We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Paradise!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Wharepuke Subtropical Accommodation
Reviewed December 5, 2011

After a strenuous few weeks touring and tramping, Wharepuke proved to be the perfect place to recover. Our cabin nestled in the beautiful garden, and nature came to us - birds, butterflies, even a single chicken came to chat and share our breakfast! My camera is full of close-ups of the vegetation around us. The whole place is run on ecological lines and very much in tune with the environment. Numerous walks from the front door took us to waterfalls, historic sites, large stone sculptures and Keri keri itself. And with the Bay of Islands and Waitangi so close you would need to stay longer than the week we had to appreciate everything it has to offer. We'll be back when we next need to recharge our batteries.

Room Tip: They are all equally scenic; one is geared up for disabled access.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Amanda J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (62)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

44 - 50 of 62 reviews

Reviewed November 29, 2011

We recently stayed overnight in Kerikeri at Wharepuke Subtropical Accommodation. The units are self-contained and separate - each has its own private verandah, and because they are set in a large tropical garden the sense of privacy is well maintained. We enjoyed wandering around the grounds and felt very relaxed. There was free wifi and a large king-sized bed. The motel is sited between the historic area (stone store, Kemp's house, church and pa site) and the supermarket and other town amenitites so is ideally located.

  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jeanette K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 3, 2011

We could not believe how fantastic this place was. The cottage we stayed in was nestled in a stunning tropical paradise. The birds flying around made for a very relaxing magical stay.

This place has been created with care, passion and love and it shows.

We certainly will be going back... it was simply stunning.

  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rosesandmore
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 19, 2011

As a mature couple we like a peaceful environment, comfort, and freedom to do what we want when we want to. Wharepuke provided all these and more.
We stayed 6 nights and used Kerikeri as our base to explore the region. It was a great chance to see areas of great variety and of significant history. At the end of each day we came "home" to our lovely cottage in secluded surroundings. We could eat out or self-cater depending on our mood.
The hosts were helpful and friendly but not intrusive. They have a commitment to caring for and improving this delightful spot.
It was a graet holiday.

Stayed: August 2011, traveled as a couple
Thank Anne H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 17, 2011

Several cottages would suit extended family as each as own space. Gather together at excellent restaurant on site and walk around extended grounds. Leave car behind and take many splendid bush walks.

  • Stayed: May 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank HelStef
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 13, 2011

This was definitely one of the best places we have stayed in. Amazing surroundings in a subtropical garden, excellent accommodation, extremely friendly and helpful manager and affordable prices. The restaurant next door is pretty good too.
I could not ask for anything better than this.
Definitely we will stay at the same hotel in our next holiday in Kerikeri.

  • Stayed: April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Marcelo_Toniolo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 11, 2011

We travel quite a fair bit each year. When we travel to places like Australia, New Zealand, Canada and the UK (and any other place where English is widely spoken) we like to stay in self contained clean accommodation, in quiet tranquil surroundings, and sleep in comfy beds. Wharepuke Subtropical Accommodation met all these requirements.

We stayed for two nights in Cottage 5 (a one-bedroom eco cottage) at the Wharepuke Subtropical Accommodation (NZD150 per night). Tania, the manager, is a lovely, friendly, helpful person who made us feel welcome very quickly. The cottage was situated within a lovely garden and had a spacious living area and a bedroom with a large bed. The washroom was spacious, with a good sized shower area. The only thing I did not like was the relatively small washbasin. The private patio was a wonderful place to sit at dusk and watch the sky darken. Better yet, to have the BBQ set up and dine right on the patio! Mussels were in season and cheap and we never got a chance to try the award winning restaurant on the premises because we spent two nights having fun barbequeing mussels and lamb chops and having them with white, and then red (New Zealand) wine!!

Right across the entrance to the car park is a path that leads to the Stone Store (15-20 mins walk), and then from there we went on the trail to Rainbow Falls. If one took the road, it would only take about 7 minutes to reach the Stone Store from the accommodation.

A short drive took us into Kerikeri town centre, where we bought our provisions - and mussels - from the New World Supermarket.

To sum up: this was a delightful, comfortable stay and we would have no hesitation in recommending it to fellow travellers.

  • Stayed: March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BooFit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Kerikeri hotels
0.4 mi away
Stay Kerikeri Boutique Apartments and Studios
1.3 mi away
Avalon Resort
Avalon Resort
#4 of 28 in Kerikeri
206 reviews
0.5 mi away
Woodlands Motel & Conference Venue
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.4 mi away
Relax a Lodge
Relax a Lodge
#11 of 28 in Kerikeri
73 reviews
2.3 mi away
Kauri Park Motel
Kauri Park Motel
#1 of 16 in Kerikeri
496 reviews
0.8 mi away
Kerikeri Homestead Motel & Apartments
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Wharepuke Subtropical Accommodation? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Wharepuke Subtropical Accommodation

Address: 190 Kerikeri Road, Kerikeri 0230, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > North Island > Northland Region > Bay of Islands > Kerikeri
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 28 Specialty Lodging in Kerikeri
Price Range: $98 - $124 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Wharepuke Subtropical Accommodation 4*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Bay of Islands Accommodation Kerikeri Accommodation. 5 stylish cottages nestled amongst 5 acres of award winning "Garden of Significance"(NZGT). A restaurant/cafe awarded "Northland Cafe of the Year" and an Art Gallery of International Artworks are onsite. A new Sculpture trail of 40+ NZ and international artists work runs through the gardens (free for guests staying). Non-toxic printmaking courses and garden tours are run by our professionals. Located 1km from the boutique town of Kerikeri or walking distance to the historic Stone Store Reserve. 20 Min. Drive to dolphin watching, fishing, horse riding, wineries, and 6 golf courses within 30 min. Drive. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Orbitz and Hotwire so you can book your Wharepuke Subtropical Accommodation reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing