We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great spot!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Copthorne Hotel & Resort Bay of Islands
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Waitangi
Reviewed March 9, 2012

We stayed two nights and had a great stay!

Clean room, very responsive staff and perfect location! Hotel is about a half mile from the action along the bay. As a result it is away from the crowds but a short walk or free shuttle ride from the heart of Pahia. As a result it has its own beach and prisitine view of the bay and the islands.

The only issues we noted was the tour bus crowd was significant so you need to avoid eating breakfast when they do, and the lighting in our room could have been better. With only one night light on one side of the bed. Otherwise a great spot at a very reasonable price.

Room Tip: make sure to ask for a room with a sea view and on first floor and you can walk right out to the bea...
  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tom T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,036)
There are newer reviews for Copthorne Hotel & Resort Bay of Islands
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

821 - 827 of 1,036 reviews

Reviewed March 7, 2012

The wing were were in had a suspended wooden hallway that was noisy when other guests walked along it. The bed was two singles pushed together. The automatic door closing mechanism slammed the doors such at it woke us up. Soundproofing between rooms is non-existent. Very small bathroom. Did not read our special request prior to our stay so were not able to accommodate it even though we booked approx 4 weeks in advance.


****** NOT WORTH ANYTHING ABOVE $100/night! ********

Room Tip: Find another hotel
  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Matt374
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 1, 2012

This hotel should have it all. It could not be better localted on the sub-tropical edge of the Pacific Ocean. The bathroom of our room needed a thorough clean as did the tables in the bar which looked as though they had not been cleaned for weeks - glass stains, dust, very unpleasant atmosphere for a relaxing drink. Old-fashioned 70s style decor. Very helpful staff but dreadful furnishings. Needs a complete face-lift.

Room Tip: Need to be on the ground floor to be able to walk on to the beach.
  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank FreoJan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 29, 2012

Just had 5 nights at this wonderfull resort with my wife,it was very peacefull ,we were upgraded to a ocean view room with a huge king bed it was like a second honeymoon ..staff were very pleasant an very accomodating.The boat ramp was right next to the hotel and made for easy launching. Rooms were clean at tidy and quite spacious...a wonderfull 5 days

Room Tip: Try and get an ocean view room,
  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Biggt777
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 26, 2012

As I mentsioned it's a bit of a walk to get into town, and the shuttle bus only worked short hours then you were left with taxi service.

The outlook from the room was great and the facilities were good too.

The room was comfortable and spacious.

Buffet layout for breakfast and evening meals was spreadout for some reason.

On our tour this was the stop to do the washing. Well guess again the laundy facilities were minimal.

Comfortable accommodation.

Room Tip: Room with a view of the water was nice
  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Colint50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 22, 2012

For the most part this was a great hotel. The view was beautiful to watch the bay and the giant palms. The sky was gorgeous and star filled too. The general area is real nice. THe staff was mixed. There was a young guy at the front desk that was so helpful and went out of his way to help me with anything - even looked up things on his phone via the internet for some questions I had. Very kind and extra helpful. But there was a young blond lady that charged me more than double for one glass of one (about 25 dollars). She did not even look into the bill for me. Her customer service was really not appropriate. In the hotels defense she did not fit the rest of the experience there. Food was good - nice buffet for breakfast and outdoor yard to overlook the Bay was awesome.

Room Tip: Rooms are really nice, but be aware that there are no screens if you open windows and some are low t...
  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled solo
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank smallbirdNewYork
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 20, 2012

We had a very comfortable room with wonderful views from patio area over the Bay of Islands. The first little alarm bell was the 'go green' offer' by not having your room made up. I'm afraid if we are on holiday it is one of the things we enjoy - not having to make the bed and clean the room! I agree there is no need to change bedding and towels every day but this is taking it to another level. It was nice to be able to walk down to the sea and along to The Waitangi Treay grounds. The courtesy bus into/from Paihia finished early so choices of eating were limited to a nearby ship fish and chip shop or the hotel. We did not want the buffet but the a la carte. We were told that we would have a long wiat for our main course but in fact it arrived in 1o minutes and was very good. We then thought we would have the cheese board - well that took over 35 minutes to arrive and was quite frankly a joke with three small pieces of chesse that would hardly satisfy a mouse. The following night we ate in the bar and just had a main - this again was very good. As we were checking out the next day I asked if I could pay the bill saying we had just had a bar meal and was told yes. The bill did not have the meal on and eventualy was asked if I would come back in 30 minutes I was alo told that a credit card attracted a surcharge but not a debit card. I went back an hour later and it still wasn't sorted - the staff were obviously under a lot of pressure. As we were a long way from reception I waited until it was sorted to then be told that a UK debit card attracted a surcharge as per a credit card. I complained that if I had been told this earlier I would have bought the cash along - at this point the charge was removed. I was also told all hotels in New Zealand did this - not true - only two,possibly three of the ten hotels we stayed in did this.
This hotel needs to buck its ideas up and employ more staff, it is in gretat positon but can' trade on that alone

Room Tip: Ask for room in the wing facing out onto the Bay
  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank malcandliz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Waitangi
0.9 mi away
Kingsgate Hotel Autolodge Paihia
0.7 mi away
Sea Spray Suites - Heritage Collection
0.9 mi away
The Waterfront Suites - Heritage Collection
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
Scenic Hotel Bay of Islands
2.3 mi away
Duke of Marlborough Hotel
0.7 mi away
Paihia Beach Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Copthorne Hotel & Resort Bay of Islands? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Copthorne Hotel & Resort Bay of Islands

Address: Tau Henare Drive | PO Box 150 (Paihia), Waitangi 2150, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > North Island > Northland Region > Bay of Islands > Waitangi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Waitangi
Price Range: $74 - $194 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Copthorne Hotel & Resort Bay of Islands 3.5*
Number of rooms: 180
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Hotwire and HotelQuickly so you can book your Copthorne Hotel & Resort Bay of Islands reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Copthorne Hotel And Resort Bay Of Islands
Copthorne Hotel Paihia
Copthorne Hotel Bay Of Islands
Copthorne Hotel & Resort Bay Of Islands Waitangi

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing