We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Helpful staff but rooms could do with a clean!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Copthorne Hotel & Resort Bay of Islands
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Waitangi
Reviewed April 29, 2012

A lovely location with good facilities and decent sized rooms. However we stayed for 3 nights and I didn't see a member of staff with a vacuum cleaner the whole time! There were too many cobwebs in the room for my liking. Food was good but expensive. The pool also appeared to need a thorough clean.

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lizs0123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,077)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

842 - 848 of 1,077 reviews

Reviewed April 18, 2012

Just spent a night here. We stayed in a room with a view across the lawn and straight onto the Bay, couldn't have asked for a more beautiful spot. The room was a good size, with a kingsize bed , adequate bathroom, all very clean.Best of all, a little sunporch to sit and read in, have a glass of wine, watch the seagulls and the boats. We had a discount rate, paid $126 for the night. Had breakfast in the hotel, adequate standard fare. Enjoyed a drink in the cosy bar, friendly barman. When we arrived the man on the front desk was very friendly, but I was a little surprised when we left that the lady on the counter didn't enquire as to our stay and how we'd found the hotel. Although it is a little out of Paihia, we liked the quiet location and with a car it wasn't a concern. All in all, I thought it was a real treat.

Room Tip: Ask for waterfront!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AucklandRose
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 16, 2012

I booked this hotel via the Wotif mystery deal to find it was actually in Waitangi and not Paihia as described. The hotel is located 2 km out of Paihia so too far to walk if you want to do a boat trip, shop or eat in a different restaurant. Parking in Paihia is restricted so you cannot leave your car there all day while you are out on a boat in the Bay of Islands. The hotel itself is a bit old and run down. Our room faced the tennis court and yard and even mowing the lawn would have made a huge difference. When I checked in the receptionist charged $100 to my credit card for incidentals so when they refunded it as I left (I did not use the mini bar), I had to pay the foreign currency conversion fee, which I do not think is fair. What I will not complain about is the price we paid for the room.

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Yvettesaf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 12, 2012

Our family had a fantastic stay in the recently upgraded family suite. Highly recommend these adjoining rooms with living area and best view in the hotel. The pool area was so much fun for the kids and all the staff werre friendly and helpful. Thank you for a great stay.

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lara H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MeaganVJ, Manager at Copthorne Hotel & Resort Bay of Islands, responded to this reviewResponded April 14, 2012

Thank you for your feedback. We are thrilled that you and your family enjoyed your time with us and that your children enjoyed the spa & pool facilites. Hope to see you again soon :) Warm Regards.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 10, 2012

We enjoyed another very pleasant stay at the Hotel over Easter. From check-in to check-out, the room, the restaurant, the grounds, the staff all very very goodto excellent. Fantastic value for money.

Room Tip: All the rooms have apleasant outlook--guess the best would be on the second level looking out to the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank snapper72
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MeaganVJ, Manager at Copthorne Hotel & Resort Bay of Islands, responded to this reviewResponded April 12, 2012

Thank you for your wonderful feedback, we hope to see you again in the not so distant future. Warm Regards, Lorraine Marsh

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 5, 2012

We were on our honeymoon
And were made to feel special the moment we arrived at check in. Greeted well, wine in room and people recognized us. Perfectly located next to treaty grounds and just away from the main drag meant a feeling of exclusivity like the bay was ours.
Nice rooms great location, pools were
Awesome!

  • Stayed: April 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jonesey25
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 4, 2012

Two great nights, with a good deal - buffet breakfast and 2 for 1 dinner voucher and a free drink. We had 5 adults in our party and the single adult was free on the 2 for 1 dinner voucher - how many places would do that!! Well done Copthorne. And - my sister who booked our weekend had made a mistake meaning we arrived a weekend late. It was a non refundable package deal, so they could have turned us away, but the terrific staff went out of their way to accommodate us in as near as possible to what we had booked. We loved sitting on the large deck in the early evening for a happy hour (or two) - but shame about all the cigarette butts in the corners of the steps and on the lawn in front.

Room Tip: Ocean view rooms have terrific outlooks and ground floor open out onto a shared deck with outdoor fu...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Gayle A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Waitangi
0.9 mi away
Kingsgate Hotel Autolodge Paihia
0.7 mi away
Sea Spray Suites - Heritage Collection
1.5 mi away
Scenic Hotel Bay of Islands
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
The Waterfront Suites - Heritage Collection
1.3 mi away
Edgewater Palms Apartments
2.3 mi away
Duke of Marlborough Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Copthorne Hotel & Resort Bay of Islands? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Copthorne Hotel & Resort Bay of Islands

Address: Tau Henare Drive | PO Box 150, Waitangi 2150, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > North Island > Northland Region > Bay of Islands > Waitangi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Waitangi
Price Range: $79 - $227 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Copthorne Hotel & Resort Bay of Islands 3.5*
Number of rooms: 180
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, DerbySoft Ltd Shanghai HQ Supplier Direct, Hotels.com, Expedia, Hotwire, getaroom.com, Orbitz, HotelQuickly, Cancelon, Travelocity and TripOnline SA so you can book your Copthorne Hotel & Resort Bay of Islands reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Copthorne Hotel And Resort Bay Of Islands
Copthorne Hotel Paihia
Copthorne Hotel Bay Of Islands
Copthorne Hotel & Resort Bay Of Islands Waitangi

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing