We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Quiet accommodation at a good price”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Wharepuke Subtropical Accommodation
Reviewed February 27, 2009

Located on Kerikeri Road, a few minutes from the Stone House and the centre of town, the Wharepuke cottages are an excellent place to stay, if you like peace and quiet. We paid $150 a night for the cottage, which included a king sized bed in the bedroom and a pull-out sofa in the lounge. We additionally had a fold-out bed provided, which the owner brought down for us.

The walk down to the cottage through the beautiful gardens was very enjoyable, even at night, where the torch on the keyring definitely came in useful!

The room included a toaster, kettle, microwave, fridge and hob, so self-catering is a breeze. That said, we ate at their new restaurant "Food" and had a great Thai meal for a very good price.

Entertainment-wise, the room included a flat screen television and a Freeview box, so there was TV to watch if you like to relax at the end of the day!

The room was spacious, comfortable and overall very quiet. I recommend sitting on the veranda of a warm summer's evening with a bottle of wine and taking in the view over the garden, which provides much of the produce cooked in the restaurant.

There is also full speed wired internet access in each cottage, as well as a wifi connection, which is a bit slower and the signal is not very good in the cottages further from the main building, but still useable.

Overall, highly recommended!

  • Stayed: February 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank cell-gfx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (62)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

59 - 62 of 62 reviews

Reviewed January 8, 2008

Located about 15min walk from Kerikeri, the cottages were well set out in beautiful gardens. The rooms were well appointed with comfortable beds, small kitchen (BBQ oven was outside on deck) and TV. The atmosphere was quiet and relaxed.

  • Stayed: January 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank plod
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 17, 2007

5 Superb newly built lodges reached by winding paths through beautiful subtropical gardens. The accommodation was top class, with excellent king size beds, modern furnishings, spacious lounge, wet room, well fitted kitchen and beautifully decorated. Felt very close to nature sharing the terrace with Monarch butterflies, fantails and other birds. Overall, excellent value for money.
Tania manages the properties and was always very friendly and responsive in meeting all our needs and in regularly servicing the lodges. Mark, her partner is an artist whose paintings and prints hang on the lodge walls and in the reception area.
We stayed in the third property from the road, which is probably the quietest, although when it is completed the sixth lodge will be the one to go for if you have a choice as it is set on a hill on its own at the top of the gardens.
We walked to the Landing Restaurant, where the food was excellent and the views from the terrace were superb. We also liked the Japanese restaurant.

  • Stayed: February 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank John P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 4, 2011
Google Translation

  • Stayed: March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank oOlAlexlOo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Kerikeri hotels
0.4 mi away
Stay Kerikeri Boutique Apartments and Studios
1.3 mi away
Avalon Resort
Avalon Resort
#4 of 28 in Kerikeri
203 reviews
0.5 mi away
Woodlands Motel & Conference Venue
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Stone Store Lodge Accommodation
0.8 mi away
Kerikeri Homestead Motel & Apartments
2.4 mi away
Relax a Lodge
Relax a Lodge
#11 of 28 in Kerikeri
71 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Wharepuke Subtropical Accommodation? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Wharepuke Subtropical Accommodation

Address: 190 Kerikeri Road, Kerikeri 0230, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > North Island > Northland Region > Bay of Islands > Kerikeri
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 28 Specialty Lodging in Kerikeri
Price Range: $98 - $123 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Wharepuke Subtropical Accommodation 4*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Bay of Islands Accommodation Kerikeri Accommodation. 5 stylish cottages nestled amongst 5 acres of award winning "Garden of Significance"(NZGT). A restaurant/cafe awarded "Northland Cafe of the Year" and an Art Gallery of International Artworks are onsite. A new Sculpture trail of 40+ NZ and international artists work runs through the gardens (free for guests staying). Non-toxic printmaking courses and garden tours are run by our professionals. Located 1km from the boutique town of Kerikeri or walking distance to the historic Stone Store Reserve. 20 Min. Drive to dolphin watching, fishing, horse riding, wineries, and 6 golf courses within 30 min. Drive. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotwire and Orbitz so you can book your Wharepuke Subtropical Accommodation reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing