We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Recently transformed into something exceptional...”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Cliff Edge by the Sea
Ranked #2 of 5 Specialty Lodging in Opua
Certificate of Excellence
Inverness, Florida
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Recently transformed into something exceptional...”
Reviewed May 5, 2013

The first thing you need to know is that every review below, except that by James G G, is of a previous version of Cliff Edge by the Sea. Peter Meier has “reverted” the facility to a fully hosted three-room guest lodge, with common guest areas occupying a separate floor (we guess that the kitchen, where Peter cooks, is not really part of the “common guest areas”, though). It is this current version that we will review.

We stayed at Cliff Edge by the Sea for three nights, and were very happy with the experience. Each room has a stunning view of the Bay of Islands - the exterior walls are almost entirely floor-to-ceiling windows, with a spacious balcony! Our bed was comfortable, the room has a well-organized storage area, and the bath was well-appointed. The large common guest area has a wrap-around balcony. It is nicely furnished, with plenty of books, CDs, and DVDs available: at a minimum, it is a pleasant area in which to share cocktail hour with other guests. It also has a dining area, where one has a good breakfast (the cost of which is included with the booking). As a place to stay while visiting the Bay of Islands area, we highly recommend Cliff Edge.

Even more so, we recommend that you agree to have Peter cook dinner for you. (In passing, let it be known that we both REALLY appreciated Peter’s sense of humor. Okay, it’s dry, but sharp as a perfectly-honed French chef’s knife! Beyond that, it is a joy to talk with Peter because of his background, knowledge, and experience.) We shared two 3-course dinners with two British guests during our three-night stay. First was a marvelous Thai meal, including tod mun with a wonderful sauce, chicken curry, and prawns. Second was a great NZ dinner, with smoked (by Peter) salmon, and lamb chops. Very good wines, suggested by Peter, complemented the dishes (included in the price of the meal). You will enjoy learning how Peter came to be a gourmet cook and expert on wines, by talking with him during your stay!

Go to New Zealand, visit the Bay of Islands, and stay with Peter: you’ll be glad you did.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 379Marie352
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PeterMeierOpua, Owner at Cliff Edge by the Sea, responded to this review, June 2, 2013
Dear Mr & Mrs V
delighted you enjoyed your stay and thank you for your very kind words about my cooking , the very apt and detailed description of the facilities and appraisal of my sense of humour. Sadly the latter is sometimes misunderstood.
As you rightly pointed out Cliff Edge by the sea just recently reverted back from 3 years in the "wilderness" as serviced apartments, to a fully hosted 'boutique&unique" Guest Lodge.
Its like coming home and I am enjoying the experience of looking after the guests and especially the cooking.
thank you for becoming an 'ambassador' for Cliff Edge, by the Sea
and hope to welcome you back one day soon.
best wishes to you both
Peter Meier
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

95 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    74
    11
    1
    7
    2
See reviews for
5
75
3
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Telluride, Colorado
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed April 20, 2013

Three couples visited Bay of Islands for 3 days and wished it was longer. Every room in the place has a view to die for and the common area has a 180 degree view of the harbor.
Peter cooked two dinners while we were in residence and both were terrific. Wines were complementary and the food plentiful.
Peter provided every option for breakfast and was very helpful when we were planing each day's activities.
I have already recommended Cliff Edge to my son when he travels to NZ.

Room Tip: The two rooms on the lowest floor have the best views but my wife and I stayed on the middle floor a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank James G G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PeterMeierOpua, Owner at Cliff Edge by the Sea, responded to this review, April 22, 2013
dear guest, we are delighted that you and your friends enjoyed your stay, thank you also for your very kind words. they are very much appreciated, and I will do my utmost that future guests will experience a similar experience. As you are aware, Cliff Edge, by the Sea just recently reverted back to a 'boutique&unique' fully hosted Guest Lodge, and it will be exiting.
Looking forward to welcoming your son in the not so distant future
best wishes
Peter Meier
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
35 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed March 13, 2013

My husband and I had a couple of nights here, staying in the one bedroom apartment. We had arrived from the Langham in Auckland and Peter expressed concern that the apartment was not up to our standard. In fact it is small but charming. There are lots of little details that welcomed us such as the absolute cleanliness, the flowers, the toiletries in the bathroom, the wine in the fridge and the views. Oh, the views are just stunning. I could have spent all our time here just looking at the view over the water, it is so beautiful. Peter invited us to dinner at the Lodge at the top of the hill, in the evening which we gratefully accepted as the apartments are well tucked away from the nearest town. We had a very enjoyable meal with other guests staying in the Lodge and Peter even drove us back down the hill afterwards. On the second night, Peter wasn't cooking for guests, but offered to prepare a chicken curry for us and brought it down to the apartment. On the third night, we ate again up at the Lodge and this time drove up in the car which was a lot quicker than the 20 minute minute walk we had had on the first night. Again, it was delightful. We would definitely go back.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Pauline K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PeterMeierOpua, Owner at Cliff Edge by the Sea, responded to this review, April 22, 2013
thank you for your kind words, after replying to some of the less flattering reviews, it brings a bit of joy!
You may be interested to know that Cliff Edge, by the Sea just recently reverted back to a fully hosted 'boutique& unique' Guest Lodge. And it looks great!
It was a total revamp, we now have 3 beautiful Guest bedrooms, each with magnificent water views. We have retained the 1 bedroom apt, the one you stayed in. The only difference being that it is now accessed through the Lodge, the tariff also includes full breakfast and apt guests are welcome to use all lodge facilities and are of course invited to dine in with the food still prepared by me and the diners served at Cliff Edge.
Hopefully we will get the chance to welcome you back one day.
In the meantime you may want to take a look at our new website, and also please spread the good word
kind regards
Peter Meier
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Luxembourg City, Luxembourg
Level 4 Contributor
19 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed February 24, 2013

I'm living in Luxembourg and my son went to NZ that time (feb. 2009). I had absolutely to use this excuse to go and visit the land of the white cloud. I decided to start my stay with a nice treat and found Cliff Edge. A very nice location, on top of the hill, with a splendid view over Bay of Island, a very nice modern but warm lodge, with all the expected facilities, the inside being a natural link to the outside nature. And this constant presence of the NZ feeling, in the decoration, in the people, and the great cooking. You know, this so special mixture between cultures, through simple but meaningfull things.
Cliff Edge was the perfect landing to be introduced to NZ after a 33hours trip and according jet lag.

Room Tip: all the rooms have a terrace with view over the Bay of Islands
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Claude G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PeterMeierOpua, Owner at Cliff Edge by the Sea, responded to this review, April 18, 2013
Dear Claude ,
thank you for your kind words, they were very much appreciated.
since your visit Cliff Edge has reverted back to a fully hosted boutique Guest Lodge with a total makeover throughout, you would love the additional facilities, the total revamp and services.
Hopefully you will have the opportunity to see for yourself on your next visit.
please let us know
kind regards
Peter Meier
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oxted
Level 4 Contributor
40 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed February 20, 2013

Four of us stayed here, our first 3 nights in New Zealand so jet lag was an issue. The appartment is well equiped and the hosts very generous - the fridge was always very well supplied! The views are magnificent and this is a lovely place to stay. First night we ate at the Bay of Islands Lodge, also owner by Peter Meier where we had the best meal of our 5 week stay. If you are looking for a lodge rather than an appartment then this looked as very good option. We cooked in one night and had a spectacular BBQ overlooking the harbour. A good place to stay

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tom E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PeterMeierOpua, Owner at Cliff Edge by the Sea, responded to this review, April 18, 2013
Dear Tom E,
I am delighted that you enjoyed your stay, the location & the views, and of course the dining at the Bay of Islands Lodge. There have been a few changes since. Cliff Edge has just reverted back to a fully hosted 'Boutique & Unique Guest Lodge, with a total revamp/ makeover. The apartment you stayed in has become our residence and the Lodge occupying the whole of the upstairs are. If you thought that the views were very special, they are even better now.
The dining too will be held at Cliff Edge, with me preparing the meals
I realise that NZ is a long way from Europe, but hopefully you will return and visit us, you would love the changes, we certainly would love your company
many thanks
and kind regards
Peter Meier
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
devon
Level 4 Contributor
43 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed February 20, 2012

We booked for a week having previously stayed at the Bay of Islands Lodge which is under the same ownership. The apartment has the most fantastic outlook over the Bay of Islands and the inlet leading to the ferry and local Marina. Lots of boats moving back and forth makes it interesting. Fabulous open plan living room and kitchen meant dining in was a real pleasure, an important part of a long trip when eating out every night becomes a chore.
Peter and Glennis were good hosts, very friendly and obliging and we hope to be back!!

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank davidmorganDevon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PeterMeierOpua, Owner at Cliff Edge by the Sea, responded to this review, April 18, 2013
DEar David,
I am delighted that you enjoyed your stay, thank you for your very kind comments, we have has a few changes in as much that Cliff Edge, by the Sea has just reverted back to a fully hosted 'Boutique & Unique Guest Lodge.occupying the whole main building with us occupying what was the 2 bedroom apartment. The place had a total revamp throughout, you would love it, especially as the views are even better, and the Guest bedrooms and Lounge/ dining room ...are absolutely beautiful.
Guests are of course welcome to dine at Cliff Edge.
Hopefully you will have the opportunity to return one day and experience the new Cliff Edge, by the Sea
we would love to have your company
many thanks
Peter Meier
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
42 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed October 1, 2011

We stayed here for 3 nights and although somewhat pricey for a family it was a beautiful location. The views were great and the breakfast was very filling. The hosts were very welcoming and tried to fix issues as they arose such as not having a clothes line which they say in their welcoming book they have. We went for some great walks around the Bay and the noise from the ferry in the early hours of the morning did not disturb us.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MNER
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PeterMeierOpua, Owner at Cliff Edge by the Sea, responded to this review, April 24, 2013
dear MNER,
thank you for your review. I am glad that you enjoyed your stay and please accept my apologies for the very much belated response.
You may be interested to know that Cliff Edge has just reverted back to a fully hosted 'boutique and Unique' Guest Lodge.Only the one bedroom apt has been retained and the Lodge facilities occupy the whole of the upstairs areas, with us living separately in what was the 2 bedroom apt.
It looks great.
Hopefully one day you may have the opportunity of returning to Cliff Edge, by the Sea. We would love to welcome you
best wishes
Peter Meier
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Opua
1.9 mi away
Edgewater Palms Apartments
2.4 mi away
The Waterfront Suites - Heritage Collection
1.8 mi away
Scenic Hotel Bay of Islands
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
The Sanctuary @ Bay of Islands
2.6 mi away
Paihia Beach Resort & Spa
0.4 mi away
The Boathouse
The Boathouse
#3 of 5 in Opua
21 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cliff Edge by the Sea? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cliff Edge by the Sea

Property: Cliff Edge by the Sea
Address: Richardson Road West | [ off English Bay Rd ], Opua, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > North Island > Northland Region > Bay of Islands > Opua
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 5 Specialty Lodging in Opua
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Cliff Edge by the Sea 5*
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Cliff Edge, by the Sea provides a unique accommodation experience in NZs stunning Bay of Islands, combining the warmth and comfort of a private residence with the sophistication of a boutique hotel.The Lodge has 3 guest bedrooms and a one bedroom studio apartment.The bedrooms [approx. 4X4 mtrs]are tastefully appointed, decorated in warm neutral colors,luxurious carpets, floor to ceiling windows and silk block out silk curtains.All rooms have their own suite bathrooms with walk in showers. In addition the Waitangi room has a large jacuzzi Breakfast is included in the tariff, dinners are a relaxed 3-4 course affairs catering only for in house guests. they are optional but highly recommended.Your host Peter Meier is an accomplished chef, who in his restaurant days "Casuarina Restaurant & Country Inn" in Australias Hunter Valley wine country won many culinary awards ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Agoda, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Cliff Edge by the Sea reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cliff Edge By The Sea Bay Of Islands/Opua, New Zealand

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing