We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A feeling of disappointment”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
The Sanctuary @ Bay of Islands
Ranked #1 of 5 Specialty Lodging in Opua
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed February 7, 2013

This is a wonderful setting and an absolutely beautiful accommodation with every comfort. The views are spectacular from the terraces.
As only our second experience of a hosted lodge we had mixed feelings here. The welcome was a little underwhelming as the notice said 'welcome come in' but we seemed to be intruding. However, the evening meal was wonderful home cooked to a high standard with Peter cooking a splendid dinner for all the guests together. After which the hosts left us to socialise together but the end of the meal fell a bit flat and yet we all wanted to chat about our travels. The wine is complimentary so it is difficult to ask for a little more or to purchase more. Coffe we made for ourselves.
The next day again we felt uneasy asking for a cooked breakfast from Glennis. On request only cooked eggs were offered and so it was each day of our stay yet the website suggests there will be some special offering each day. The uneasiness continued when only small amounts of fruit and yoghurt were available and one felt that, out of politeness, you should leave enough for fellow guests who were at breakfast with you. Having now experienced other hosted lodges I now feel this was a very poor breakfast set up and for such a quality establishment this could be improved.

Room Tip: All rooms are equal so don't worry!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank JOAN M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (122)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

92 - 98 of 122 reviews

Reviewed January 11, 2013

We recently spent two very comfortable nights with Peter and Glynnis whom we found to be very helpful hosts. We stayed in a 'bush view' room at the end of the building which also had good (but not full) see views.This was fine as we enjoyed seeing & hearing the various birds in the trees in front of us and we could get the full bay view from the upstairs rooms.
Peter was very accommodating - he cooked an evening meal at short notice which was excellent and shared with fellow guests from Switzerland which made for a very pleasant evening.
The following morning we had to leave early for a fishing trip and Peter not only provided breakfast at 6am but also made us a very good packed lunch. (He offered to cook any fish which we caught for supper that night but I am afraid that we failed to come up with the goods!).
Having read other reviews on this property, I feel that a couple of them have been slightly unfair.
No it is not a state of the art, uber cool glass structure like so many of the modern lodges. It does not have all of the bells and whistles, wide screen TV etc , but you can see that when you book.
What it does do, it does very well - comfortable accommodation, good food and very helpful hosts who genuinely want you to enjoy your stay.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank NickyS188
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 4, 2012

The welcome you receive from Glynss is second to none...do want a glass or wine or unpack first !

The lodge is situated in a fantastic position and we were assured that when it doesn't rain the view is amazing...we had to take their word for it.....the weather is of course nobody's fault ...then we did go in their winter.

Our room was excellent superb amenities, jacuzzi bath, power shower ..lovely large terrace to take in the rain forest and the imagined views.....

Having read ther reviews I can only say some people need to get a life and thank goodness they weren't there when we were...we stayed in for dinner on two nights great food unlimited wine and if you wanted it liqueurs etc etc.

Peter is a character and the world needs them..he's been there and done it in travel and hotels, he's a great chef as our two dinners proved....breakfasts are to die for ..the choice s amazing ,if you want healthy you can have it or if you want the works then it's there for you.

This couple couldn't do enough to make our short stay extremely welcoming .....I only hope when you go, and you must, then you get to enjoy the view ! Go in the summer as we will do next time and there will be a next time without question.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sgspin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 29, 2012

Bay of Islands Lodge is nestled in the trees overlooking the Bay of Islands. Rooms have individual balconies making you feel like you are actually "in" the forest. Professional and helpful hosts, Peter and Glynnis took excellent care of our party of four. We would definitely go back again.

  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank BogeysMom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 29, 2012

This is a wonderful, friendly, superbly sited Lodge with the genuine Kiwis enjoyment of entertaining their guests to wonderful facilities and surroundings, grand catering and very good bedroom suites with views over the forest to the Bay of Islands. Ideal and with tremendous hosts.It was 4 days well spent in great company.

  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Ian J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 20, 2012

My partner and I stayed for two nights at the Bay of Islands Lodge. We where very happy with the accommodation the room was very comfortable the only thing they need is fly screens on the windows but it seems all around New Zealand they don't seem to have them on there homes. The food was very nice and Peter is an excellent cook and Glennis who we did not see her much was very friendly. We enjoyed the dinner conversation with other travellers from various countries. I would recommend to others to stay here.

  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank debchef11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 5, 2012

My husband and I enjoyed a very pleasant three nights at the Lodge, enjoying the company of guests from the US, UK and South Africa. When choosing small places such a this, we are choosing individuality, a more personal experience than a similarly-priced, more luxurious suite at a conventional hotel, and we were not disappointed. Our room was pleasant and very quiet, with a beautiful and tranquil view from the balcony. Two excellent in-house dinners were competently cooked and served, generous supplies of spirits and wine were available (would not have minded more choice with the wine!) and breakfasts simple and delicious - excellent juice, fresh fruit, breads, croissants and reasonable range of cereals, and a cooked dish if required. We very much enjoyed our fellow-guests' conversation and the unobtrustive company of Peter and Glennis. Discussions of "lodge or B&B" are somewhat meaningless: the pricing accurately places the Lodge in the mid-range between comfortable and ultra-luxury. The Bay of Islands is a beautiful part of the world and the Lodge occupies a very attractive, very comfortable and individual space within it.

Room Tip: We enjoyed the view and privacy from an upstairs room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank MelbourneHelen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Opua
3.6 mi away
Duke of Marlborough Hotel
2.7 mi away
Sea Spray Suites - Heritage Collection
2.5 mi away
The Waterfront Suites - Heritage Collection
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.7 mi away
Paihia Beach Resort & Spa
0.3 mi away
Cliff Edge by the Sea
11 mi away
Moon Gate Villa
Moon Gate Villa
#1 of 28 in Kerikeri
232 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Sanctuary @ Bay of Islands? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Sanctuary @ Bay of Islands

Address: State Highway 11, Opua 0241, New Zealand (Formerly Bay of Islands Lodge)
Location: New Zealand > North Island > Northland Region > Bay of Islands > Opua
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 5 Specialty Lodging in Opua
Price Range: $266 - $429 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — The Sanctuary @ Bay of Islands 5*
Number of rooms: 5
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Priceline, HotelQuickly and TripOnline SA so you can book your The Sanctuary @ Bay of Islands reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bay Of Islands Hotel Opua
The Sanctuary @ Bay Of Islands Opua, New Zealand

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing