne Hotel & Resort Bay of Islands, responded to this review, October 12, 2012
Thank you for your comments. Yes, we do have a number of families travelling with children during the school holidays, some of them are not always quiet! But yes, asking for a room furthest away from reception is a solution. We will try and accommodate, but can never quarantee.

Regards,
Meagan Karow
Rooms Division Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

981 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    180
    363
    256
    112
    70
See reviews for
188
514
29
77
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (327)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
18 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 4, 2012

Room was a disabled room and I'm not disabled. No TV remote. Iron in room was covered in verdigris on plate. Bathroom cabinets were chipped. Shower had low pressure and ran hot to cold to hot. Heater in room old and useless. Free Internet in foyer was cut off after 3 min.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Ned2011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MeaganVJ, Manager at Copthorne Hotel & Resort Bay of Islands, responded to this review, October 5, 2012
Thank you for your comments. As dicussed with you during your stay we would happily have moved your room had you informed us on arrival. Our maintenance department are looking at the chipped cabinet and water pressure. The free wireless in the lobby also has a MB allowance.
I look forward to your return.

Regards,
Meagan Karow
Rooms Division Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Waitangi hotels

Clevedon, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
90 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 19, 2012

We were here for two nights as part of our NZ tour with Scenic Tours so can't comment on price / value aspects but we did have a waterfront room with the deck & sunroom mentioned by other reviewers and enjoyed our stay. The foor was varied and good (breakfast and dinner) the staff were helpful and we got a very welcome free wi-fi access in the reception area. The location is outstanding with the Treaty Grounds just up the road and we had some great fish 'n' chips at the moored ship just over the bridge towards Pahia. All told, an enjoyable time here.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Mike Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MeaganVJ, Manager at Copthorne Hotel & Resort Bay of Islands, responded to this review, September 21, 2012
Thank you for your feedback. I hope that you enjoyed the rest of your tour in New Zealand, and maybe one day you will return.

Regards,
Meagan Karow
Rooms Division Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Whangarei
Level Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 27, 2012

Thanks for a great 3 days in the beautiful Bay of Islands. We had the experience of a helicopter flying in on Saturday and a cruise ship moored out in our view on the Sunday. All the staff were very friendly and efficient . we will be back.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank fishy6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MeaganVJ, Manager at Copthorne Hotel & Resort Bay of Islands, responded to this review, September 21, 2012
And thank you for your wonderful feedback! We look forward to your return.

Regards,
Meagan Karow
Rooms Division Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level Contributor
13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 22, 2012

Generally we had a lovely time however a smallish slip up spoiled the visit. When we returned to the hotel after our day's activities about 6.00pm we noted that the room hadn't been serviced. That wasn't too bad ... mistakes can happen. Unfortunately it took two attempts to get some fresh towels, coffee, milk and clean cups which was a bit of a let down.

Room Tip: Great pool!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank WagenerHolidayPark
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MeaganVJ, Manager at Copthorne Hotel & Resort Bay of Islands, responded to this review, September 21, 2012
Thank you for your feedback. My apologies for the delay in fulfilling your request. I hope it did not spoli your stay.

Regards,
Meagan Karow
Rooms Division Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belfast, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
37 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 16, 2012

This was out second hotel in NZ during the Rugby World Cup.

The hotel has a stunning setting and we found out was a base for some of the teams during the tournament.

The hotel is right beside the waitangi treaty ground which is a must to visit and only a short walk from Paihia.

The hotel staff were excellent during our stay and treated us like royalty which is not expected for irish rugby crowd. The large restaurant was beautiful in the mornings for breakfast and the hotel had a nice warm rock pool outside.

The room itself was clean, fresh and well appointed and the view outside was breathtaking in the mornings. See my profile photo!

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank David S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MeaganVJ, Manager at Copthorne Hotel & Resort Bay of Islands, responded to this review, August 17, 2012
Thank you so much for your feedback.
Reading your post brings back memories, it seems like a life time ago that the Rugby World Cup was on!
Wishing you safe travels.

Regards,
Meagan Karow
Rooms Division Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kentucky
Level Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 16, 2012

We stayed here with points, and so I don't know how to rate it terms of value. The room was very clean, and nice, but it was pretty average in terms of size for a "resort" room. We were given a room without a view, which I can understand given that we were using points. However, the rest of the hotel was empty, and there were pretty views over the water, and it would have been nice to have been given a better room. I would have asked for one, but by the time that we realized that we didn't have a view, we'd already hauled our luggage through the rain and down a long hall. It was nice to be able to walk over to the Treaty Grounds. We had a car, so we didn't mind not being in close walking distance of Paihia. The pool and hot tub were lovely.

Room Tip: Ask for a view, don't assume one.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank BascomCootie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MeaganVJ, Manager at Copthorne Hotel & Resort Bay of Islands, responded to this review, August 17, 2012
Thank you for your comments. Please let us kow the room type you request on your next stay.

Regards,
Meagan Karow
Rooms Division Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Waitangi
0.9 mi away
Kingsgate Hotel Autolodge Paihia
0.7 mi away
Sea Spray Suites - Heritage Collection
1.5 mi away
Scenic Hotel Bay of Islands
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
The Waterfront Suites - Heritage Collection
2.4 mi away
Duke of Marlborough Hotel
0.9 mi away
Breakwater Motel
Breakwater Motel
#1 of 44 in Paihia
4.5 of 5 bubbles 592 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Copthorne Hotel & Resort Bay of Islands? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Copthorne Hotel & Resort Bay of Islands

Property: Copthorne Hotel & Resort Bay of Islands
Address: Tau Henare Drive | PO Box 150 (Paihia), Waitangi 2150, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > North Island > Northland Region > Bay of Islands > Waitangi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Waitangi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Copthorne Hotel & Resort Bay of Islands 3.5*
Number of rooms: 180
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, World Independent Hotel Promotion, Hotels.com and Booking.com so you can book your Copthorne Hotel & Resort Bay of Islands reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Copthorne Hotel And Resort Bay Of Islands
Copthorne Hotel Paihia
Copthorne Hotel Bay Of Islands
Copthorne Hotel & Resort Bay Of Islands Waitangi

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing