We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Everything but the room was impressive!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Copthorne Hotel & Resort Bay of Islands
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Waitangi
Reviewed June 6, 2011

Loved the location - so quiet and picturesque! Beautiful views, especially the pool and hot spa area - unbeatable! Service of staff was wonderful. Only the room was more on the average side. The bathroom door didn't shut completely, toilet didn't flush properly, the bedside lamp wasn't working. I guess you just can't have it all. We made the most of it and really enjoyed our stay - can't wait to go back!

Room Tip: We had a waterfront view overlooking the beach.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Elochka
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,128)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

969 - 975 of 1,128 reviews

Reviewed June 6, 2011

This time we had a lovely room, still an old TV though but good colour and reception. The view was on the the garden side, sun in the afternoon, birds everywhere and no wind at all. Breakfast was still great. Have to say reception and dining staff seemed to be still a little bit vacant in the knowledge department when asking for information and an in room dining menu. Got a blank look from both and the wrong menu. Nothing to get upset about though and we have already booked our next time off to come here. Thanks guys.

  • Stayed: June 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank fayenz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SPBoyle, Manager at Copthorne Hotel & Resort Bay of Islands, responded to this reviewResponded August 8, 2011

Thank you for your constructive feedback. We look forward to welcoming you back in the not too distant future.

Regards,
Meagan van Jaarsveld
Rooms Division Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 29, 2011

Had a great time here dont know what all the complaints are about. only bother was a hoard of rowdy indian doctors from the uk who seemed to never leave the foyer and their kids where running like animals around the place annoying the staff. I actually comend the staff for not losing it as i probably would have. Apart from that i found the staff extremely helpful and pleasant. Excellent service. Nice warm spa pull and garden setting. immaculate lawns and right next to the treaty grounds. Great water views from the rooms what more can i say. Oh yeah the only other thing that could do with attention is get those hireage bikes maintained, I almost killed myself going up that hill and the chain got stuck. overall ka pai would stay again

Room Tip: book early
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank myxmytosis75
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 22, 2011

Attended a conference at this Hotel. Rooms very tired especially carpet, bathrooms.
Restaurant service food - very good. Prices- realistic.
Front Desk, wake-up service - extremely poor. Asked for an 0500 call - never happened.
Fortuantely, woke up at 0530, so just make my transfer. On check-out, found the call had been booked for the following day !!
Room service - pathetic in quality/value. Do not use if the restaurant has closed.
Good sized rooms, great views, well serviced

Room Tip: Ask for the 200 block
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Yeloc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SPBoyle, Manager at Copthorne Hotel & Resort Bay of Islands, responded to this reviewResponded August 8, 2011

I do apologise for you not receiving your wake up call and assure you that this is not our usual standard of service.
I thank you for your feedback.

Regards,
Meagan van Jaarsveld
Rooms Division Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 16, 2011

We loved our stay-the staff were all exceptionally friendly and professional. Great facilities too. We felt very spoilt.

Stayed: May 2011, traveled as a couple
Thank carolLWellington
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 26, 2011

I have never experienced such poor service from a hotel before or been confronted with staff that are openly racist, unprofessional and rude.

I travelled with a large group of Indian doctors from the UK, the minute we arrived we were greeted with hostility and poor service. Not to mention that on arrival the staff screwed up our rooms, which meant we were waiting for 2 hours until they could figure out their mistakes and not one person was kind enough to apologise.

During our stay, my father shower was broken, the duty manager said he would sort the problem and never did. it was only till the next day when my father piped up the general manager did the duty manager address this problem. Consequently my father went for a whole evening and morning without a shower.

Next, we ordered a spoon to our room as the spoons that accompany our tea mugs were absent, the rude person at the end of the phone told us that we would have to pay $3 for such a request! I have never experienced such poor or rude service in my life. When we reported this to the manager he himself was very disturbed to hear this.

At dinner the front of house staff, were very rude, and were openly laughing at all the indians. They made sure that they were seated in the worst seats in the restaurant and we ask to move they would reluctantly agree even though there were many other tables to choose from. They were shameless about doing so, which was even more disturbing. The food was below average and again nobody attended to our table, I had to ask three times before I could order my drinks! However, I was watching the staff and they were very polite and pleasing to the guests that were non asian.

Afte complaining to the manager who gave us a free stay, we hoped the service would improve. The same front of house woman, who was laughing at indians and speaking to them as if they were second class citizens, later told me to my face that 'my people were no good' when I complained to her about her behaviour. A person that can make such a comment and lose her cool should not be employed to work in the hotel industry.

As a result my 'relaxing stay' was instead a horrible experience and I advised any Indians to choose somewhere else to stay if you want to be treated with the respect and dignity you deserve.

Its a real shame as it has made my family and I, who travel the world frequently, feel hostile towards NZ.

Room Tip: not great
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank lovestravel71186338
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 25, 2011

Stayed only one night. The room was clean and just what we expected. Staff were friendly and helpful. Had dinner on site as well which was good. Being the Easter holidays the hotel was full, however they had adequate staff to cater to everyone. Wish we had stayed longer

  • Stayed: April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RanaDatta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Waitangi
0.9 mi away
Kingsgate Hotel Autolodge Paihia
0.7 mi away
Sea Spray Suites - Heritage Collection
1.5 mi away
Scenic Hotel Bay of Islands
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
The Waterfront Suites - Heritage Collection
2.3 mi away
Duke of Marlborough Hotel
1.3 mi away
Edgewater Palms Apartments
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Copthorne Hotel & Resort Bay of Islands? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Copthorne Hotel & Resort Bay of Islands

Address: Tau Henare Drive | PO Box 150, Waitangi 0293, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > North Island > Northland Region > Bay of Islands > Waitangi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Waitangi
Price Range: $85 - $187 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Copthorne Hotel & Resort Bay of Islands 3.5*
Number of rooms: 180
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Copthorne Hotel & Resort Bay of Islands commands a superb waterfront location in the heart of the Bay of Islands, offering uninterrupted bay views surrounded by subtropical gardens, adjacent to the historic Waitangi Treaty Grounds. The hotel’s 180 guest rooms have individual patios or balconies from which to enjoy the water or garden views. The Copthorne Hotel & Resort, Bay of Islands is a 4 Star Qualmark rated, Enviro Gold hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Hotwire, getaroom.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and TripOnline SA so you can book your Copthorne Hotel & Resort Bay of Islands reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Copthorne Hotel And Resort Bay Of Islands
Copthorne Hotel Paihia
Copthorne Hotel Bay Of Islands
Copthorne Hotel & Resort Bay Of Islands Waitangi

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing