We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Absolutely lovely”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Wharepuke Subtropical Accommodation
Reviewed February 11, 2012

This is an absolutely lovely accommodation to spend a relaxing holiday. The cottage was nice, clean, comfortable and very private. The garden lush, green and tranquil. The hosts most welcoming and helpful. Thank you so much Tania and Mark! I would love to come back someday. Also, if you are looking for a non-toxic printing workshop, this is the place to go.

  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AtelierMarijke
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (61)
There are newer reviews for Wharepuke Subtropical Accommodation
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

40 - 46 of 61 reviews

Reviewed January 6, 2012

We are staying in self contained Cottage now and it's very beautiful and peaceful.
I couldn't imagine such large garden hidden inside. Organic restaurant here very famous even for local people and their small organic vege garden we can also look around. warm and well designed. Bathroom, Bedroom and lounge area has great size and big private deck.(A chicken visiting us time to time)well setting for travelers. We decided to stay more and visit their gallery today!

Room Tip: Check clean bedding,Free internet excess,distant the room and facilities.
  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jooberry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 8, 2011

This is a very special place run by special people. From the moment we arrived, to the time we finnaly had to drag ourselves away this was a wonderful experience, with friendly and welcoming staff...Thankyou Tania.

My husband and I thoroughly enjoyed the opportunity to relax at Wharepuke. The accomodation was light, airy and very well equiped. We especially enjoyed being able to relax on the deck and look out into the beutiful garden with spectacular and unusual trees. The bird song was beutiful and it was very quiet and yet so near to town and all that Keri Keri has to offer.

Although the restaurant is seperate, it does make the stay even more relaxing to have such an excellent place to eat on site.However, we were there on one day when it was closed and enjoyed sampling the wide variety of eateries nearby.

We will definitely be visiting again.

Susie and Drew

Room Tip: I had my leg in plaster when we stayed and there is an excellent disabled unit near to the entrance...
  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank kaurivillas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 5, 2011

After a strenuous few weeks touring and tramping, Wharepuke proved to be the perfect place to recover. Our cabin nestled in the beautiful garden, and nature came to us - birds, butterflies, even a single chicken came to chat and share our breakfast! My camera is full of close-ups of the vegetation around us. The whole place is run on ecological lines and very much in tune with the environment. Numerous walks from the front door took us to waterfalls, historic sites, large stone sculptures and Keri keri itself. And with the Bay of Islands and Waitangi so close you would need to stay longer than the week we had to appreciate everything it has to offer. We'll be back when we next need to recharge our batteries.

Room Tip: They are all equally scenic; one is geared up for disabled access.
  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Amanda J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 29, 2011

We recently stayed overnight in Kerikeri at Wharepuke Subtropical Accommodation. The units are self-contained and separate - each has its own private verandah, and because they are set in a large tropical garden the sense of privacy is well maintained. We enjoyed wandering around the grounds and felt very relaxed. There was free wifi and a large king-sized bed. The motel is sited between the historic area (stone store, Kemp's house, church and pa site) and the supermarket and other town amenitites so is ideally located.

  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jeanette K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 3, 2011

We could not believe how fantastic this place was. The cottage we stayed in was nestled in a stunning tropical paradise. The birds flying around made for a very relaxing magical stay.

This place has been created with care, passion and love and it shows.

We certainly will be going back... it was simply stunning.

  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rosesandmore
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 19, 2011

As a mature couple we like a peaceful environment, comfort, and freedom to do what we want when we want to. Wharepuke provided all these and more.
We stayed 6 nights and used Kerikeri as our base to explore the region. It was a great chance to see areas of great variety and of significant history. At the end of each day we came "home" to our lovely cottage in secluded surroundings. We could eat out or self-cater depending on our mood.
The hosts were helpful and friendly but not intrusive. They have a commitment to caring for and improving this delightful spot.
It was a graet holiday.

Stayed: August 2011, traveled as a couple
Thank Anne H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kerikeri
0.4 mi away
Stay Kerikeri Boutique Apartments and Studios
0.1 mi away
Colonial House Motel
Colonial House Motel
#6 of 16 in Kerikeri
135 reviews
1.2 mi away
Motel Kerigold Secluded Chalets
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.9 mi away
Copthorne Hotel & Resort Bay of Islands
0.2 mi away
Stone Store Lodge Accommodation
2.3 mi away
Kauri Park Motel
Kauri Park Motel
#1 of 16 in Kerikeri
467 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Wharepuke Subtropical Accommodation? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Wharepuke Subtropical Accommodation

Address: 190 Kerikeri Road, Kerikeri 0230, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > North Island > Northland Region > Bay of Islands > Kerikeri
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 28 Specialty Lodging in Kerikeri
Price Range: $90 - $130 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Wharepuke Subtropical Accommodation 4*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Bay of Islands Accommodation Kerikeri Accommodation. 5 stylish cottages nestled amongst 5 acres of award winning "Garden of Significance"(NZGT). A restaurant/cafe awarded "Northland Cafe of the Year" and an Art Gallery of International Artworks are onsite. A new Sculpture trail of 40+ NZ and international artists work runs through the gardens (free for guests staying). Non-toxic printmaking courses and garden tours are run by our professionals. Located 1km from the boutique town of Kerikeri or walking distance to the historic Stone Store Reserve. 20 Min. Drive to dolphin watching, fishing, horse riding, wineries, and 6 golf courses within 30 min. Drive. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline and Hotwire so you can book your Wharepuke Subtropical Accommodation reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing