We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A home away from home... if my home was amazing”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
88 Lodge Luxury Bed and Breakfast
Ranked #3 of 28 Kerikeri B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed January 27, 2013

Finally getting around to adding my reviews to trip adviser - a year later but still valid I'm sure! We had a wonderful time staying with Chris and Geoff last year depsite the unending rain clouds in what should have been summer, the guys steered us in the direction of lots of things to keep us busy and were wonderfully entertaining over a bottle or two of red and lots of cheese in the evening. We hope to make it back to visit sometime soon and will try and bring the sun this time.

  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Emma M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Geoff8288, Owner at 88 Lodge Luxury Bed and Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded January 29, 2013

A review, even a delayed one, is always welcome and thank you for remembering us. The summer this year is so different from last year. Wall to wall sunshine for months. You will just have to come back to see Northland at it’s glorious best. No need to being the sun with you we always have more than Auckland. The wine & cheese is always ready for long evenings chatting under the pergola. See you soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (204)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

114 - 120 of 204 reviews

Reviewed January 26, 2013

We spent 8 fantastic nights with Chris and Geoff at 88 lodge. We had a wonderful time and loved the pool, the spa, the gardens and the breakfasts!! Yum! Chris and Geoff went out of their way to make sure we had a wonderful stay and let us know all the spots to visit and eat at. Thanks so much for everything Chris and Geoff!

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sarah L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Geoff8288, Owner at 88 Lodge Luxury Bed and Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded January 28, 2013

We were so honored you chose us for your Honeymoon. You coupled your time with us together with our Awesome Bay Experience package which includes a night aboard the mini cruise ship Ipipiri out amongst the islands of the Bay. We know you enjoyed every minute of your Northland experience and we were pleased to have been part of that. Our very best wishes for your future life together.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 24, 2013

We have traveled the world and Chris and Geoff’s B & B was by far the best we have stayed in. From service, room presentation to food (even the hot chocolates are amazing) this place should be a must on anyone’s travel plans. Their knowledge of the area and a recommendation to visit Russell made our holiday a very memorable one. We cant wait to return to NZ and come back to visit Geoff and Chris. Thank you once again.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Victoria7982
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Geoff8288, Owner at 88 Lodge Luxury Bed and Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded January 25, 2013

Your review is indeed special for us as was your visit. It's always nice to know that the suggestions and plans we make to ensure our guests get the very best from their time in The bay of Islands work out and are appreciated. Your return to 88 Lodge will be very much looked forward to.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 15, 2013

.. whilst visiting the Bay of Islands, New Zealand. Chris and Geoff were perfect hosts, always there if you needed them but perfect for privacy and peace at the same time. They made us feel so comfortable and welcome in their beautiful home and the gardens are kept just so lovely -their passion shines through in all the surroundings and things they do. Hot tub on our decked area which we thoroughly enjoyed each night after a long day out and about. Breakfasts are cooked to order and presented very well. Large bathrooms and very well presented. We would definitely recommend this homestay to all our friends and family. Thank you both for welcoming us into your home and the next time we are in 'the area', we will most certainly stay at your house again. Laura and Graham x

Room Tip: We had the room with the hot tub on our deck outside our patio doors.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank gjrlcr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Geoff8288, Owner at 88 Lodge Luxury Bed and Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded January 17, 2013

Hello Laura & Graham, Thank you so much for reviewing 88 Lodge on Trip Advisor. We trust you and Jim (Joe 90) are all well and you all got home in 'one piece'!! Our Queen Palm Suite with it's private hot tub is always popular and enjoyed by those who choose this suite.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 10, 2013

We had the pleasure to spend a few days in this lovely B&B. The hosts Chris and Geoff went to great lengths to make our stay comfortable. Thank you Chris for the excellent, a-la-carte breakfasts and for the beautiful garden you maintain. Thank you Geoff for guiding us around the region with you little custom drawn maps.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ChristianPiquet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Geoff8288, Owner at 88 Lodge Luxury Bed and Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded January 11, 2013

Your review is much appreciated, thank you. It was winderful having you stay with us and we were particularly pleased to be able to accommodate you for the 2 extra nights. We always thought our polished Rimu wooden floors were beautiful not realising how good they were for people with allergies.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 10, 2013

We had a wonderful time at this B&B. From the moment we arrived, the warmth of the welcome, the comfort of the bedroom, the fantastic breakfasts all freshly made and of an extremely high quality was what made our stay extra special. Information regarding what to see and do in our short break was excellent and when one of us was not feeling well an appointment was quickly made at their own GP. Could not recommend this Lodge highly enough and if we ever return to the Bay of Islands we will definitely make a point of booking a room with them.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Joan S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Geoff8288, Owner at 88 Lodge Luxury Bed and Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded January 11, 2013

It was wonderful having you stay with us and from the looks of your comments it may well be we shall have the pleasure again. We do trust there has been no recurrance of the medical problem since you left, it was good we were able to help at the time. Thank you so much for doing this review.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 9, 2013

This is a fantastic place to stay! The rooms are really stunning- the pictures don't even do them justice! Chris and Geoff are the perfect hosts; helpful and knowledgable and so accommodating. Breakfast was lovely- they took orders the night before and all was presented beautifully in the morning. We were there early spring so couldn't make the most of the grounds but they looked gorgeous and so did the po! We were in the Queen suite with the spa and I would say.... Choose this room!! Spa and technicolor lights and outdoor speakers- heaven!!

  • Stayed: October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RebeccaSwanson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Geoff8288, Owner at 88 Lodge Luxury Bed and Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded January 11, 2013

Thank you so much for your kind and generous comments. We thought of professional photography to portray the rooms and Lodge but felt it best to under promise and over deliver. Your comment about the rooms seems we have achieved this. We do hope the rest of your trip to NZ went to plan and the wedding blessing was particularly beautiful.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Kerikeri hotels
3.1 mi away
Stay Kerikeri Boutique Apartments and Studios
4.9 mi away
Lodore Lodge
Lodore Lodge
#5 of 28 in Kerikeri
12 reviews
2.8 mi away
Avalon Resort
Avalon Resort
#4 of 28 in Kerikeri
210 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.9 mi away
Treghan Luxury Lodge
Treghan Luxury Lodge
#1 of 28 in Kerikeri
313 reviews
3 mi away
Kerikeri Homestead Motel & Apartments
3.1 mi away
Woodlands Motel & Conference Venue
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to 88 Lodge Luxury Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about 88 Lodge Luxury Bed and Breakfast

Address: 88 Koropewa Road, Kerikeri 0295, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > North Island > Northland Region > Bay of Islands > Kerikeri
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 28 B&Bs / Inns in Kerikeri
Price Range: $128 - $190 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — 88 Lodge Luxury Bed and Breakfast 4*
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Just minutes from bustling Kerikeri 88 Lodge & its swimming pool are secluded within park-like subtropical gardens. With just 3 rooms (all en-suite), the lodge is warm, intimate and homely. Your room has a King sized bed and is fully equipped with everything you will need to make your stay pleasant and comfortable. Breakfasts are a specialty of the house and made to your order from the freshest & most local produce. Free High Speed Internet & National telephone calls make keeping in touch so easy. 88 Lodge is perfectly located for the best of The Bay of Islands and all Northland. Geoff & Chris your hosts, pride themselves on ensuring you have the most memorable time in this wonderful part of New Zealand. Their hospitality is only matched by their local knowledge and free tour planning to ensure you make the very most of your time in this piece of paradise. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Orbitz, Agoda, Hotwire, Priceline, HotelQuickly and TripOnline SA so you can book your 88 Lodge Luxury Bed and Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing