We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Cut Above”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
88 Lodge Luxury Bed and Breakfast
Ranked #3 of 28 Kerikeri B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed March 4, 2014

Our first experience of B&B in New Zealand, and if they are all like this then visitors from overseas are in for a real treat. Geoff and Chris are the most attentive of hosts. Our welcome was warm, friendly and refreshing after a long journey north from Auckland. The room was comfortably furnished, both it and linen spotlessly clean. It was equipped to a good hotel standard. Breakfast proved to be a delicious feast of whatever you wanted - we enjoyed fresh fruit, home-cooked croissants and coffee - there was plenty more to choose from. The location was a delight - a beautiful garden and a handy pool to cool-off. Keri Keri and tourist spots all in relatively easy reach of 88 Lodge with Geoff able to give good advice on how to get where you want to go. It is pricey, but worth every penny.

Mike and Shirley W

Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
1  Thank Mike W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Geoff8288, Owner at 88 Lodge Luxury Bed and Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded March 5, 2014

Thank YOU so much for your review. 88 Lodge is uniquely located:- out of town but so easily reached. Also access N.S.E & W is so convenient. Getting you to all the wonderful attractions and places in The Bay of Islands and Northland with ease. We are not the cheapest accommodation in Kerikeri but do offer facilities, location, and services not available elsewhere.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (203)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

82 - 88 of 203 reviews

Reviewed March 3, 2014

This B&B is a delightful escape from the city, nestled in the outskirts of Kerikeri. The room was very comfortable and the hosts Geoff and Chris were very friendly. Our breakfasts were absolutely delicious and we were given very good recommendations for dinner. The room rates are on the high side (we were also there during peak season) but Geoff and Chris endeavour to make your experience as pleasant as possible.

Room Tip: Some of the rooms (not ours) had an outdoor spa - it looked lovely!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 500Kitty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Geoff8288, Owner at 88 Lodge Luxury Bed and Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded March 5, 2014

Thank you so much for your kind review. Our breakfasts are often remarked upon and we are delighted you found them absolutely delicious. Our room rates are mid-range when compared to other similar accommodations locally however with regard to the rate you paid this would have been lower if you had not used a booking agent and stayed for more than 1 night which does attract a loading. Very few of our guests stay for only 1 night. Travel to and from Northland normally encourages the need for a minimum of 2 nights with most tourist travelers opting for the 3 or 4 nights to really get to enjoy all of the wonderful things on offer in our surroundings.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 1, 2014

Beautiful gargen and well appointed rooms. We travelled extensively over NZ staying at B&B's and this was equal or better than most but it was also by far the most expensive. Breakfast was good but not as relaxed as it could have been. Geoff very helpful with good advice. Would rate it higher but £30 more per night than other equally good B&B's in other parts of NZ.

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Andy C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Geoff8288, Owner at 88 Lodge Luxury Bed and Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded March 2, 2014

We constantly check our rates to ensure they are competitive with other local B&B’s of similar standard. These guests booked via a Booking agent thus attracting their commission and booking fees. If they had booked direct with us the rate would have been far more reflective of the price level they expected. At 88 Lodge we tailor our breakfasts to individual tastes and requirements. This proves to be extremely popular with our guests for they get exactly what they want, when they want it. The ambiance of the dining room with views over the gardens is welcomed and we are therefore somewhat unsure what the reference to ‘relaxed’ relates.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 28, 2014

We have just spent 4 nights at 88 the lodge. What a full-on 5 star experience! Geoff and Chris are the most amazing hosts with the finest attention to detail. In particular, the wonderful room, gardens, AMAZING home grown and made breakfasts and detailed advise on trips to do in this wonderful area. If you are planning a stay in the bay of islands, this is THE place to stay.

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 54RichardW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Geoff8288, Owner at 88 Lodge Luxury Bed and Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded March 1, 2014

Wow, what a wonderful review. We are honoured and humbled by it. Thank you so much.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 27, 2014

If your looking for a B & B with great breakfast's (Chris will make whatever you want for breakfast), comfortable beds and linens surrounded by lush gardens, then don't miss the opportunity to stay here. The owners, Geoff & Chris are very knowledgeable of the area and can give you itineraries for everyday of your stay. The Majestic Suite was where we stayed which had it's own private patio and private entrance. It has wireless internet, cable TV (however, not many channels on our visit, they said there was an issue), DVD & CD player (however they were very difficult to use due to the set-up, you'll have to have Chris show you). The room and bath area were spacious along with a sitting area and desk.

The location was secluded from any pedestrian or vehicle traffic and no more than a 10 minute drive into KeriKeri. Tip of the day: they charge $10 to wash and $10 to dry, a small load of clothing. Do your washing before you arrive. Enjoy

Room Tip: Majestic Suite is the best. I can't recommend the other's since we did not see them.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Tman312
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Geoff8288, Owner at 88 Lodge Luxury Bed and Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded March 1, 2014

Thank you for your review, it is always pleasing that people take the time to place a review. We have noted your comment about the cost of use of the laundry. We will review this. At this time we believe this is in-line with local laundry costs. The entertainment equipment is not straight forward due to the complexity of the number of facilities we provide in The Majestic Suite (Tape, CD, DVD, hard drive, film library, TV, freeview, indoor and outdoor speakers, ethernet, USB connections and access for a wide range of devices often used by guests). We have plans to streamline these facilities with a view to making them more user friendly. The Freeview problem we were having at the time of your visit has been rectified and 18 channels are now available. We have recently installed HD Wifi throughout the Lodge at considerable cost which we know gives us a service that is not available in other similar accommodations and unlike hotels we provide this FREE.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 6, 2014

Geoff and Chris are wonderful hosts and are very knowledgable about the area. They have great recommendations and will book restaurants and sightseeing tours for you if you require. The location while a hidden secret, is within easy reach of all the local attractions. Surrounded by beautifully kept gardens, the rooms at 88 are very well set up with large confortable beds and good bathrooms. Breakfast is a highlight and includes flakey home-made croissants and fruit grown on the property. I would recommend 88 as very good value. Robyn and Tim

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AbbyandFrankie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Geoff8288, Owner at 88 Lodge Luxury Bed and Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded February 9, 2014

Thank you for being so very complimentary about our accommodation. You enjoyed our King Palm Room and we know you would have really enjoyed our Majestic Suite, which would surely have generated a 5 rating for ‘rooms’ from you. The Majestic Suite is huge and enjoys a super king sized bed, settee and armchairs, desk, private terrace with hammock plus table and chairs and an en-suite with both a bath and separate shower cubicle. A little bit more yes, but well worth the difference we believe and still very good value.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 6, 2014

Very clean. Delicious food. Expert local advice. When we return we will stay here. The atmosphere is peaceful. A beautiful garden setting. Jeff and Chris most helpful with not only local advice but also offering to do extra to get a flat tire repaired on a local holiday with no place open. Convenient to all Bay of Islands locations.

Stayed: February 2014, traveled with family
Thank jonduras
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Geoff8288, Owner at 88 Lodge Luxury Bed and Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded February 9, 2014

It is not often we get faced by a flat tire on a guests hire car, and absolutely typical that such an event should happen on a public holiday, but happy to have helped out as much as we could. Do trust there where no further recurrences during the rest of your vacation. It would be a delight to have you back at 88 Lodge when ever you are next in the area.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kerikeri
3.1 mi away
Stay Kerikeri Boutique Apartments and Studios
2.9 mi away
Treghan Luxury Lodge
Treghan Luxury Lodge
#1 of 28 in Kerikeri
312 reviews
4.9 mi away
Lodore Lodge
Lodore Lodge
#5 of 28 in Kerikeri
10 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.9 mi away
Avalon Resort
Avalon Resort
#4 of 28 in Kerikeri
206 reviews
3 mi away
Kerikeri Homestead Motel & Apartments
15.1 mi away
Tiki Tiki Ora
Tiki Tiki Ora
#3 of 19 in Russell
253 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to 88 Lodge Luxury Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about 88 Lodge Luxury Bed and Breakfast

Address: 88 Koropewa Road, Kerikeri 0295, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > North Island > Northland Region > Bay of Islands > Kerikeri
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 28 B&Bs / Inns in Kerikeri
Price Range: $130 - $185 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — 88 Lodge Luxury Bed and Breakfast 4*
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Just minutes from bustling Kerikeri 88 Lodge & its swimming pool are secluded within park-like subtropical gardens. With just 3 rooms (all en-suite), the lodge is warm, intimate and homely. Your room has a King sized bed and is fully equipped with everything you will need to make your stay pleasant and comfortable. Breakfasts are a specialty of the house and made to your order from the freshest & most local produce. Free High Speed Internet & National telephone calls make keeping in touch so easy. 88 Lodge is perfectly located for the best of The Bay of Islands and all Northland. Geoff & Chris your hosts, pride themselves on ensuring you have the most memorable time in this wonderful part of New Zealand. Their hospitality is only matched by their local knowledge and free tour planning to ensure you make the very most of your time in this piece of paradise. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Agoda, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Hotwire, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and TripOnline SA so you can book your 88 Lodge Luxury Bed and Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing