We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent stay”
Review of Landing Cottage

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Landing Cottage
Ranked #7 of 28 Kerikeri B&B and Inns
Reviewed February 6, 2009

Beautiful, comfortable, miraculously SPOTLESS accomodations! Elaine and Ian were excellent hosts and eager to meet our every need. They gave us towels and a blanket for the beach, and Elaine packed a wonderful picnic lunch for our boat trip. My son fell in love with them and talked about them the entire trip. I recommend Landing Cottage to anyone planning a trip to KeriKeri.

  • Stayed: January 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank owl73
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (122)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

108 - 114 of 122 reviews

Reviewed January 26, 2009

We have just stayed at the Landing Cottage - our party consisted of my husband and myself, our two adult daughters and our granddaughter. We arrived late as we had driven up from Auckland, Elaine and Ian were there to greet us and welcome us to their B&B. The accommodation is fantastic, very comfortable beds, great big bathroom, large lounge area and a beautiful patio where we had our breakfast each day. Elaine does fabulous pancakes, Ian makes great soldiers and latte's! Elaine and Ian are great hosts, friendly but not obtrusive. I would highly recommend Landing Cottage to anyone who wants first class accommodation in a beautiful part of the world and a relaxing environment.

  • Stayed: January 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Catherine504
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 5, 2009

Stayed 2 nights at Landing Cottage. Idyllic peaceful setting, fabulous food (the pancakes are the best I have ever tasted!)
Wonderful couple running the place. Lots of space, comfy bed would Highly recommend Landing Cottage to anyone. We are definately comming back!

  • Stayed: December 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank Duxfield
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 31, 2008

Wendy and Tony have created an immaculate, beautifully decorated and peaceful cottage in Kerikeri. It was the final stop in our 6 week trip to New Zealand and we so enjoyed our 3 nights there. Meals are beautifully presented and the hosts are most helpful with suggestions to make one's holiday very special.
We will return to stay at Landing Cottage should we return to NZ from Canada.

Stayed: March 2008
Thank GrandForks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 20, 2008

Wendy and Tony are the owners of this beautiful property close to historic attractions in Kerikeri. Wendy welcomed us on our arrival and provided many options for our 3 day stay close to the Bay of Islands. Whilst there was just the 2 of us, we had the run of the apartment with 3 double bedrooms in self contained quarters, as well as a living room and patio area. The apartment was stylishly decorated and immaculately clean with new furnishings and many personal touches, as well as a lot of useful local information.

Breakfast was served by Wendy in the owners' property. Everything was freshly prepared, including home made muesli and freshly ground coffee. Breakfast even included produce grown in the garden.

Kerikeri is a perfect location in itself but also central to Bay of Islands and Northland. Wendy and Tony are knowledgable and interesting people and great company. This was one of the highlights of our 3 weeks + in New Zealand, and much better accomodation and hospitality than many more expensive places we stayed in. We wouldn't hesitate to recommend Landing Cottage to others.

Brian and Jill

  • Stayed: December 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank Robbie_Pegs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 20, 2008

This outstanding B & B provides luxurious accommodation in a beautiful and tranquil setting.

Hosts Tony and Wendy have thoughtfully provided many amenities you might not even find in a 4 star hotel making this much more than a B&B. Spotlessly clean and nicely appointed bedrooms and bathroom, comfortable lounge area and outside decking amid beautiful gardens make it hard to tear yourself away after a delicious breakfast each morning and provides a welcome place to return to at the end of a long day's sightseeing.

Tony and Wendy are wonderful hosts and share their knowledge of all that the beautiful Bay of Islands and surrounding areas have to offer so you have the information you need to make the most of your stay in this lovely region of New Zealand.

  • Stayed: February 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Thank Tinyto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 4, 2008

We began our ten-day New Zealand holiday with a two-day stay with Wendy and Tony. What a wonderful way to start a fabulous trip. We unreservedly recommend the Landing Cottage to Kiwis and visitors from around the world.

The accommodations are first rate, particularly for families, with three generously sized bedrooms (one with its own patio) and a large living room (lounge, in Empire English). We were encouraged by Wendy to treat the Landing Cottage as a home away from home. With the inviting, tasteful décor and beautiful, natural surroundings, this was so easy to do that we didn’t want to leave.

Breakfast with Tony and Wendy each morning was brilliant. As we awaited Wendy’s blueberry pancakes, we were treated to Tony’s paintings. The advice on what to do and see in the KeriKeri and Russell regions was spot on.

If you are headed to Wellington make sure to let your hosts know. Before buying the property and opening a best of class B & B, they lived and worked in New Zealand’s capital. Their suggestions about what to see and where to eat there made it much easier, even if you have been there before.

The arrangements Wendy made for dinner out and a trip to the Bay of Islands made our trip just that much more enjoyable. All of their guests benefit from this brilliant couple’s local knowledge and love of New Zealand.

Suffice it to say, we will return to the Landing Cottage on our next trip, which we want to be soon. We will be staying with friends.

Brian and Gretchen

PS We understand that an addition is planned, which will allow the Waldegrave’s to host a few more guests and more easily accommodate unrelated parties.

  • Stayed: November 2007
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank groupsnoop
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Kerikeri hotels
2.1 mi away
Kerikeri Homestead Motel & Apartments
3.6 mi away
Kauri Park Motel
Kauri Park Motel
#1 of 16 in Kerikeri
496 reviews
1.8 mi away
Woodlands Motel & Conference Venue
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.8 mi away
Relax a Lodge
Relax a Lodge
#10 of 28 in Kerikeri
73 reviews
1.7 mi away
Stay Kerikeri Boutique Apartments and Studios
3.6 mi away
Kerikeri Park Lodge
Kerikeri Park Lodge
#6 of 16 in Kerikeri
186 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Landing Cottage? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Landing Cottage

Address: 184 Landing Road, Kerikeri 0230, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > North Island > Northland Region > Bay of Islands > Kerikeri
Amenities:
Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 28 B&Bs / Inns in Kerikeri
Price Range: $87 - $274 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Landing Cottage 4.5*
Number of rooms: 2
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Landing Cottage is situated in an acre of beautiful gardens. Guests have their own lounge, patio and separate entrance. Perfectly situated for exploring the beautiful Bay of Islands, including the world-renowned Kauri Cliffs golf course. We have 3 spacious bedrooms and can take up to 6 people, linen and furnishings are of the highest standard. Perfectly suited for couples, groups or families, we are committed to making your stay at Landing Cottage a highlight of your holiday. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA so you can book your Landing Cottage reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing